Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Linker

by Digiraze - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Connect two worlds by expanding wormholes.

To get highscore, use as little wormholes as possible.

My highscore is 19838.

Press left mouse button to expand.

Press right mouse button to shrink.

Scoring System:

Top is your highscore.

Total is your score for the 10 links.

Score is your score for this current board. And this is how you find out whether you are doing a good or bad job. So if you just use one wormhole for the whole board, then this score would be really bad.

Also, that is why the number start really big and as you use up the wormhole, the number decreases.

Update 26 Aug 2014 - Sorry if I break any rules in updating my game. Audio is off by default. And there is a very simple Print feedback per GeeItSomeLaldy comment.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness72%
#136Theme3.83
#161Innovation3.73
#738Overall3.03
#778Fun2.80
#783Graphics2.75
#858Mood2.64
#866Humor1.82
#980Audio1.52

Comments

INC$D021 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:58pm

Love it.. Simple, and complex. Nice :)

Digiraze says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:01pm

Thanks INC$D021.

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:09pm

Hi. Great concept, easy to understand, difficult to solve. Nice graphics and fx.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:33pm

I liked the graphics, I liked the general concept, but the scoring system kinda perplexed me. Also I had to mute it because that high pitched sound when you expand a wormhole was hurting my hears. Other than that I thought it was really clever!

sol_hsa says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:44pm

A bit hard to say whether you're doing a good or a bad job. You solve any level by just clicking on one wormhole long enough.. sure you get a score, but it's hard to say if it's a good or a bad one..

Digiraze says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:02pm

Thanks everyone for trying it out.

@TaylorAnderson - I guess I should have put a description on how to scoring works.

@sol_hsa - Again, my bad, I didn't explain the scoring system. I will update my description.

Top is your highscore.

Total is your score for the 10 links.

Score is your score for this current board. And this is how you find out whether you are doing a good or bad job. So if you just use one wormhole for the whole board, then this score would be really bad.

Digiraze says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:14pm

@TaylorAnderson - yeah sorry about the sound, I should not have put it in. Regretting it now.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:18pm

I have to say that's quite a nifty game. I'd say it was let down by the audio (the beeping got quite grating) and a lack of feedback after each board was cleared. Even just a pop up saying "Connected by 10 wormholes! Previous best was 11!", that kind of thing. Otherwise, awesome concept, great game.

Digiraze says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:26pm

@GeeItSomeLaldy

Audio - agree

Feedback - yeah I should not have deleted that Print statement! =)

43iscoding says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:39am

Pretty, simple and challenging :) Great game!

pjimmy says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:39am

very innovative concept, well done

Techblogogy says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:29pm

Simple, fun and cool

esayitch says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:43pm

A pretty stylish game. Gets you thinking, too, which is never bad :) Sound would have benefited a lot I feel, a zen calm tune or something like that.
A pretty cool entry.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:19am

Amazing concept! Gameplay is as straightforward as it gets! It's quite a novel idea too.

The only problem with the game, IMHO, is that after a while it gets a bit repetitive, which is something that normally happens in all games if do if you don't introduce new elements or twists to the game mechanics along the way.It doesn't need to be a complex thing; you could increase the number of planets that need to be connected each couple of levels for instance.

Perhaps you can work on a post-compo version. The game has a lot of potential!

Lvyn says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 6:08pm

Nice and clean game :)

lekochen says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 1:30pm

Neat one. Got a highscore of 19593.

Sep 2, 2014 @ 4:10pm

I couldn't beat your highscore, my best was 19263, but it's a really fun game. :D
You shoul consider porting it to iPad or something like that, it's really cool. :D

JonathanG says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 5:36pm

I think I understand... you have to use the smallest number of wormholes to connect the two planets, so you have to size them correctly so that as few wormholes as possible overlap?

Digiraze says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 6:03pm

Thanks everyone for playing.

@JonathanG yes that is correct.

Snail_Man says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 6:38pm

Nice game! Would be well suited to mobile platforms.

dook says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 8:49pm

This was really neat! With a little polish and sound it could be a great little mobile game I'm sure. The scoring was a little hard to figure out, though :)

whalebot says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 8:55pm

Definitely tried connecting with one wormhole. My retinas regret it :D. Pretty cool concept. Would work well on a touch interface.

dancingmad says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 9:36pm

Excellent concept, I love it :)

Benjamin says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 9:41pm

Smart mechanic. But the best score in 10 levels is not the best way to expoit it imho, it's not very attractive. I would have prefer a level with some par score to reach or beat. ( = Connect world with 6 links or less )

I think it should be difficult but not impossible to make a solver that let you find the best result for a level. But maybe leveldeisgn 4-5 of them would be faster :)


My best socre is : 17108

cstudios says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 9:29pm

a realy nice touch ready game. however i did not get the scoring system.

lkr says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 9:33pm

Fun concept :)

I had to try the one massive wormhold approach once, of course, but found out it wasn't a good strategy to get a high score for the level :P

Had fun!

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 11:01pm

Great concept and take on the theme! As someone already said, easy to play, difficult to master. Well done!

Digiraze says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 11:34am

Scoring system - yeah it is very confusing, I realize it now. =( @Benjamin is correct, his PAR scoring system would have made the scoring elegant.

I did think about creating a solver, but because of the 48 hours limit, I don't think I can solve all the bugs in time. It probably be functioning, but buggy, so I didn't attempt it.

One massive wormhole - yeah should at least try that one, I am trying to hypnotize everyone. =)

DeltaF1 says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 8:45pm

The theme was implemented well, however the game kind of lost my inerest after the first few levels. A better graphic indication of the connectedness of wormholes might help as well. This is very innovative, and would be very interesting to write a bot to efficiently solve! Good job on making this interesting puzzler!

skiddings says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 1:42am

Nice work!
My score was: 18240
Great little puzzle game.

kirbytails7 says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 5:38pm

Pretty cool idea. Note that having a high score is somewhat meaningless when the worlds and wormholes are placed randomly.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]