Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Vibrastones

by 5T4MP5 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A puzzle game, where music making stones manipulate the world of a small platformer.

Created in 48 hours from 8/22-8/24/2014 using:

Unity
iTween
LSDJ (emulated in visual boy)
ASEPRITE
GIMP
Monodevelop
Notepad++
Audacity
Hours of Giant Bomb Videos playing in the background.

Play in 1280 by 720 on Windows.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#50Innovation4.03
#623Theme3.17
#681Audio2.47
#724Fun2.86
#812Mood2.70
#816Overall2.95
#866Humor1.82
#1123Graphics2.09

Comments

Hi_ImTemmy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:00pm

Interesting game! I assume the 'connected world' theme in interpreted by the split of objects on the left and then the movement on the right.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:10pm

Short but sweet. Only real complaint came from controlling the left side of the screen with my right hand (on the mouse) and the right side with my left hand.

For a game based around audio it would have been nice to have some kind of audio level slider somewhere, it was very quiet on my machine and I needed to turn the volume way up to be able to hear it. On the flip side however, none of the puzzles put forward required you to listen, just trial and error with moving shapes next to each other. Indeed the first few puzzles just required you to move all the stones in to a pile, then jump on the platform and move them away.

It would be nice to see this idea expanded upon. I'm sure it could lead to some devious puzzles. You could make great use of the Stroop effect to bamboozle people too. Get them linking, in their mind, that Blue Gem moves Blue Platform, then have it switch out. That kind of thing.

dusho says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:17pm

cool one.. I like puzzles where trial-error approach works :)

graebor says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:23pm

Great concept, even with the simple graphics it had me hooked pretty quickly. Definitely potential for further development here :)

Inateno says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:27pm

Really cool, I need more levels :D

Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:29pm

Interesting game.

Is there any pattern to putting two stones together to move platforms? I couldn't figure any out.

TrickFishPie says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:32pm

Took me a while to get the knack of how to use the stones to control the level. Decent idea

chongdashu says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:59pm

Interesting game and mechanics! Definitely something new!

Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:00pm

Awkward controls, and for a game about audio, the audio wasn't really that nice. Seemed like an interesting idea though

43iscoding says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:01pm

Very interesting concept. However, collisions are a bit messy (you can wall jump) and gems look pretty silly. Anyway, I enjoyed the game! Good job!

grillaface says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:04pm

Fun!

Nooner Bear says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:51am

Innovation is for sure a 5. I could see this having a lot of complicated puzzles weaved into it with more development. I found myself combining certain stones just for experimentation. Neat!

Teesquared says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:28am

Great take on the theme. Picking from overlapped stones was a bit difficult though. The audio feature is one of those that sounds good in theory but not so much in practice :)

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:50pm

Hi there. Interesting idea. Got to 5 gems, bookmarked for later. Only slight technical issue is that sometimes keyboard input for the redsquare stops working. Reload level works though, so perhaps not too hard to fix ? Good job!

dickpoelen says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:27pm

Interesting idea! Could use a bit more polish though

Nanofus says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:28pm

Really like the idea :D I like the hand-drawn parts of the graphics, if the coloured shapes fitted the style it would be really awesome. The controls of the red square stopped working a couple of times, seemingly randomly.

Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:27pm

A bit awkward but pretty fun. I Like the ambition of using LSDJ

TautNerve says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:01pm

Feels a little rough but overall very interesting
concept, would love to see this with more polish

borgi says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:07pm

Cool idea! Could be a great game!

bytegrove says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 6:13pm

Clever concept, I really like what you did with the theme! The graphics and physics might need more work though.

Sep 2, 2014 @ 4:01pm

By far the best puzzle game I have played in LD30 so far.
If this had a graphical overhaul and some extra mechanics I could see this going a long way, well done! :D

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]