Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Astral Crossroads

by zdonkeyx - Jam Entry

Explore the astral plane on your journey to be reborn in the physical realm.

This is my 2nd Ludum Dare, and I hope you like my game. :)

I uploaded Linux and OS X builds.. though I'm not 100% sure if they work, considering I don't have a Mac or Linux machine.

I wish I had the time to make more complex puzzles, but I guess this is a good starting point for a possible future project.

There's tons of bugs, try not to find them. ;)

Unity | Illustrator | Maya

Track: Kevin MacLeod - Evening Fall (Royalty Free)

Twitter: @chronopulse



*Watch your step. The collision detection is incomplete, and it's possible to fall off some of the ledges.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#13Mood(Jam)4.22
#17Overall(Jam)4.18
#25Audio(Jam)4.08
#48Graphics(Jam)4.40
#50Fun(Jam)3.78
#53Innovation(Jam)3.85
#393Theme(Jam)3.15
#410Humor(Jam)2.36

Comments

Anshul Goyal says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:21am

short and sweet! Soundtrack is awesome!
With more content and variety of puzzles, it has a potential of becoming a decent game. Good work!

iSamurai says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:43am

The art style reminds me of Monument Valley, and I love it! The clean art and the background music creates a peaceful feeling. The transitions of the platforms and worlds are really smooth and impressive. Fun gameplay too! I also found a bug in level 2 that the character just fall out of the platform...

jgthespy says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:06am

Wow this game is awesome. I'd love to see more.

CoolIron says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:08am

Beautiful!

ATTA Games says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:25am

Great entry! Cool artwork and nice gameplay, but when I fall from platform i meet the infinity.

Raphy says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:11am

Peaceful experience, reminds me of Monument Valley as well. Very good overall, more levels would be great!

Gametery says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:44pm

Loved it! Very nice design and very smooth, Keep up good work!

Bobzombi says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:53pm

There is an endless fall bug :/ But this is a very nice game !

enteagd says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:49pm

Brilliant, crying out for expansion!

dustyroom says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:02pm

One of the best entries. The art is fantastic. And that harp...

Jupitron says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:30pm

Incredible setting and really cool mechanics. Excellent visual style!

Beard says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:43pm

Impressive! I enjoyed the puzzles.

Rage Paint says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:29am

Very clean. Extremely fun. This is definitely my favorite game out of the ones I have played so far. Nice job.

Dimir says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:12am

Game is very beautiful!

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:55pm

Very nice game, puzzles are awesome, graphics are awesome, char are awesome, congrats!

Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:48am

The music suits the game really well, definitely high marks for the 'audio' and 'mood' categories. It reminds me of Monument Valley because of the high visual polish.

Scott Baker says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:54am

Just when I got hooked, there were no more levels! This is a great game. If you make the interface tablet friendly, you could sell this game on a tablet easily.

smizmeal says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:06am

This is excellent. Beautiful art style and fun game mechanics. I'd like to see more :)

Mase says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:49am

It has a very cohesive style.

I get a black screen after I complete the second level... not sure if this is a bug or the end.

Simplexcity says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:14am

Awesome. Reminded me lots of Monument Valley too which was nice cos i was craving more of that game.
u did a really good job, the game feels smooth and the music was purdy

zdonkeyx says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:22am

Thanks for all the nice feedback! Sorry about the bugs, and for it being so short.. if only a couple more hours!! lol

Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:23am

Sweet, little puzzle game. Lots of potential for a full version.
~funkeh

braqoon says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:23am

nice little game, but it's very easy to fall off the platforms.

spolsh says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:09am

Simple and enjoyable :)

liquidminduk says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:57am

very polished effort, everything came together really well for a nice balanced experience.

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:36pm

Hi there. Lovely looking world, like the lighting, fog, switch states, rotation movement... all good!

stasss says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:26pm

Gorgeous rendition. Graphics - without a rival. Atmosphere - super solid (very professional) , I like music a lot! Little polish, scaling. You must continue working on it!!

JoJoyX says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:41pm

Great entry ! You should keep working on that the concept is great

bushmango says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:12pm

Beautiful! So smooth.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:36pm

Exelent game. Congrats!

Artamus says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:06pm

Nice game, congrats!

royvanrijn says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:55pm

How nice and peaceful... so zen with the music :) 5 stars for the mood!

Fanatrick says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:15pm

Loved the mechanics! Puzzles were a bit based on trial and error, but it didn't hurt the gameplay. Really fun jam game :)

donaldducky says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:32pm

Very good game. I really liked the music!

Xadjim says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:51pm

Wow nice, had fun playing it and the quality seems to be very high. Great job. I would probably buy it for about 1-2 euro

hoyt hoy says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:00am

It's really good! Nice graphics, puzzles, everything is nice.
But I fell off the edge, and it was weird...

Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:30am

Wow! I thought it will be Monument Valley, but this one appeared really different! Good job!

SaintHeiser says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 3:52am

Well made game!
The game mechanics blowing my mind!

simplesmiler says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:33am

Lovely!

Drew Van Camp says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 2:55pm

Oh my goodness! Beautiful music and visuals!

So I feel like either the second level is too difficult or too buggy (definitely fell off at one point). But this is a wonderful, elegant little game. I'm curious how far it goes!

Colors, shapes, animations, symbols. All of it is nicely executed. And it wasn't lost on me that you have a system for showing what's on the underside of each -- clever design!

Feel like after the first level, you need a couple more simple levels to teach the player before we get to the second level. Or maybe it was just a bug I was experiencing.

This is really great! Please continue it! More beautiful music, more smooth animations, more symbols and puzzle types. You've done a great job!

Managore says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 12:48am

This game really looks incredible. The flipping mechanic is also very interesting.

yodamaster says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 11:14am

Nice and sweet. Some little bugs, like the platform moves away while I'm on it, so it results in standing in the air. Add more levels and a tutorial and publish for iOS.

Scipio Xaos says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 1:58am

Very nicely done. I would love to see more of this with a lot more puzzles. When I solved the first one my first thought was "Oh, that's clever..." Great work!

brokenbeach says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 11:35am

The game's gorgeous and fun. There was a nice atmosphere to it. Well done.

However, there is a bug where you can fall off the map, on the first level. Once you take the stairs down to the island on the far right, you can walk straight off it.

PapyGaragos says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 11:36am

Great concept and execution. The game could use a smoother difficulty curve though. I wasn't really sure what to do and I solved the first level by accident (and it took me a while to truly solve it when I restarted)

Good job

Sep 6, 2014 @ 1:31pm

A lovely game with great atmosphere and music. I fell off the edge though and fell forever.

Sep 6, 2014 @ 6:27pm

Awesome entry, great game at all. I suggest some audible feedback when you move platforms. This game is very promising! Congratulations! (I didnt find any bug :P yey).

ChuiGum says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 11:07pm

Awesome innovation, graphics, and music! Fantastic job overall!

Sep 7, 2014 @ 8:38pm

Super well done. Awesome game! I included it in part 20 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series, if you’d like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/3H1YVzN-nuA

airdeck says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 4:41am

This is beautiful, reminds me of Monument Valley.

apiotrw says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 2:08pm

Great game :)

vividhelix says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 3:44pm

gorgeous art style, i was curious technically how you made that in unity - I'd love a postmortem describing that.

zdonkeyx says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 9:32pm

@vividhelix It's all about perspective! If you use an isometric camera, depth no longer exists. It's basically a 2d view of 3d objects, which allows you to play tricks on the player's perception of the game.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]