Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Rift Walker

by Skills641 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Use your power of opening rifts to the other world, and secure the section before the time runs out.

Controls:
- Movement: A D
- Jumping: Spacebar
- Switching Worlds: Q
- Camera Control: Mouse
- Shooting: Left-Click
- Shield: Right-Click

Good Luck and have fun :D


*Added: a website link

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#568Theme3.24
#614Audio2.61
#644Graphics2.99
#762Fun2.82
#781Overall2.98
#804Humor1.98
#806Mood2.71
#914Innovation2.67

Comments

disdanes says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:51am

Really like the world switching platforming mechanics, that was pretty cool! Great entry!

wolfmother says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:02am

Very difficult. Art is pretty good. Music is nice to have. Platform switching seems to work well enough, though a few people used that.
Fair effort :3

jomomomo says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:07am

Can't play windows games. :-(

hyouko says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:23am

Cool visuals. Rather than using numbers to represent all the stats, I'd recommend using icons or bars of some sort. I couldn't tell when my health was down far enough to be in danger, generally, so I died quite a bit.

(Also... a button to quit would be appreciated. Had to give the three-finger salute to close out when I was done!)

Miziziziz says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:05am

art is pretty decent in game; the UI art ( like the title screen) is a bit uncomfortable to look at. The music is good, but doesn't really fit the games look. Also, the shooting sound effect is really annoying, would be better as something softer.
Some sort of way to regain health would be nice, since it's really easy to get killed by enemies right now.
Otherwise, looks like there's a lot of potential here; I think the world swapping mechanic was cool and could really be taken to interesting levels.

atomic_swerve says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:06am

Very difficult to predict when a world swap would be needed, had the floor fall out from me a couple of times!

ENDESGA says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:26am

Awesome game! Love it!

Piscythe says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:03am

I liked most of the mechanics, but the jumping seemed inconsistent. Many unexpected deaths resulted from not being able to see what was on the other world and warping into spikes or a pit, and I found it was quite possible to materialize inside a platform. The level design and graphics were good, though, and the music was quite atmospheric.

donan says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:13am

Wow, game its really nice. Good work ^^

CatOnMars says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:20am

Nice particle effects and game mechanics. The level design is quite hard for me. I think the gravity is too low, it makes the jumping feels floaty. Also I think the character needs a jumping animation too. Overall it's decent game, thank you ^_^

Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:08pm

Well done! Graphics & audio were nicely done. Hit boxes seemed rough, but playable.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:26pm

Very rough around the edges, but cool concept, little more polish and this could be superb. I liked the action but felt the platforming was bit too clunky, you don't know where it's safe to switch or not.

seantheartist says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:33pm

Cool game, I dig the shield feature

John Drury says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:46pm

I liked the part where I flew through the air forever into a red area :D

abeing says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:17pm

wow! hardcore game! but really cool! cool concept

The Lag Pack says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:34am

Took me a couple of lives to get the hang of it but I really enjoyed this game.

imdigitaljim says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:22am

Really neat game! I like the world switch!

iSamurai says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:20am

World switching concept is cool! The gameplay is fast and challenging. Good job!

commodoreKid says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:27am

Sounds and graphics are tiring, but nice idea.

Exeneva says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:43am

Very, very difficult. World switching was cool, but I felt like at many times it was a 'temporary battle safety key' since one world didn't seem to have much in it. I understand world switching is used to progress too, but I felt like more could have been expanded upon there.

ChuiGum says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:50am

Love the graphics, music, and innovation!

AortaStudios says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:01am

Difficult but fun! Loving the use of the world switching mechanic! Nice entry.

liquidminduk says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:06am

Nice design overall, with nice unique character designs. Pretty deep gameplay too for 48hrs! good job

tillrobby says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:32am

Very good job, I had a lot of fun :) The gravity could be bigger for my liking though :)

SiMouth says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:27am

So difficult! Nice mood and graphics.
Problem (web version) : when I right-click there is a menu...

Druid says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:47pm

Interesting art and pretty neat gameplay!

AdricZero says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:58pm

Looks polished. Had to go fullscreen to avoid the popup menu when using the right mouse button for shield.

jsmars says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:26pm

Nice job :)

Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:08pm

Platform switching is GREAT, but could do with some tuning - far too easy to find myself in a horrible situation. =) Gameplay is fun, music is nice, sound effects are effective! Nice work for the compo - you got a LOT done!

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:40pm

The other dimension looks like Silent Hill XD Very good game

PixlWalkr says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:52pm

Nice gameplay and graphics :)

Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:54pm

so difficult, im kinda blind and need more visual information instead of just numbers xD, was kinda hard to predict when to use the dimension switch (always looking at the arrow to tell me to switch xD) but amazing job, love the graphics and audio

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:39pm

This game has a great concept and its obvious you put a lot of work in in 48 hours. I like that it was challenging but still fun. Good luck!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:24pm

I found it really hard, due to the long cooldown on switching worlds, but other than that I liked the art style and the music was awesome.

43iscoding says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:34am

Art is very interesting. Some game mechanics issues, but game overall seems very pleasing

zdonkeyx says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:42pm

The world switching mechanic is cool, I think 1 thing that would really help the gameplay is to have the "neutral" platforms that are in both worlds be a different color. So that when you switch from blue to red you know which platforms will disappear, and which ones will stay. Overall, solid entry :)

jukimv1986 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:24am

Quite difficult to play. Good visuals and audio though. Keep working on the gameplay!

mechabit says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:29pm

right clicking brings up the unity context menu, you should disable that when you do the web build (in player settings). It's difficult to tell which platforms will be there when you switch back to the other world, maybe clearly show different platform types with 2 bright colours. the glow trail effect is pretty neat. good compo entry

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]