Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Boulder Toss

by quade81 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Use the boulders (they stick when you throw them) to make your way through the game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#152Graphics3.85
#455Theme3.39
#494Mood3.06
#506Audio2.78
#546Innovation3.17
#565Overall3.20
#730Fun2.85
#776Humor2.00

Comments

eatsleepindie says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:54am

Moving to the different platforms took time, but the environment was immersive enough that it was still fun. I also got a great sense of reward several times along the way as I figured things out on my own. I liked that you didn't come out and tell me how to beat the game but left me to explore the world and learn from my mistakes without punishing me for them.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:13am

This looks lovely!

BinaryPie says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:33pm

Slow going, but fun.

Tomker says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:34pm

Nice graphic style, also love that music

Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:34pm

Great job on the modelling! The game was a bit too slow paced for me, but the audio was amazing and the theme is well interpreted.

MRvanderPants says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:36pm

Making your way through the game with only boulders is a really fresh view on the theme. Great game!

lukz says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:38pm

It's fun to play. I like idea of building bridges from stones.

marvalgames says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:39pm

Nice tune.
Maybe a way to be warned about running out of boulders?
Overall solid

Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:40pm

the controlls are a bit strange, this game should be more play tested, but after al it is a good game because it lets you fail but it never punishes you for that.

stephenhaney says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:41pm

Very nice! Great mood, the graphics are really cohesive, immersive and beautiful. I liked the acoustic guitar as well, though I missed sound effects for the boulders and jumping/landing. It's perhaps a bit hard or slow - one mess up and you have to restart the whole game. A little longer range on bolder pickup would be helpful. It started to feel like 'work' by the third platform, and I gave up when I lost a bolder to the abyss there two games in a row. Overall, minor critiques to a quality production. Thank you for the game!

Techblogogy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:42pm

Mouse sensitivity is a bit fast for my liking and it's a bit difficult to get from platform to platform. But other than that its a pretty decent game.

Maek says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:42pm

Cool!

jojocanard says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:49pm

I made it to 2-4, then I just didn't what to do anymore. I'll call it the end of the game I guess.
Thanks

Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:52pm

An interesting puzzle, with lots of falling (thanks to the roundness of the boulders). It was often hard to tell whether I was making progress. Very nice visuals and good collision detection.

Piscythe says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:01pm

Overall this was good and engaging. As others have said, the lack of hand-holding and general forgiveness worked really well here. The boulder-throwing mechanics were interesting, but it was often hard to navigate the paths once I made them. Most of the puzzles were fun, but the final ascent up the tree was tedious because I kept having to go back down to fetch more boulders. I tried throwing them up into the branches to speed things up and that kinda helped, so props for letting that kind of thinking work. Maybe some kind of telekinetic boulder fetch would help there.

Drew Van Camp says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:07pm

Jumped without reading instructions. Kept throwing rocks onto other platforms. Never noticed they were sticky! Had to read the instructions after a few tries and then finally understood. Got as far as the fourth platform before calling it quits for now. Looks really nice and the music chill, though a bit repetitive. Sticky boulders don't make sense to me, but I could see the general concept and art style expanding into a fuller game. And I appreciate the tie in of the player literally connecting the floating worlds. Great work!

Kalman90Grape says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:15pm

Very interesting and different, I liked it. The fun part was when I climbed to the top of the tree and got to rain boulders on the rest of the world.

r0x0r says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:21pm

can you make a linux build, please?

quade81 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:59pm

@r0x0r I'll try when I get home tonight. Does the Unity web player not work on linux?

r0x0r says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:03pm

@quade81 thanks! there is no webplayer for linux, sadly

quade81 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:27pm

@r0x0r Linux build is up. I have no idea if it works or not though.

r0x0r says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:21pm

it works :) i played to the world 2-1

arttut02 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:13am

Looks great and plays fine. Enjoyed playing with it. Maybe bit less mouse sensitivity?

JM-DG says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:19am

Superb graphics.
Love the overall atmosphere and music.
Mouse sensitivity is a bit fast for my liking.

uberscientist says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:37am

I really liked this game, I actually planned on doing a floating island connection game with this aesthetic when I heard the theme!https://twitter.com/uberscientist/status/502995224893722624

I made it to the top of the tree but nothing happened, but I got some screenshots: https://imgur.com/a/N8KfF

quade81 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:15am

@uberscientist Thank you! Wow your islands even look like mine.

Your screenshots look sweet, and yeah I ran out of time to create a victory condition. I figured most people would give up before they made it to the top anyway. I'm really happy with the amount of people that played it long enough to mention that nothing happens when you get up there lol.

Ossi says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:21am

Building rock bridges is a pretty cool mechanic! Really digging the art style too! I wish I could pick up rocks from a little bit further away because when I'm trying to recover the rocks as I cross I sometimes stand on it by accident and fall to my death! Great job!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:31pm

Cool concept. I included it in part 9 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series :) http://youtu.be/LbmZDYffwi8

Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:11am

The graphics and audios put us in a really nice mood. That's kinda long to go to another platform etc., but that's a nice entry anyway !

Good job :)

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:13am

Did you make the graphics and audio yourself? Because they are very impressive! This game was not easy, but the good ones never are ;) Good work!

Dans17 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:22am

Cool game, nice graphics and audio. It gets a little glitchy when you die with a rock but doesn't really affect gameplay

quade81 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:27am

@nerd burglars Yeah everything was done by me, thank you.

It wasn't supposed to be as hard as it is. It's tough to tell how difficult it will be for a new player when I played around with the mechanics for two days straight lol.

I dug your game too. It's one of my favorite entries this time around.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:18am

Part 9 take two - Now with sound - http://youtu.be/lmQkJ525PNo

quade81 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:26am

@Jupiter_Hadley Thank you! It's awesome to see someone playing my game :)

PapaCheech says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:24am

really good job dude! Loved the graphical style, I would definately play a game like this!

Otrora Games says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:08pm

Lovely and fun. Control can get a little work

DragonInstall says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 5:10pm

Very nice game. A reset button would be nice to have.

Jedi says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 12:06am

Really innovative! Take THAT laws of physics! :P

The player needs more rewards and incentive to keep playing. Popping up the text for the next "world" was nice but it wasn't enough to keep the game from feeling like a chore at times. Just a little musical fanfare on each new world would have gone a long way. And as a gamer, I felt like it was a slap in the face when I made it to the top of the largest tree but there was no acknowledgement from the game that I had done so.

The graphical style worked well with the game and mood, and the music was good too, although for some reason it was really quiet. Maybe because it got pretty repetitive by the end.

Overall, great job! Hard to believe this was a compo game and not a team effort!

liquidminduk says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 12:29pm

very unique take on the theme, nice "bridge" building mechanic
Really liked the polygon visuals, however I've seen so many entries using this now it's getting a little stale (I was actually thinking of going this route, but decided against it! haha)

Music gets a little repetitive after a while, but it was soothing.

Good work!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]