Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Where Are Your Friends Tonight

by Mike Mezhenin - Jam Entry

A game about friends and distances.

OK, I kind of ran out of time and didn't write much of the dialogue, so this is a pretty vague game. The basic idea was to show how you lose common interests and the only thing you can talk with your old friends is past times.

Well, at least I like the characters and how they get older. I'll maybe try to make a post-compo version after I get some sleep.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness86%
#168Innovation(Jam)3.46
#284Theme(Jam)3.38
#305Mood(Jam)3.23
#308Graphics(Jam)3.56
#371Humor(Jam)2.44
#515Overall(Jam)3.02
#663Audio(Jam)1.40
#670Fun(Jam)2.45

Comments

Noah Ratcliff says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:39am

Wow, this one hit pretty close to home. Great job. I didn't expect to get so attached to these people.

Josh Riley says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:40am

Pretty cool idea, wish you had time to get everything you wanted in, but I really like where it's headed. I recently had an experience running into friends from the past, and this is pretty spot on.

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:47pm

Hey there. That is a pretty honest, yet disturbing game. It's tough to stay connected, but also tough to make new close friends as you get older. I wanted to have more chat options...!

Snoother says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:45pm

Thank you for this. I felt I could really relate to this as I'm now moving on in life, finding out that I'm no longer tethered to certain friends as I once was; they are quickly becoming 'old friends', people who you meet with only to indulge in nostalgia.

The game could do with some fleshing out, as you admit, but I did find the people believable and was able to connect with them. And the premise is of course very good.

One bug, I think : clicking the 'farewell' button doesn't make you leave the chat if it's the first option you click.

ehtd says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:08pm

It was an interesting experience, but the dialogs were too simple. It is nice seeing them age

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:10pm

Nice graphics! Great job!

Lokarunith says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:16pm

Ooh... This fame hits as a rock! It delivers a harsh message, I feel like saying hi to some friend..

KhaoTom says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:32am

Nice concept, could see this being expanded upon for sure.

KyleDAudio says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:54pm

I really like the mood. The first time someone removed me from their friends list was quite a shock just as it would be in real life. It's quite moving!

I read your submission notes too and I must say I also really like the premise of your game. It's a depressing but yet natural event we all recurringly go through.

The dialogue is rather lacking after you talk to about 5 people though. Just as a thought - a couple other things I think would be good would be to call them up and hear somebody else on the phone explaining to you that your friend has passed away or is in hopsital. I've had people I knew from school who have been murdered and people whose quality of life is just plummeting - even just from young ages and its really hard-hitting.

But yeah, great idea! :)

KyleDAudio says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:55pm

I really like the mood. The first time someone removed me from their friends list was quite a shock just as it would be in real life. It's quite moving!

I read your submission notes too and I must say I also really like the premise of your game. It's a depressing but yet natural event we all recurringly go through.

The dialogue is rather lacking after you talk to about 5 people though. Just as a thought - a couple other things I think would be good would be to call them up and hear somebody else on the phone explaining to you that your friend has passed away or is in hopsital. I've had people I knew from school who have been murdered and people whose quality of life is just plummeting - even from a fairly young age - and its really hard-hitting.

But yeah, great idea! :)

simplesmiler says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:28pm

Bravo. You left me speechless.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:30am

I didn't expect myself to get too affected by anything, but the part where I was desperately talking about the same party everyone threw up at to my increasingly disaffected and balding school friends kind of got to me. I thought I might be able to hold onto my last friend for a while, but it wasn't long before he was gone, too, and I was kind of sitting there staring at a screen of blacked-out faces.

It was depressing how the way the characters looked on the menu remained the same, even as every time we caught up they had clearly gotten much older and moved on. I didn't feel like we could "do nothing but reminisce"... it seemed more like the character I was playing was trapped in the past, decked out with albums no one cared about anymore and concerns about the weather.

Love the Scott Pilgrim-style art. Thank you for the game!

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:14am

Sad. :) Love the character designs, reminds me of Scott Pilgrim. Very nice take on the theme. Good job :)

Pierrec says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 2:14pm

Haha! Looks like we made pretty similar games! I love your graphics and seeing characters getting old was a nice unexpected touch. I had a bug in the end because I only had Marta lee left, but she was offline, and Clara came back, but I couldn't click on her.
I wish there were more dialogues but already fell bad for losing my friends...But hey, I still have got Marta Lee, she's the best!

Sunflower says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 6:51pm

Hm. Hm. To be honest, I didn't feel *that* affected, but it might have something to do with sparse dialogue choices and some parts repeating. Or perhaps I didn't really get a chance to relate? Or maybe I'd like to think I can keep my friends? *shrugs*
Another matter altogether there may be multiple reasons for being removed from friends' list. Eek! o.o'

(now to see the bill for these 2-years long talks...)

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 4:59am

Nobody had cookies at work :( And then kids were back from school :O And finally most people removed me from their friend list or went offline! This game was very sad, even disturbing, because it reminds us about how things used to be and are not anymore. Would like to see more and play more games like yours. Maybe an extended version? Keep up the good work!

Raphy says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 12:54pm

Interesting concept! But it didn't have some ending or did I fell into a glitch?

But it's an interesting idea and makes me kindda nostalgic!

NicePenguins says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 3:48pm

The graphics "Scott Pilgrim" were cool. Like your interpretation of the theme, but the ellipsis of two year were maybe a little two much. Maybe something like "You can call only the guys who are connected and when it's done you can pass the next two years to recall them" will work better.
Ahh your game give me a lot of ideas :D
I'll look forward for your next games !

Sep 6, 2014 @ 1:26pm

Really liked the art and the idea behind it, just wish there was more dialogue. Great concept though and looking forward to the post-compo version.

AlexDJones says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 5:17pm

I think the concept you tried to tackle was quite a large one to try and turn into a game in 3 days, but you did an admirable job! I really liked the illustrations, and the way that the characters change over time is both subtle and believable. As a few other people have said, the game is really good at putting relationships across, and as I began to lose friends I felt gutted. Interesting entry, well done!

OrangeeZ says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 2:30pm

Marta is my only friend for 120 years.

bluemaroo3 says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 3:03pm

Great game. Would have liked the dialogue to have been a little more unique to each individual as dialogue wise it was pretty hard to distinguish the characters. Really loved the concept and thought the art was really good too. I had a bit of a glitch where I occasionally had two conversations going at once :/ Look forward to playing a post comp version :)

Moosefly says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 4:24pm

Like others have mentioned, more varied dialogue would've been cool, but the time limit is indeed pretty harsh. Loved the age progression, this really hit home for me too.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

torvik88 says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 6:26pm

Holy crap the game was unlivable. It is a pity that you didn't have time to make more dialog but damn...the game was spot on! Very nice work.

Hexadecima1 says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 11:47pm

Really neat as a proof of concept; I think it achieved the goal you had for it. Everyone saying the same thing and radomly inserting "whatever" into their dialouge was actually kind of funny.

Frankus says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 9:20pm

Nice game overall. It recalls the harshness of reality.It's sad that in the end, everyone blocks you out :(. Awesome game!

Catmoo says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 7:13pm

Wow that was harsh, I was saddened when people started removing me as a friend :(

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]