Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Perplexing Wormholes

by PeculiarCarrot - 48 Hour Compo Entry

***Apparently, Chrome thinks my game is malicious for some reason when you download it. I assure you it's not (Just ask the hours of my life I spent making this that are gone forever), Chrome just needs to stop being stupid. If you REALLY still want to download it, just go into your downloads (Ctrl+J) and click Recover Malicious File, then click Hurt me plenty.

Perplexing Wormholes is a puzzle-type game where you teleport between two different worlds(that look the same :3) via wormholes. There are only three levels, because creating levels takes a buttload of precious time. Total play time is about 5-10 minutes, maybe more if you can't understand my pixel art. (No help screen, sorry! :c ) The .zip file includes a .txt that tells you the controls and how the game works.

I had even less time than most people because being a minor, my parents were pretty strict about my computer usage. It's disappointing, because I didn't get to add all of the neat effects and polish that I love to add.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#407Audio2.95
#575Overall3.19
#682Fun2.90
#704Theme3.05
#766Mood2.75
#783Graphics2.75
#1005Innovation2.47
#1626Coolness37%

Comments

diamondgfx says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:03am

Couldn't get this to run in OS X.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:11am

Thanks for letting me know. I only have Windows systems. :/ What exactly prevented it from running?

clofresh says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:04am

I like the Gauntletly feel. Worked for me on OSX btw. Just need to right click -> open on the jar file.

CogentInvalid says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:05am

The movement was surprisingly smooth for a top-down game. The collision detection was a bit off, but it didn't affect gameplay at all (except for one time when I somehow managed to walk off the map and die). In the end, I think the fluidity of movement (and comfortable movement speed) really helped the game keep from being too tedious.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:52am

@clofresh - Thanks for letting me know! :D
@CogentInvalid - Thanks for the comment! I was definitely having trouble with the collisions. :P The movement was originally about half as slow, and then I realized 'Wow, this is way too slow'. :P

Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:56pm

I kinda was perplexed I included it in part 3 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series :) http://youtu.be/WU8AB6IzBac

StrideWide says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:31pm

The puzzles where a bit simple, but I liked it. It looked like it was about to crash for a few seconds, but pulled through.

Nisshoku says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:13pm

this was a really fun game to play! the warping between spaces as connected worlds works nice as gameplay element. I died before i even hit the white line don't know if it's a bug or not. Anyway it's a very enjoyable entry

Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:55pm

While the items functions are alright and clear, it is indeed a perplexing place. Why are there so many anvils, scissors and flutes lying around? :P

Toubib says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:56am

it's a complete game, graphics are good, audio is good, gameplay is good, the learning curve is good too. Finally the only thing i didn't like was the controllers, w/a/s/d + mouse was weird.

Lvyn says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:15am

Overall nice game, I find it a bit annoying to have only one item equipped but the game is good ;)

Endurion says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 7:02pm

Sorry, no Java.

ra4king says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 12:53am

Not bad, very good game idea and execution! The collision detection with the walls is a little jumpy, and the wormhole's collision bounds are too large. Nice job overall.

TKia_ says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 4:29am

Catchy music, cool and well-done gameplay. I think this would be really nice with some more polish; you could work it into a real, full-fledged game!

Sep 7, 2014 @ 12:02pm

Simple but fun game. I like how you make door puzzles using different objects to open those doors. Music is ok and graphics too. Well done!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]