Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Neo Nexus

by slumber - Jam Entry

Welcome to a world of neon. Traverse the land, manipulating the physical, the cellular and the electrical world. Alter the world and navigate obstacles to reach your goal.

Controls:

Platform - Arrow keys, wall jump and tentacle jump is accomplished by pressing the left or right arrows.

Electricity mini game - press the arrow key when the charge moves overtop of the arrow.

Cellular mini game - Use arrow keys to control your virus. Left mouse button to infect red blood cells, right mouse button to stun the blue antibody (consumes infection level to use)


********UPDATE**********
HTML5 VERSION NOW LIVE AND FUNCTIONAL!
***********************

Slumbers Studios
Mark Ruggle - Coder
Jacob Kosterman - Art
Peter Cremasco - Game Design
Jamie Robinson - Music
Chad Morey - Music Producer

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#335Humor(Jam)2.50
#381Audio(Jam)3.06
#386Innovation(Jam)3.03
#474Graphics(Jam)3.15
#508Fun(Jam)2.82
#520Mood(Jam)2.84
#521Theme(Jam)2.82
#565Overall(Jam)2.94

Comments

mutuware says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:46pm

Brilliantly weird, but those white guys are really annoying.

KigurumiDevs says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:07pm

My protagonist was stucked outside the image when I was going to the left out of the screen, I couldn't continue playing :(. And the controls are not ideal at the moment.

rRootagea says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:08pm

Pretty neat neat mini games

Dissiden7 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:35pm

Pretty neat. Particularly liked the wall jumps. :)

cstudios says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:35pm

I could not play the game... I should click? it does not react to left nor right button. However I liked the graphics, so i am reloading this page tomorrow and i hope i get some instructions :)

(the music reminded me ski academy on my PC382 computer from my childhood)

DarkCart says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:35pm

I like the Vector graphics.

JUJU says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:42pm

Nice little game. Couldn't quite figure out the controls, but the wall jumping is great and the mini games rock!

rjhelms says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:47pm

Cool interpretation of the theme, and the combination of minigames and a platformer worked really well.

In a few places it looked like I fell through the bottom of the level and expected to have to start it over, but instead I was able to jump out of the hole even though I couldn't see the character - a little confusing.

hoyt hoy says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:18pm

So difficult!
I liked the way of you charge the battery!
This minigames was awesome!

xandy says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:05am

great ideas combined to a funny but hard! game.

AlucardX60 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:55am

Fun game. Liked the platforming and the electricity game the most. But it needs a way to restart after death. I had to reload the page each time I died.

jahmaican says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:56pm

I gave you mostly top ratings because fuck me it's good in every aspect. Sure it needs some polishing (how did you fail to implement death detection?), but it's something you could sell. Like, for money.
Have a cookie now.

cstudios says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:47pm

Finally I got it working. So, graphics are nice. The mini-games interesting, however the battery charging has a poor feedback, better feedback would improve the experience.

The music is okay, for the first two or five minutes, but after that it becomes annoying. Walljump are a good idea, maybe it could have a feedback to. For example like in Super meat boy, it should slide on walls.

I overall i gave it a good rating, because this is one of the better games on LD30

ponk says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:45pm

Cool! Nice wall jumps

gnx says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:33pm

The has a cool style and despite the awkward button assignment the mechanics work well. However I got into a phone charging minigame that was just way too difficult to complete, so I couldn't get further than that :)

alpha_rat says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 3:22pm

Really strange but enjoyable!
The controls are quite disturbing

sandbaydev says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:00pm

Hmm, I tried to play this several times but for some reason it just doesn't seem to do as I want. I tried wall-jump no luck. I could do normal jumps and movement, but that's it.

Then I went to another level where there was a battery and lights... I tried hitting all buttons but nothing happened.

Unfortunately I think I cannot rate this game.

MegaMasterX says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 11:44am

VERY nice! Some of the enemies had some strange behavior, but all-in-all a well rounded experience.

Blobby101 says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 11:33pm

Totally bizarre, but I liked it. Wasn't quite sure what to do at the start, with the controls for all the minigames being explained in the same place though.

Sep 6, 2014 @ 9:34pm

Cool graphics! I included it in part 17 of my Ludum Dare 30 Compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/02vIiZyi3-c

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]