Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Conflicting Dimensions

by Balint197 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hello!

This is a (coop) puzzle game. I liked the theme this time, so I really enjoyed working on the game. I hope there will be more interesting themes in the future, like this one.

I used:
Game Maker: Studio
bfxr
http://www.fakemusicgenerator.com/


CONTROLS:
Everything is explained in-game, but if you can't get through a level, you can use the shift(previous) and control(next) buttons to get through them. "R" is restart.

IMPORTANT:
Even though you can play the game by yourself and it is still enjoyable, I think it is more fun to play with someone.


Thanks for playing my game, and have fun!
I would be happy if you would rate my game, and maybe you can also leave a comment saying what you liked or didn't like about the game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#124Fun3.65
#226Overall3.56
#321Innovation3.46
#436Audio2.88
#485Theme3.35
#657Mood2.87
#1002Graphics2.35

Comments

Aglavra says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:43pm

I really liked your game. It is a gppd puzzle, that has many levels and doesn't get boring, because something new is added from time to time. At start it reminded me on "Fire boy, water girl" series, but then I saw, that the gameplay brings new ideas to that concept.

jomomomo says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:54pm

Can't play windows games. :-(

Konrad Zegis says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:58pm

Woah. Nice idea, and good level design.

I managed to "freeze" game. At level (i believe) 6, with 2 floors, bottom is all green, and upper is all blue. When I place blue cube on green and simultaniosly jump they'll stick to blue ceiling, and stop responding to keys.

Nevertheless I like it and would like to try it with someone.

Balint197 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:03pm

Thanks for the feedback guys!

@jomomomo Sorry, I'll add other platforms next time, te only problem is, I cant test it on most of them :(
@Konrad Zegis I know, that level is a bit buggy, I shouldnt have made it so rough :D

Quetzakol says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:13pm

I really liked your game, even if there are some little bugs (the squares are sometimes blocked without reason), but the ideas and the level design are great !

Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:19pm

Cool game, I played it alone, but rated it a bit higher than I would have otherwise, because I think it's awesome that you made a co-op game. Too few people do that :)

Got stuck on the ceiling at one point ):

OinkIguana says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:20pm

Interesting puzzle, though a bit buggy with the collisions at times. Very challenging for one player, I gave up after a while. I might try again with another person later.
Graphics are pretty plain. Music and sound sound nice, though the song gives the game a darker feeling sort of?
I liked it overall - good work.

Razoric says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:02pm

Great puzzle / level design.

Balint197 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:03pm

Thanks guys! I should have axed that buggy map :P

Reyn says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:02pm

Hi. Nice. Was a bit confused at the start. I read the signs as left and right is A and D. If the sign's blue color was the same as the character then I would have caught it easier. Thanks

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:02pm

Good game, fun mechanical

borgi says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:06pm

Bit buggy, especially on those level when I have to make the blue one go on top of the green one. Nice idea anyways, can be a good puzzle game!

Lvyn says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:11pm

Nice puzzle game ! enjoyed it !

PurpleApes says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:42pm

Interesting Game!

OFF says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:12am

The graphics are not fun, but the main idea, and the game are really fun.

I would make two tweaks :
- multiplyer on separate computer that each player could only see those blocks
- add some physics with friction and weight to allow a player to carry the other and jump with the other on his head.
- make a simple communication system like Journey, to keep this bloc/geometry style ;)

+1 for the saloon style song!

Playable alone for at least the first levels.

Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:45am

I enjoyed this. Some neat puzzles in there.

jprogman says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 6:50pm

Lovely puzzler!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]