Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Twin star

by t4u - 48 Hour Compo Entry

For People with NG account(for medals):
http://www.newgrounds.com/portal/view/644901?updated=1

------------------------------------------------------------

Two stars: red and blue are caught in eternal dance.

Now the time for them to merge has come. But evil comets want to crush into the stars and disturb the merging.

Use W/S to move closer stars closer to each other. If they are close enough you will feel gravity effects and it will be more difficult to spread them apart.

Use A/D to rotate the the stars.
Use spacebar mid-game to return to menu.

Left top corner:
Red dots show how many more comets can you take before losing.

Percent shows merging progress, once it's 100% you win.

Game modes:
Arcade - standard

Heavy - makes stars heavier, putting stars into rotation and stopping them is more difficult. Spreading stars apart when they are closer is more difficult as well
(stronger gravity effects)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#413Fun3.21
#436Theme3.41
#479Innovation3.26
#676Overall3.09
#920Graphics2.51
#921Humor1.61
#926Audio1.80
#944Mood2.50

Comments

Hi_ImTemmy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:54pm

Simple, challenging and fun!

sftrabbit says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:04pm

Cool game and interesting orbital mechanic. I think it would be cool if the comets were affected by the stars' gravities (but would also make it more difficult).

Dasginger says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:09pm

Nice concept, and really addicting game! Difficulty feels just right too.

psychomonster says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:36pm

it is not as easy as it looks like... tricky trcky. I like the game... after you played once you know how it works and you will beat that game. Nice

ethankennerly says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:02am

Swinging both stars to dodge comets captivated me! If you continue to develop this, have you considered animating the comets as looking dangerous?

ceosol says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:16pm

This is a very nice entry. I think it could be improved by either having a stop rotation function or by having the planets continually moving - of course one way making it easier and the other harder. I only played the heavy mode for a little bit, but I really liked the feel of the controls. It made it seem more like you were trying to push a planet.

DvanderAart says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:57pm

Good game this one. I like it a lot and it is actually a very playable game. Nice one!

blurryroots says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:57pm

Surprisingly fun mechanics. I think it is well executed, although some sounds would have been nice =P

torcado194 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:34pm

pretty cool concept, and good difficulty, but there's not a lot there. neat though!

Artamus says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:15pm

Nice game, congrats!

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:26am

Simple but complex, well done.

Natrium729 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 11:38pm

A really simple idea that makes a really fun game. Some sounds, better graphics and maybe other modes would make an great addictive game.

HotBoxGames says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 6:37pm

Nice and simple mechanic that can be surprisingly challenging! Great job!

Z.B.G.E. says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 9:52pm

I like it. It's quite simple but in theme, easy to understand and with a good level of difficulty

MunkeeBacon says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 6:44pm

Fun challenge! Nice and simple aswell.

zazery says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 12:56am

My first instinct was to crash into comets to protect the center planet. Wasn't hard to figure out out how play. Very challenging but a neat idea.

torvik88 says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 6:33pm

I like the concept and the fact that is simple yet challenging. Very well done!

Sep 8, 2014 @ 6:40pm

I played three times but I couldn't get more than 70% in arcade mode. Mechanic was cool, connected to the theme and fun to play. Perhaps you could do a game mode in which the more you move the faster it reaches 100%. Good entry!

jprogman says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 3:09am

The controls are a little slippery and sometimes unresponsive. I got some used to it, but I had some fun with a spacy version of dodge ball with circumnavigation.

sbarrio says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 9:15pm

Really enjoyed the mechanic. Took a bit to get used to the controls but that is part of the fun :)

Great entry!

Sep 12, 2014 @ 2:06pm

Hi t4u, I have updated my game so now it is playable in HTML5, as you asked in comments. I hope you like it.

SnapDragon says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 2:33am

Good game

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]