Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Sneaky Nessie

by barryrowe - Jam Entry

Credits:
Art - Loi LeMix
Programming - Barry Rowe
Music - FoxSynergy (http://opengameart.org/users/foxsynergy)
Built w/ libGDX

You play as the lovable mythical creature, Nessie, trying to secretly make your way out of the lake, and through the environment. You're risking exposure because you feel drawn to the other side of the town by an unknown force. Use your prehistoric agility, hiding skills, and special disguises to avoid being seen on your journey.

HINT: When in trouble seek green cover.

Controls:
Move - AWSD or Arrows
SHIFT - hold to run
SPACE - Toggle Disguise
SPACE when caught - restart

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness84%
#21Humor(Jam)4.07
#151Fun(Jam)3.47
#176Graphics(Jam)3.91
#222Audio(Jam)3.40
#263Overall(Jam)3.40
#266Mood(Jam)3.31
#448Innovation(Jam)2.93
#645Theme(Jam)2.36

Comments

Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:51am

The concept is hillarious. The artwork is fantastically cute and well-made. I love the humor of this game. This is a seriously great achievement in a weekend, great job!

Vidd says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:43pm

Adorable! Novel idea and the art suits it perfectly. Well done.

blindfox says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:44pm

This game is freaking adorable.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:48pm

Great visuals and sounds, but web version is so slow((

Cosrnos says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:19am

The art was adorable and I loved the disguise! Good job!

Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:24am

Concept is great and the game is fun. Nice job!
~funkeh

oxysoft says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:47am

That was way too funny

handkor says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:48am

The disguise is priceless. This game is very cute.

erdnuss says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:18pm

Really cute graphics and fun gameplay. One of the best games I have played so far!

yodamaster says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:11pm

Cute!

Chaoslab says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:29pm

Very cute! :-)

disease says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:34pm

Five stars for the graphics for sure! Wasn't so sure how this related to the theme though.

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:24am

I dont know where is the related theme but mechanics and graphics are really funny! Nice work dude! 5 Stars to humor!

Stending says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:26am

Really cute! Nice job! :)

hogtrick says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:30am

Lovedthe animation. Gameplay need refine. Idea was really goodthough.

hbocao says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:32am

Loved the Nessie face expressions! Nice how the ending added to the theme.

nonetheless says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:02pm

Great entry, music is awesome and Nessie is so lovable. Great job :)

lightsoda says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:41pm

Funny disguise :)

Wertle says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:36pm

Super cute! I immediately experimented to see what the disguise did and lost it, which was kinda sucky since it's a long time before you get a second one. I wish the humans had some kind of tell for when they are about to turn, like maybe a pause or an animation, or a sound, or whatever, since the punishment for getting caught is so severe it might help encourage people to get at it if they feel more in control and more like getting caught was their own fault instead of just getting unlucky. Overall very cute, well done!

Kyoutashan says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:41am

The nessie is a master ninja!
Nice job though for coming up with this idea

fcpfoof says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:49pm

Very nice game ^^! Quite difficult, but the gfx are especially great!

Chaoseiro says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:10pm

Nice art style and nice music :P
Couldn't get to the other side of the city :/

sanjayksingh says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 12:38am

Nessie is adorable:) I particularly liked the disguise!

Ogniok says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 1:47pm

Nessie is real! I knew that! When I lose, that creature looks so sad that I feel bad.

RawboSaurX says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 6:52pm

Very fun little game. I like the disguises and the ending in particular. Hoping to see a finished game with more levels in the future!

Ted Brown says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 9:59pm

What, you mean the nose and mustache routine doesn't work in Scotland no more? :D Cute game! Perfectly done stealth mechanic with a really cute and unique theme.

frogcheese says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 5:56pm

Cute, funny and clever! I don't know what manner of mind takes "Connected Worlds" and comes up with sending Nessie on a stroll through Scotland in search of a UFO, but I'm not complaining. One of the funnier entries I've seen, good job.

Snicklodocus says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 2:42am

Really cute! Loved the art. The stealth mechanic worked well too. Great job.

mrspeaker says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 4:59pm

Hey, did the web version stop working? I couldn't get it to run in Firefox or Chrome (seems to be complaining about some 404s)

barryrowe says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 6:25pm

@mrspeaker It should still be running normally. We have seen some machines have a hard time with the web version due to the stress of WebGL and an inefficient shader on our part. The experience is definitely much better with the desktop versions.

Teesquared says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 1:43am

Challenging and great graphics although it seemed a little dark. I couldn't get past the 3 lights near the lake but I kept trying. Good job.

Sascha says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 12:42pm

Very cute! :)

Sep 14, 2014 @ 7:04pm

For some reason it wouldnt really run on my pc but it looks pretty cute! I included it in part 24 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series, if you’d like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/3RN80xyak-c

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]