Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Where Did The Stars Go?

by mechabit - Jam Entry

You are a dino space gardener.
(If the webplayer stops responding try resizing the window)

Instructions:
A/D = Walk
Space = Jump
Left Mouse Button = Eat
Right Mouse Button = Poo
R = Restart level

*Fertilize soil with your poo.
*Eating seeds lets you poo seeds onto fertilized soil to grow a plant.
*Animals will eat seeds too.
*If you cause a plant or animal to go extinct you might need to restart.
*The 2nd plant eats snails
*There is a thank you screen at the end

Tools:
Unity3D
Audacity
Photoshop
Water colours on paper
freesound.org


Story:
A terrible disaster wiped out almost all life in the galaxy.
You wake up to a sky with no stars and a barren world.

You find ancient ruins on the planet which rumbles into life as you approach. It seems to react to life on the planet.

There's nothing for you on this world so you jump into the shimmering portal and being your journey across the galaxy to find another of your species and uncover the *truth. (*truth not included)

Notes:
There were going to be more plants and animal types and more planets but we ran out of time as usual. You were going to uncover the cause of the apocalypse and the origin of the star gates through paintings on ruins but that was cut also.
The original story had ancient interstellar beings who built the star gates to travel between worlds but they uncover a plague that threatened to spread across the star gate network and wipe out all life. As a last resort they construct a super gate to escape to another galaxy but inadvertently triggers the disaster which caused the stars to fade and destroyed themselves.

Try keeping seeds in the air by head butting them :)

www.mechabit.co.uk

Music by Deceased Superior Technician

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#57Humor(Jam)3.65
#133Audio(Jam)3.61
#201Mood(Jam)3.43
#210Graphics(Jam)3.82
#212Innovation(Jam)3.36
#274Fun(Jam)3.22
#345Overall(Jam)3.28
#548Theme(Jam)2.75

Comments

NnelGdaBandit says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:39pm

If there is one thing I want to do more in games is poo!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:40pm

ah i didnt realize the first time round the orange things are snails. Really nice concept, and really nicely executed! I would loved to have seen some more critters though.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:42pm

So lovely graphics, good work!!!

mechabit says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:44pm

Yeah, there's only 2 plants and 1 animal but we planned all sorts of weird alien fauna and flora each with different behaviors and interactions. But alas such is ludum dare.

elliottd says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:46pm

looks great, music is good, not on board with the poop sounds. I could only make three plants, and then they were generating the small seeds/poo and it just comes out the same... gross game. good work

nikki93 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:58pm

The graphics are really nice and cute. The poo is hilarious. Neat idea! Playing as a dinosaur is sweet.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:03am

Loved the graphics and the overall sense of fun.

mechabit says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:10am

@elliottd Ha ha yeah it's a bit gross...

LuisDC says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:21am

Loved the graphics and art style. I had to search for the meaning of LMB and RMB. Please, consider write "left/right mouse button" in the description.

Good job and good luck!

Miziziziz says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:24am

Where do you people get all this time to make such amazing music and art.
I have to say, your sense for color is amazing. Really nice visuals.
The game was also really, wish you could've made more. I ended up with snail overpopulation after a while

mechabit says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:32am

Edited the instructions for less acronyms

FXCesinha says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:33am

Nice graphics

Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:03am

POOT POOT POOT POOT. Finally a game I can relate to! I'm always pooping and eating! Seriously though. well done. I really found this idea interesting and funny. The difficulty was a little bit steep though so I didn't get that far.

PixelOaks says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:51am

Loved the pooping. Only disappointment was that the dino wouldn't poop out any more after a while

iSamurai says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:56am

Funny idea! The art is awesome, and the controls is solid. If there is more hints in the game about my progress would be better :) Good job!

egos says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:33am

great you can eat youre poo

mechabit says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:02pm

Anyone managed to stick with it till the end?

Kayelgee says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:06pm

Interesting concept. You can't get the second plant to make seeds can you?

tillrobby says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:08pm

Funny game :D Great music

Jellycakes says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:08pm

Really nice, the idea was pretty cute. I kept getting stuck though after I ate all the animals (I think). Nice job though!

mechabit says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:54pm

@Kayelgee the 2nd plant eats snails to make seeds, it's not hinted at, you just have to experiment with it. I wanted a sense of exploration with each world adding new life forms to play with.

@Jellycakes You do have to be careful with that, make sure there's always at least one of each thing left so they can spawn more. If you plant a bulb next to a snail you'll get infinite snails after a bit lol

SwiftIllusion says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:03pm

That was really awesome :D.
Loved the management-esque mechanics and trying to develop the life in that final level where you had to balance all the plants/animals. Even though you mentioned not getting everything you wanted done, you managed to get just enough in that it felt like a really satisfying experience after completing it, great job :D.

mechabit says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:21pm

Thanks!

Kayelgee says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:42am

Can I pickup snails somehow or do I need to headbutt them after they spawned? I actually thought about moving snails to the plant but I had planted the second plant on the other side xD

mechabit says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:44pm

@Kayeglee You can't pick up the snails but you can lure them with seeds if you want them to move in a certain direction. I was going to make them climb walls like snails but didn't get round to it. It's possible to head butt them around but it's tricky to do.

recursor says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:21pm

This is hilarious. By the end of my play session, I was eating my own poo, then pooping it back out. This was some great entertainment, and the graphics are pretty neat too. If you keep working on it, you should put in more animal types and perhaps some that could eat you too.

mechabit says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:44pm

@recursor Thanks. Your game is fun as well. If we expanded the game we'd probably add some danger element but not any combat (want to keep it about exploration and experimentation), maybe an exploding/burning seed that lets you burn plants you don't want anymore or some kind of snappy plant that blocks your path. Maybe some physics/mind altering seeds? lol

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:22pm

You can eat your own shit GOTY

mechabit says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:54pm

@MechanicMoon I think your 3 eyed space pigs would get along with my pooping dino lol

KigurumiDevs says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:13pm

Sadly my Unity web player isn't working (not your fault). Would have loved to play the game! looks like a game for me :D

Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:33am

Cool visual style and nice concept.

Colapsydo says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:24am

The mix of 3d and hand drawing is really cool.
I went till the second world, but I wasn't able to obtain new orange seed. Maybe those orange plant doesn't produce them or I miss something.

mechabit says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:38am

@Colapsydo The orange plant is carnivorous, feed it snails

Otrora Games says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:32pm

This was crazy but pretty cool. Nice job

kristof says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:52pm

Haha, I like how much effort you put into the farting sounds :D But seriously, this game is awesome! I couldn't stop playing. Very relaxing. I would have liked to see more complex ecosystems. I am sure this would make a great mobile app! You know, pooping some snails while waiting for the bus :D
Awesome work!

hb3p8 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:53am

Very cute dino :) Great job!

Artamus says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 2:19pm

Nice game, congrats!

Ofursnati says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 9:12pm

The pooping sound is awesome. Fun game. GJ.

jukimv1986 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 5:08am

A poopping dino! It is sad you ran out of time, same thing happened to us too. Graphics are colourful and the audio is neat. Good job!

mechabit says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:41am

We're very happy with what we did, the main mechanics are working and there's an end lol

leafarz says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 12:07pm

the game is so cute haha! :))
very nice visuals and yeah 10/10 on the poo mechanic man.
really awesome game! good job! :D

savethejets1 says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 7:13pm

Graphics are great!

Dietrich Epp says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 12:30am

This game is simply amazing. It did take me a while to figure out that the snails were in fact snails, and not just a limited supply of food for me to turn into poo. I'm glad I stuck it out.

mechabit says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 7:23am

Yeah the snail spiral on the shells doesn't really come out in the water colour style. I had them walking about randomly at first but then I broke it and then kinda like how they look like dormant rocks until some food was around so kept it that way.

skiddings says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 2:43pm

It's been a while since I had to do tactical pooping in a game!

H1S2 says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 8:50am

very funny! these snails get a plague really quick :) catchy tune and nice artwork.

Sep 8, 2014 @ 2:54am

Cute monster :D I included it in part 22 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series, if you’d like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/_5a2Oj9U9sk

pythong says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 8:21am

i liked the style, especially the texture of the world, but after finding out i had to eat the big stones and poop them into the earth, i didn't know what to do anymore? :/

mechabit says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 5:46pm

@Pythong, poop the seeds into the green grass to make plants

mechabit says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 5:46pm

@Jupiter_Hadley Thanks man!

MerlijnVH says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 8:09pm

Very cool game! I liked the game mechanic and the music was great, too. Love the graphics style.

fisholith says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 10:03am

Fun idea. The music and art create a nice atmosphere.
The sounds add a ... I'm gonna say novel element, as well. :)

So, at first I experienced what I suspect to be the normal pitch range for the randomized poots. "poot, little-poot, moderate-poot, pt, poot, etc" Then, without warning, "POOOOT ... PUUUUUUT ... P-P-P-P-EW-EW-EW-EW-T" Ultra-low-frequency. Ultra-low! I mean, I'm pretty sure I may have just interfered with whale migration for the next few days.

Rage Paint says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 9:03pm

Nice style with the water colors. I was only able to make the big flower that spit out seeds. I never saw any other plants or animals :(

mechabit says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 11:47am

@Rage Paint, the big rocks are actually snails, feed them seeds to make more.

Hypnohustla says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 5:15pm

Pooping is always fun. Really enjoyed rest of the game too :)

lkr says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 6:06pm

That was a lot of fun :) Loved the visuals and the relaxed atmosphere.

Didn't beat the second world because I couldn't figure out how to fill the orange meter more than about two thirds. Eventually the game would slow to a crawl with hundreds of snails other things covering the planet.

Had a great time - would love to see the ideas you didn't have time to implement during the jam fleshed out :)

commodoreKid says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 11:32pm

Interesting idea with walking on a planet but I felt like spending most of my time walking to reach plants or snails. Also couldn't get the point of second level really. I think this might be something if there were more variation to what player can do. Cute little game, liked it.

racarate says ...
Sep 16, 2014 @ 12:53am

mmmm my favorite music so far... i want to grow plants into forever

mechabit says ...
Sep 16, 2014 @ 4:08pm

Woo, scored highly on humour again. Too bad about the theme. Thanks for playing and commenting guys!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]