Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Disconnected Worlds

by Pantelis Petsopoulos - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A game about human feelings an- Never mind, it's just a dialog game, but it's the first game I've made and I'm proud of it!
~Pantelis Petsopoulos

If you get the repeating starting dialog bug, try reloading until it works. Sorry for the inconvinience

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#92Humor3.38
#339Theme3.54
#397Audio2.97
#523Mood3.03
#552Graphics3.11
#738Overall3.03
#817Innovation2.81
#970Fun2.54

Comments

Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:03am

Seems interesting but the game repeats the same dialog at the start, I can't start the game :/

Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:20am

Good idea! But I hade some trouble getting into the mood there

Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:34am

@Alexandre Szybiak Damn. I have no idea what happened. Through many hours of playtesting I didn't find any bugs like that.

xrm0 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:24am

The first time the game loaded it happened what Alexandre said, the text was overlapping and repeat the same lines. After reloading it everything was fine.

dickpoelen says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:39am

I got the repeating dialog bug as well :(

Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:56am

Im not able to replicate it guys. Can you tell me if you're spamming space or if your keyboard has any problems? Which browser are you using?

capsizedmoose says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:57am

that was pretty fun :) especially for being someones first game! :D

Makio says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:02pm

You can be proud, its fun and i like the thematic and its visually very artistic ! The different effect on text are also great for the atmosphere, one of my favorites ! Continue like that ! "GOD DAMNIT!!!" haha :D

pjimmy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:04pm

very interesting game, I like how you've worked the theme

DvanderAart says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:10pm

Good effort this one. Not my type of game but i made it to the congratulations screen anyways :)
I like that you actually made a finished concept. I didn't get that far whehe. Also kudo's for having a version of the theme.

BillToWin says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:11pm

I have no clue how you were able to make this using Stencyl. One "bad" choice forced me to restart the game which was unfortunate, imagine a puzzle that resets itself if you make a mistake.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:17pm

Guys, I am truly overwhelmed, I don't know what to say other than thank you. Many lovez! <3 <3

godfire4 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:57pm

I couldnt get past first dialog

xgeovanni says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:56pm

If you press space while a "Game Over" screen is up you can keep getting dialogue.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:24pm

@godfire4 It's a bug I can't fix because I can't replicate on my pc. Try reloading until it works.

@xgeovanni Yeah I wish I would prevent that from happening but I didn't have the time.

cardboard says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:39am

GOD DAMMIT! The graphics and style are nice, and I enjoyed the story/stories.

SnapDragon says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:52am

What's the controls
P.S. I did not rate this game yet. I need to know the controls first.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:28am

@SnapDragon You can see the controls in the first screen. It's wasd or arrow keys to navigate through options and map, and space to talk to someone and skip through dialog.

korigame says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:57am

Well done!! Really engaging game. I got butch to join, the bastard :)

Colapsydo says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:33am

I was surprised the first time I got a Game Over, not really expected. But on the second try, dialogues and connections feel pretty obvious.
I like the different worlds.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:30pm

I liked the visual except for the caracthers, gameplay were good.

stasss says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:07pm

Cool rendition. It was really interesting to investigate! Keep goint on

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:23am

Very nice entry.
Feels and looks good.
Also I like the kinda solitary thing with everyone alone...

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:55pm

Very cute and original. Great submission :)

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 4:56am

It was just the same thing over and over. Too bad it seemed interesting.

Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:34am

@sp0CkEr2 Not all games have to introduce a new mechanic every 20 seconds. Take flappy bird for example: One mechanic, countless of playhours. This game is 3-5 minutes long and has 2 mechanics. If you get bored you just follow the story, I don't get why repetition is a bad thing.. :/

Natrium729 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 3:47pm

The graphics are nice (I like the floating cubes) and the idea too. It would have been great if we knew more about the background of the place and of the characters. But a nice quick game overall.

Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:55pm

@Natrium729 I had written a half-page background for each character, but I was short on time. There are many things I wish I had the time to do.. :(

swich says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 11:45am

Oh man, the yo mamma joke was cut off the screen!

Sep 2, 2014 @ 2:00pm

@swich yeah well you can't have everything :P

camlang says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 11:18am

Nice idea.

torvik88 says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 6:25pm

Nice game you have done, gameplay and characters were very fun.

whalebot says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 9:29pm

The art style of the worlds is pretty cool. I couldn't figure out how to get the grandpa to connect though...

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]