Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

CAVVE

by Zupoman - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Arrow keys to move, 'Z' to jump.

You are some strange creature going through a stream of connected, one-colored worlds. On your way you will encounter deadly spikes, shooting turrets, evil robots and dangerous boulders - all trying to kill you. Good luck!

This is a game that interprets the theme very loosely - but I hope it fits. Could have been better, unfortunately I was too short on time. The winning screen is very poor, sorry for that. I hope you enjoy it anyway - have fun!

NOTE:
I uploaded a patched version - there was a bug which was causing the game to skip one level. It should be fixed now.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#174Mood3.48
#196Graphics3.74
#239Fun3.45
#454Overall3.30
#582Audio2.67
#1001Theme2.48
#1071Innovation2.34

Comments

modbox says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:56pm

I love the game, it feels quite ambient

datacr4sh says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:07pm

great art, nice mood to this!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:14pm

OMG Hardcore!!! but I like it :_D

CogentInvalid says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:22pm

I liked the simple graphics and smooth movement. I couldn't get out of the pit in the cyan screen, not sure if that was intentional.

Zupoman says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:39pm

@CogentInvalid Thanks for reporting, that's a bug. I uploaded a patched version, it should be fixed now.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:56pm

Wonderfully elegant game. I really enjoyed the minimalism in both design and art. Great job!

FGM says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:59pm

Can be very unforgiving. Maybe a checkpoint system would make it easier for some people. But I had to finish all the levels. I don't back down from a challenge.

rnlf says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:17pm

I liked the game, but I ragequit after attempting level 2 about a million times :D

Nice style though!

kyyrma says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:30pm

As you mentioned, a bit of a miss with the theme - but that's alright, it's about making games after all ;-) This game caught my eye with the preview picture, and I wasn't disappointed. Fantastic work with the minimalistic art style!

4sap says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:54pm

Very good, very hard. I like how you really fall like a rock, makes the platforming very challenging

firstbass says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:37am

Very engaging, challenging, and just overall a good game.

Literal Games says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:17pm

Very solid platformer mechanics, I found it quite hard though! Good job.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:19pm

Got a little hard for me at the end but nice little platformer with a good set of sounds and art style.

IcyLava says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:23pm

"You are some strange creature", hmm... I skimmed through that part and my guess was that you are a rock :D. Didn't get past all the levels, but it was pretty fun anyway. Good work!

AtomicVikings says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:12pm

Very nice platformer, controls are spot on. I couldn't make it to the end because I am not good at platforming :( still, awesome game!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:14pm

Pretty solid controls although the game's rather unforgiving at times. Maybe once you unlock the.. barrier things, they should stay unlocked even if you die, at least.

I like the bump sound when you land, and I also quite like the minimalistic aesthetic.

A big bonus is also that there's no nonsense, once you die it's immediate restart, no waiting around, no having to quit and restart the game, nothing like that.

the says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:26am

I am voting for extra check points too. Also, nice minimalistic tileset.

rd127p77 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:04pm

Level 2 is hard, quit after 30 minutes of trying, other than that when you die I like the sound. Also Love the Graphics.

bytegrove says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:52pm

I like the art style and the fact that it changes colour. The jumping felt a little unresponsive at times though, and caused me to die a lot.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]