Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Going Up?

by abayb - Jam Entry

Created by A-Bomb and Ya Bois! In "Going Up?", you play as an elevator boy, carrying people from floor to floor. You have the privilage of connecting the worlds of the rich and the poor!
Controls:
Up and Down arrow keys to move the elevator.

Known Bugs:
You can travel below the basement. All that's down there is a crash though.

Sometimes, passengers want to go to the floor they where at, and get stuck in the elevator.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#189Innovation(Jam)3.43
#228Mood(Jam)3.37
#260Audio(Jam)3.33
#324Humor(Jam)2.53
#341Graphics(Jam)3.48
#415Theme(Jam)3.09
#478Overall(Jam)3.08
#677Fun(Jam)2.43
#1364Coolness46%

Comments

the says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:45am

nice to see someone else who use pygame

laremere says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:43pm

An original take on the theme and nice graphics. However once a bunch of people got into the elevator they blended together and you couldn't see them or the number they're requesting very well.

pinion says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:39pm

Liked the sense of the lift motion as you tried to stop on a floor and got the wrong one.

malf says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:40pm

Cute graphics

Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:40pm

This was a fun idea. I liked the way the lift gathers momentum, so you have to overshoot slightly.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:22am

Great design approach within a social context.

LesInk says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:17pm

Neat concept. Would have liked to see a bit more of an objective or some type of feedback of customers getting upset or mad. Visually nice effect, but I did find it hard to see who I had in there. With a bit more work, I could see this turning into a solid game.

Ted Brown says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:32am

The concept of "floors" as "worlds" is a compelling one, especially in the hands of a humble elevator operator. I think it's fair to say that the idea outshone the execution, but still... what a great f#$^#@$^g idea!

Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:34pm

I really liked the concept, the theme take and the mood of this game. I also think you can improve it a lot. Sometimes people didn't get out of the elevator in his floor or demanded to go to the floor they were standing. Perhaps you could give more interaction between people inside the elevator, and fixing rules like limiting how many people can go simultaneously and the need to stop if there is someone outside the floor you are crossing. Losing lives if people wait too much inside or outside of the elevator and show a button system that indicates the floors that have people waiting to enter the elevator.

elefantopia says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 6:00pm

Surprisingly fun to play as the elevator boy. When there are more than 1 passenger, the floor they want is obstructed. Nice elevator music.

kirbytails7 says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 6:44am

Oddly compelling. The controls are a bit finicky (need to overshoot going up), and there's a bug where people will want to go to the floor they came from and never get off. It's still pretty fun, though.

Njord says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 7:38am

Funny idea ! Controlling the elevator is a bit dodgy however, it's a bit frustrating sometimes ! But I really like the concept.

cstudios says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 8:08am

I do like the graphics, also the music. However i am missing a failure factor, and it would be nice, if the suit people would hate to ride with hobos.

RodRoy1 says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 10:00am

Needs a bit more to it, right now its just busy work for not much in the way of reward.

dunin says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 10:47am

Nice idea, and original for the theme.
Here you have an engine (with some bugs but easy to fix I think...). Add some goals or limitations and you have a cool little game...

Code White says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 10:50am

Lovely music, awesome graphics and a pretty cool concept.

Kojan says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 11:43am

Really original game concept ! As you mentionned there are sadly some bugs, so I can't play the game for too long.
However the music, graphics and mood are great !

Sheepolution says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 12:41pm

Not really challenging. Basically just going up and down. Some people didn't get off the right floor. Might be a bug.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]