Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Ctrl-I

by mihaivdev - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A bit of a lazy entry, but wasn't amazingly happy with the theme :(

My entry is Ctrl-I, a brick breaking game in which the two worlds are represented by the two sides of the screen, the Dark World (left) and the Light World (right, upside down) through which your ball and the paddle (the connecting elements) can travel freely.

You have 3 lives, displayed as bars inside the paddle and 3 levels to play. Highscores are saved on your computer.

I made it in Construct 2 Personal Edition in about 10 hours.

Controls:

- Mouse movements control the paddle

- Left Click to start/launch ball

Notes for future:
If I decide to continue this (depends on feedback) I'm thinking it would be nicer if destroying a brick on the left side, destroys the same brick on the right side. Would make levels a bit faster to go through without sacrificing difficulty. The only reason I haven't already done it like that is that I'm still learning Construct 2 and ran out of time.

Would most likely add some music, power-ups and a level editor as well.

Enjoy.

EDIT: Just added standalone versions for Windows (tested) and Mac (untested, don't have access to Mac, sorry) since a few have said that the web version didn't work for them.

If you want to use the Web version though, try it in Chrome, works best there.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#271Fun3.41
#385Theme3.47
#414Innovation3.35
#666Overall3.10
#921Audio1.81
#1112Graphics2.12
#1730Coolness33%

Comments

tbamberg says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:57pm

Fun twist on the typical block breakers. The sound was pretty jarring :(

TrickFishPie says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:59pm

The bricks don't show up for me...on safari

rooter4 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:01pm

Cool twist on a classic game. I somehow managed to get the ball stuck bouncing perfectly horizontal. I suck at games.

mihaivdev says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:11pm

@rooter4: That should've been fixed, just when I submitted last night I've noticed that can happen and added a very tiny amount of gravity so maybe after about 3 bounces or so, it should have moved out.

@tbamberg: exactly what my brother said :P, it is a bit annoying, wanted to make it generate minimalistic music when hitting anything but ran out of time

@TrickFishPie: Can you try any other browser? It's HTML5 WebGl, not sure how well that works in Safari :(

teoacosta says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:50pm

Took me a minute to realize the paddle was mirrored but once I figured that out I had a lot of fun.

havana24 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:10am

Clever idea and fun! Congrats!

Shide says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:23am

Fun to plau and sometimes pretty difficult(in a good way), but the noise is so annoying

shashwat says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:30pm

Didn't work in FF for me. Worked in Chrome though, nice game!

miwuc says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:31pm

This is not working for me either :/ I'm on a Mac (10.9.4), I've tried Firefox and Chrome, and in both cases I can only see the paddles. No bricks, no ball, no nothing. There's no error in the js console either.
It's a shame, it looks like a really fun game.

Tanser says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:33pm

Lots of fun, i like how you took a classic game and changed it! :) The sounds were a bit too loud tho :)

Homletmoo says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:39pm

Great idea! I would suggest adding small barriers at the base and top where the screens meet, so the ball can't pass across under the paddle; that caught me out a couple of times.

Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:22am

Nice ideia and very well implemented,the sound could be improved tho, well done!!

mihaivdev says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:09am

@Everyone who can't play it: I'll just add a Windows version of it now. I'm guessing that's allowed, right?
@Everyone who played it: Thank you for the feedback.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]