Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Woopsy Deadsy

by 4sap - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Simple platformer.

[CONTROLS]
a / d to move left / right

spacebar to jump

w to warp

esc to reset game
--------------------------------------------------------
Each room is two overlapping rooms. Only spooky skeletons
and badly programmed aliens can live in the dark world.

Press w to go all undead and such.

Leave the sunburnt guy alone.
i repeat LEAVE THE SUNBURNT GUY ALONE! let him walk out before leaving the room. Theres a pretty gamebreaking bug if you dont! If you encounter this press esc to restart

The only way to beat the alien is to make it fall.

Remember to watch out for random brightly colored bars.

Also the game doesnt actually indicate which direction you need to move in but hey, infinite continues.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#67Fun3.82
#80Overall3.82
#104Mood3.65
#109Theme3.87
#170Audio3.42
#247Humor2.90
#291Innovation3.51
#315Graphics3.49

Comments

Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:13pm

I would buy this. Love super meat boy, vvvvvvvv and this is a welcome addition to the pack. Tough as nails, original level design. Genuinely didn't expect it to be ths good. Only downside is the package format, needs Love2d to run.

4sap says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:09pm

Thanks! Just added windows download, hopefully will have a mac one up in an hour or so.

jpverkamp says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:59pm

I think that's the most fun I've had yet. The mechanics are simple, I like how you included a tutorial into the gameplay (although it took a moment to realize that's what you were doing), and the sound effects are a plus. Awesome.

marvalgames says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:04pm

His is very good. I keep playing it :)
Love the mechanic. a nice combo of jumping and THINKING
cool simple look and FEEL

ZwodahS says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:27pm

I expected a game like this to come out. Well executed =) I haven't beat it yet. Will try to soon :D

lkr says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:30pm

That was difficult, but fun :)
Had some trouble with a couple of areas, but it was rewarding to beat them after a bunch of failures.

modbox says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:02pm

Really innovative idea!

FGM says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:07pm

Pretty fun. You should make it more clear though where the exit is. Sometimes I'd go off the screen and it would reset.

Not sure what I was supposed to do at the boss.

kyru says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:10pm

Very fun game, simple concept but presents some good gameplay. Uses the theme well too.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:21pm

Nice puzzle-ish platform game :)

Cezel_ says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:24pm

One of the best entries I've played so far, Really liked it!

rantt says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:32pm

I really enjoyed this. The level design, game mechanics, music and sound fx and pixel art graphics all awesome. I'd buy this...lol :)

Donutttt says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:33pm

Awesome, best game I've played so far. Really creative and fun, great art, interesting gameplay... just awesome.

4sap says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:53pm

Thanks for all the positive comments!
FGM: yeah i know i realized by the end that there was no way for anyone to know which way to go but i ran out of time. The aliens need to fall through the floor to be defeated. The ship boss is a waiting game

billknye says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:54pm

Definitely fun and addictive. The core gameplay feels well polished. It has a good difficulty, the alien and a few of the jump sequences will certainly kill a few monkeys. It took me a few minutes to break my brain of W being jump and messing up the two. Nice job.

ratking says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:44pm

Nice, but I ragequitted at that red enemy ... At death it sent me back one level! :-(
Also, please put jump on W, the controls confused me a lot!

jurnacsr says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:48pm

I really liked this - especially the audio. The whole game was great, but the audio was a very nice touch. I think you could improve the controls - having everything done on one hand is a little awkward. Even with that considered, good game!

SenorDiablo says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:51pm

Funny and cute, some clever levels and a nice feeling of place and such, although the game did bug out near the end and my character disappeared and wouldnt respawn. was still awesome though

John Drury says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:51pm

Really good, enjoyed the world switch feature, went really good with the platforming. Beat that first guy and got to the second guy. Fell in this whole and it bugged out. Stopped player after that

Jod says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:58pm

That's really good! It made me curse at the screen and that's high praise!

Love the sound, the simple mechanics in complex situations and the amount of content! You put mid-bosses in there, I'm impressed!

arhpositive says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:09pm

I've made it up until the 3rd red boss before the rage-quit, I guess. I didn't count how many times I died, but in the end this game is a polished example of good level design. Solid entry. :)

jonask says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:17pm

This is great even though I gave up at the saucer :)

Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:19pm

This is fantastic. I love the level design and the way the different types of puzzle are introduced and then intensified. Lovely music and feel to it and the skeleton guy is cool too.

tbamberg says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:59pm

Solid level design, tight controls, well done :)

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:03pm

AWESOME HARDCORE GAMING! THANKING YOU FOR POSTING THIS!

gnx says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:18am

By now I've played quite a few of these games where 1 level is really 2 levels. This one however is presented in a very solid manner. I like the character design and the general feel of the environments. Music and sound effects work very well too.

However I do have a big gripe with the controls. Having the switch key be "up" is making this game harder than it needs to be I think :)

goerp says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 3:49pm

I love the retro feel of this game. The music fits perfectly. Charming title too.
The tutorial was nicely put into the game.
I had some trouble with the controls because overriding mt 'up is also jump'instinct was hard :)

Some parts of the game could be a bit more obvious perhaps: not everything was visible. You could stand on a part that was suitable for both characters, but the only way to find out was by switching.
Also sometimes going down a hole was good, sometimes deadly. If you could make that a bit more obvious you would have a good puzzle platformer.

5T4MP5 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 3:53pm

Overall I really liked it, but the controls are an issue. Mapping W to the world switch is really confusing, being that it's the up key and you are using A and D for lateral movement. Jumping with D + Space is fine, but I kept expecting to be able to use W as well. Perhaps that should have been on the right hand somewhere. Otherwise, good art, really good sound, and the gameplay feels really good for the most part. Just the control mapping makes it feel more frustrating than it should. Enjoyed it a lot on the whole. Well done.

Aug 31, 2014 @ 5:32pm

Wow, tough tough. This mechanic was used to very good effect in the last Giana Sisters game, and nice to see a whole game built around it. :)

Sep 13, 2014 @ 4:28pm

Very fun and difficult game. I wish you had placed a checkpoint in front of the boss :D do you plan to release a post-compo version or continue to work on it?

jprogman says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 7:08pm

I find the gravity moving too fast for me to react. There's one room where I needed to switch dimension constantly to pass spikes as I fall. There are also parts in some rooms that are harder than others in those same rooms. I'm not fond with rooms with a hard part at the start and a difficult part at the exit; I find that annoying.

Going back a room when I lost in the boss room is rather mean, especially when the previous room was difficult to pass. :(

I still like this game, but there are some unforgiving moments.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]