Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

A Hyperlink Between Worlds

by unprompted - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Controls: Arrows + Z (interact) + R (restart room)

Something happened, and only you can do the thing. Are you up to the challenge? Please hurry. I need to check my messages.

This is my second Ludum Dare and my second time using only javascript and WebGL. This was primarily (or perhaps only) tested in Google Chrome. All art was made with the GIMP, and all sounds were made by me, my ukulele, or tapping on my desk and recorded with Audacity. I was really in it to challenge myself. 48 hours is enough time to create a complete adventure, right? RIGHT?!?

This takes about ten minutes to play through when you know what you are doing. I will try to record a play-through within a few days to help people out who are getting stuck.

Hint/spoiler: If you're stuck at the gate, try to find something from the other world that can help you.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness65%
#232Humor2.93
#626Audio2.59
#744Theme2.97
#755Mood2.76
#870Fun2.68
#924Overall2.82
#953Innovation2.58
#1009Graphics2.34

Comments

Nnnnneeeedddd says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:36am

the yellow wire just ran into a wall.. What am i supposed to do??

unprompted says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:45am

It will come out in the next room. Are you stuck at the gate? You probably need to do something about those rats.

micahcowan says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:05am

I stuck with it. Good game, sound effects were awesome (what is that, ukelele?). Accidentally walking offscreen and erasing the yellow line is really, really frustrating though!

Somehow felt like maybe I hadn't beat the game when I think I had (went back to original user, who asked for privacy ha). Could use a closing screen or something.

Great game! Loved it.

unnamed1334 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:07am

The controls felt clunky especially around boulder parts. I did manage to beat the game however it felt like a lot of clicking the "z" key without not much thought behind it.

Scott Baker says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:09am

Any game where you have to pick up cats to move them out of the way is a good game. I mean, how many times do I have to do that every day? Nice game, I had fun.

Lacaranian says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:47am

This one's great! I'm glad I saw it through to the end (at least, I think it was the end). Just don't bomb the cats.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:43pm

Great job! Impressive considering the constraints.
I found the controls a bit imprecise and the graphics could be better, otherwise, great job!

imdigitaljim says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:49pm

I like the NES Zelda reference! Interesting and entertaining game!

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:10pm

Hey there. Strange game... Broken cable leading to mice room. Cat obstructed maze. Too much Tom and Jerry as a child ?? Good job overall!

psychonull says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:42pm

Variety of elements in this game made me keep playing! Good job.
SPOILERS: Got stuck after fixing the cable (reading the comments now hint me to do something about the gate).

EndingChaos says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:13am

Haha this was really fun! It feels really oldschool!

Posva says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:33pm

It is actually very good. I'm missing more sounds but aside from that it's funny and ejoyable. I also appreciated the walktrough xD

jonask says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 5:23pm

This is quite cool :)

puppymythril says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 5:27pm

Personally, I didn't enjoy it. I felt the game boiled down to pressing Z at the yellow line and chasing it around, with one, maybe two puzzles in the way. Controls felt a bit clunky at times too.

Rage Paint says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 6:28pm

The people freaking out about their internet made me laugh... its like my every day life at work.

Rustam says ...
Apr 27, 2017 @ 10:07am

Coupon Code can be found at the bottom of the About Us section of the MyWords for iPad application by clicking on the 'V' icon. http://fastdownloadtopfiles.ru StayLinked supports voice enablement of existing applications with no changes to the host-based application for such applications as voice picking.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]