Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Black Box Bandit

by BillToWin - 48 Hour Compo Entry

"You are the Black Box Bandit. You travel through the Interwebs and destroy the black boxes of the Utech corporation's computer systems.

You do so, because Utech's firm grip on modern society is unsettling. You do so, because of Utech's global banning of muffins, your favorite desert, which forced you to the brink of civilized society to satify your muffin cravings.

I am Jack The Muffin Man, the world-renowned human-muffin hybrid and revolutionary. And, you, my friend, are the hammer that will strike at the heart of Utech and bring forth the Muffinpocalypse."

Tips and Tricks:
1) Avoid [red] security drones.
2) Destroy [blue] security drones.
3) Acquire the [yellow] pipe protection device.
4) Reach the pipe to travel to the next Black Box.
5) Move with the Arrow keys.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#290Audio3.18
#378Humor2.63
#456Fun3.15
#654Overall3.11
#657Mood2.87
#817Innovation2.81
#889Graphics2.56
#1069Theme2.29

Comments

Xenolupus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:29am

Super duper fun!

micahcowan says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:34am

Fun! Had a hard time, probably because at first I thought you had to avoid blue AND red. D'oh!

Love the randomized sound effects.

kenrickrilee says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:01am

I really like the sound effects :D

gr33d says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:11am

a bit sluggish in later rounds, but really fun!

allenfreese says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:15am

Fun game. I would recommend showing the movement of the ai, even if very simple movement, so the player can better understand their movement... Otherwise it might give the impression that they are jumping around.

soyliquid says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:20am

Interesting puzzle game. I liked sounds, and feel it looks good.

siat says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:44am

Neat puzzle game. I wasn't sure if the red boxes were moving in a pattern or not, but it was fun!

Kate Kligman says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:49am

This is delightful! Love the retro look and feel. I wanted to move faster than the game seemed to allow, but it's a minor nit. The game is fun.

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:04am

Hi. Love the mood and sounds. Nice one! Would have liked a bigger map to step around. Level generation and difficulty balancing a good idea.

Miziziziz says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:20am

Pretty tough, but enjoyable. Figured out the controls quickly and found it to be pretty fun.

miro662 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:46am

nice game, good idea

icedvariables says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:54am

Very fun game, though quite difficult - got cornered several times!

Kedume Bits says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:29am

I like the game. The concept is nice. The graphics reminds me the look of the games made with PuzzleScript. Nice sounds too.

n42k says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:43am

I quite enjoyed how a simple mechanic was able to make such a difficult game. I'm not sure yet if the red drones have AI but they seem to always jump at me if I jump close to them. The difficulty curve, despite the auto-balancing, seems a bit too steep though.

DarkEngineer says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:54am

Nice game!

FeYbraNt says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:56am

It's a bit tricky and hard to understand at beggining how IA answers, i think that's the esence of this game, try to find it, good job.

mutuware says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:22am

Like a turn-based PacMan

KevRevDev says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:42am

Had a bit of fun playing. I liked the visuals and sounds. But I had a hard time figuring out if the ai moved randomly or had some sort of pattern.

Vallar says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:07pm

Very fun game and I liked the concept and the turn based movement. Was really nice. I liked also that the difference in types of "enemies".

Although some levels (think after 4 or 6) were really hard and I started dying a lot as the red boxes started literally to stalk me. That said, the reset to an easier level is a genius idea. I liked it.

Very well done.

Druid says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:34pm

Lol, childhood restored! :D

Zayron says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:50pm

Nice game I like this!

cudabear says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:07pm

Quite a nifty little puzzle game. I felt it was balanced enough to be challenging but not too difficult up until about level 8. Then it became really hard to progress.

Josh H says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:43pm

Cool little puzzle game. Brought back memories. I personally found the sound/music a little too much. An option to disable them would've been nice.

ittlebit says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:39pm

Nice work, Very simple art, fun sound. Fun little puzzle game!

Fanatrick says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:44pm

Cool entry overall.

vicious_br says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:58pm

Great game.

dhargan says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:32pm

great puzzle game! but I really don't understand the purpose of blue ones. we can destroy them, they can't destroy us, destroying them or not destroying them provides nothing. why these guys even exist? I feel sorry for them :P

Jamcount says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:59pm

Nice game, i had a fun time.

43iscoding says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:12pm

I loved the random sounds when enemies move :)

hypp says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:29pm

Fun, but I found it quite hard!

Alexander says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:25pm

Very cool, the sounds and feel of it are really good!

Jod says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:50pm

Loved it! It really caputered the Commodor-64 vibe (or earlier?) for me. The sounds, especially with a full screen of nodes is like a retro-waterfall, I totally loved just going back and forth and listening to it.

The humour of hte backstory adds a lot. Love it! Quite difficult sometimes, old-school. I like it :).

Also, did you know that red nodes turn into blue nodes sometimes? Is that by design?

shimage says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:03pm

I like this. The sound of clearing a stage is very addictive.

c023-dev says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:32pm

Fun to play and watch the moves. Grafix are fair enough too (although using unity for that may be a bit of an overkill =) And I guess the theme is that the rooms are connected. Congratulations on getting it done in time!

Ariake81 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:44pm

great playability and nice concept, good work!

esayitch says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:58pm

Sweet little turn-based pac-man! Liked it :)

BillToWin says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:58pm

thanks for the kind words and feedback everyone! It means a lot to me.

@allenfreese: That's a great idea. I tried to accomplish this by slowing down the time between each drone's turn but it didn't work as well as I had hoped. Arrows pointing in the direction the drone moved in and located in the square the drone originated from would be 1000x better.

@mrexcessive: I play tested a very little with a bigger map and I felt like it just took longer to finish. I felt the current 7x7 map captured the essence of the game. There is surely a more fun/optimal board size, it's something to look at.

@dhargan: see Jod's answer below.

@Jod: Thanks for checking my game! The different coloring of the enemies/drones was a last minute addition, I'm still unsure whether it was a good idea or not. Drones that are red are situated at an even Manhattan distance from the player, the blue ones at a odd distance. It's more of a status cue rather than an absolute fact because under certain circumstances a drone will not move during a turn (if all its adjacent squares are blocked when its turn comes) and as such the distance between it and the player will change by one, thus changing the distance's parity, and thus changes its color.

cacciatc says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:33pm

Demuffinated! Solid entry.

John Drury says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:02am

Classic puzzle game! the retro sounds and victory transition was great and really put weight to the game!

Pavel says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:18am

Like the idea. Nice game.

Mase says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:08pm

I dig the title screen. The sounds are also very satisfying.

Different level designs (beyond just changing the enemy positions) might be nice.

jshaffer94247 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:02am

Cute but randomness got in the way of my cleverness, and there were a number of times where the red dudes and I hit a Nash equilibrium chasing each other around a block. I need to be able to do something about that. Hmmm.

DragonXVI says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:05pm

Interesting, fairly straightforward. Wasn't fully sure how the drones were moving making difficulty a bit all over the place, but like the idea of the alternating difficulty depending on how you do!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:26am

That was quite a good game. Very simple graphics, which I like, and great game mechanics. Nice job.

Sep 1, 2014 @ 12:34am

Cool little puzzle I included it in part 13 of my Ludum Dare 30 Compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/RYkx3DRuabw

Sep 1, 2014 @ 6:05am

Neat puzzle game! The first level is the most difficult :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]