Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Around the Worlds in 80 seconds.

by Vinyl Pixels - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Tap to advance! Use Left / Right Arrows, Shifts or Alts.

Collect coins, jump to parallel universes. You have 80 seconds to beat the highscore! Collecting a clock gives you additional 2 seconds.

There are two combo systems:
-for the length of the unbroken chain of coins collected
-the number of taps in the last second. Be fast, be precise, don't die.

All worlds have the same layout of coins, differing in obstacles and portals. Level is the same every time you run the game, so you can memorize your paths.

Pressing 1,2,3,4 instead of Enter, gives you a secret "No Portals Mode" in the first four worlds. Press "Escape" to force a Game Over.

Worlds description:

Lava:
Coins worth more points, one mistake and you're dead.

Radioactive:
You can only spend 11 seconds there during the entire game! Coins worth a lot more points.

Moon:
No Oxygen! You can only be there 8 seconds at a time. Coins worth a lot more points. Slightly more obstacles.

Heaven.
Hey! No obstacles! Coins worth very little. A lot more Portals to other worlds.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#96Fun3.73
#204Overall3.58
#236Innovation3.58
#257Humor2.86
#355Theme3.52
#594Audio2.65
#607Graphics3.03
#630Mood2.89
#1659Coolness36%

Comments

gandalf1209 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:25am

Neat idea

Craftsdwarf says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:58pm

Now this one was fun! The gameplay was fluid and tight, and required both planning and adaption, fitting the theme quite well (in particular, going with so many worlds and having them all look good was quite nice). The artwork did its job: with the descriptions I could tell which world was what pretty easily, though not having the player start out standing in an empty blue void was a bit off putting compared to the rest. The choice to not have it procedurally generated (while the game could have been) not only likely saved on time, but creates interesting possibilities with the score system, since everyone deals with the same map, so to speak, so different tricks and strategies for various high score may unfold. I did have a couple issues: in particular I think it would have been nice to have visible timers on the Radioactive and Moon worlds to easier tell how long you have there. There was also the aforementioned empty blue void of a starting section. Can’t say regarding the end, since my view was a score screen and a frown inducing several second (but to be expected) wait when restarting. Do the eternal roads end? The world may never know.

I think the best part is how skill can come into play: there's something for both the casual player and the one looking to top those currently non-existent leaderboards.

Vinyl Pixels says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:48pm

@Craftsdwarf
Hmm, there is an audio countdown on the Radioactive and Moon levels. I went with audio, because I felt that when you are focused on gameplay, any visual timer would be a distraction.

And the level is actually random, with the same seed for everyone - so no work on design here :) But it generated a few nice spots ;) Fox example, at some point there are 3 clocks close to each other on the Lava world :) Technically the levels are 2048 cells in length (don't remembed the exact number)? But you have only 80 seconds with additional clocks being very scarce, so no one should be able to get to the end of the worlds ;)

Team Luminous says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:54am

clean and nice gameplay, nothing to learn, can just start playing - me approves

Demorro says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:07am

Pretty fun.

hb3p8 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:10pm

Simple and addictive)

pythong says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:39pm

hahaha the 'sound' effects ^^

rantt says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:30am

Fun game, nicely done.

DDFranky says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:42am

Very nice game!

Scott Baker says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:17pm

Very cool game, nicely executed. I at first thought this was way too hard, and I couldn't get a good rhythm. But then I hit the heaven world and found it to be awesomeness. A perfect balance. Nice job. I do wish there was a health or lives though, that allowed you to make at least one mistake.

seantheartist says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:10pm

Cool game, I really like the balance between trying to go for speed, but also trying to be careful!

Retl says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:59pm

I can't play it. I couldn't find a Linux build nor the source code to build it. I may have to return to this another day with my other computer.

Bernte says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:19pm

This game is awesome. Nice idea for the theme. Like the graphics as well, and your sounds ^^

Ogniok says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:27pm

There are two types of gamers. Those who will try to remember combination to get as far as possible and those who will smash buttons randomly :D

Mekuri says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 7:16am

Great idea! I found it a lot easier to "see ahead" when in the red world.
I managed to score 45588 with a distance of 338 and a chain of 331 - No idea if that is good, but I had fun doing it :-)
Nice work!

paps says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:42am

Really good game. Quite addictive, and nice use of the theme.
Well done

rogueNoodle says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:59pm

I can't believe how addictive this is. I would really love to see this polished up and on my phone!

Also, top marks for humour based on the teleporting sound along - laughed out loud the first time I heard it ;)

icedvariables says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:22am

Pretty cool, had fun playing

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 7:53pm

hahaha nice audio effects, neat graphics and great mechanics. It feels like a runner with no automatic run, which is odd, but then it is fun to play not having such stress (only the timer). I like your adaptation of the theme, how worlds are connected through portals. Would be great to play this on a mobile device. Great job!!

Snicklodocus says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 10:18pm

Great idea. Good use of the theme. The different worlds help to change up the gameplay. I liked the graphics too.

Sep 7, 2014 @ 11:03pm

Super addictive! I included it in part 21 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series, if you’d like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/5xO0Ucfr9co

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]