Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

of Light and Dark

by MaddeStudios - 48 Hour Compo Entry

----The Game----
By: Michael McFarlane, @MaddeMichael
Made Using:
-Code: GameMaker Studio
-Graphics: MSPaint
-Sound: BFXR, My Face, My Desk.

----MAIN OBJECTIVE----

Get to the ladder at the end of the level by using torches, flicking levers, and entering another dimension.

----DEFAULT CONTROLS----

--- IN GAME ---
Movement: WASD
Interect: Space
Movement Modifier (Stand Still): Shift
Pause: P
--- MENU ---
Up: Up
Down: Down
Confirm: Enter
Back: Escape
---ALL CONTROLS CAN BE CUSTOMIZED IN GAME---

---OTHER NOTES---
Sadly, this is short, due to my inability to desing levels under presure, but hopefully it will be fun enough. It includes a few simple puzzles which should kep you busy.
All the controls listed are necessary to complete the game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#76Mood3.75
#163Graphics3.82
#254Overall3.53
#301Theme3.59
#314Audio3.13
#355Fun3.28
#524Innovation3.19
#728Humor2.10

Comments

siat says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:53pm

Neat mechanic, I like that you don't reveal the world switching at the beginning. I got kind of stuck in the octopus-looking room, I wasn't sure if I was dying or teleporting or what.

MaddeStudios says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:00pm

It was probably related to getting too close to light, a failure on my part for not explaining that. Nor did I remeber to state that the interaction key reverts you back to normal mode. I should probably fix that.

Jaenis says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:06pm

Really cool game! Liked the puzzles, graphics and mood a lot :) great work!

royvanrijn says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:34pm

I got stuck with the keys at first, but later on I managed to play a bit further, well done!

Ofursnati says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:35pm

It has great mood. I like the dark side a lot. GJ.

teoacosta says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:36pm

I wish the circle of light was a little bigger. But I enjoyed the mechanic of switching to light and dark. Was fun!

renatopp says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:42pm

I found a bug in the 3º level (I think), will go down and pass through the wall and can't come back to the level! It is possible to pass the octopus-looking room (cited above)?

The mood of the game is good, and the music fitted well

WesleyJohnson says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:00pm

I really, really liked this. I think the graphics are really well done, the audio is decent and the mechanic is solid. I enjoyed it and wouldn't mind seeing this fleshed out with more levels, etc. Good job!

BubbleChien says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:02pm

Nice ambiance and graphics, like the mood.

MaddeStudios says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:15pm

Thanks for the feedback guys!
@renatopp I'm going to look into this bug.
The octopus level is possible, you just have to flick the levers in the right oder. Anyone want a cheat sheet?

MaddeStudios says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:19pm

@renatopp I found the issue, I hadn't placed a solid cell in one level. Confirmed and to be fixed.

Kyle Mac says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:24pm

The graphics weren't working for me with the GameJolt link, but it worked fine in the other browser.

MaddeStudios says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:36pm

@Kyle Mac: I think sometimes there are cache issues on some websites, as some of my previous games graphics have been temporaily messed up in HTML5 :(. Glad it worked in the end, though.

MaddeStudios says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:38pm

*Temporarily. No edit button.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:11pm

really nice looking graphics. i mean a good style.
too bad i personally didn't get the goal in the game!

but still nice work tho!

Posva says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:34pm

The graphics and the music are so good... I can't believe you did it all in 48 hours xD
Nice mechanics, it took me a while to unserstand that light killed your dark self ^^
Honestly, very good job

DvanderAart says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:35pm

The Gamejolt version has issues mate/. I tried the other to make sure and that version does work. So yeah the gamejolt version does not load correctly for me and has buggy graphics. And also, either version keeps saying the game is paused while i can play it just fine.

Now for the actual opinion. Good graphics, solid concept, and i like the atmosphere or mood of the game a lot. The repetative background music i could do without but it does not prevent me from playing again. That is the only negative thing i got though. Overall i will give a good rating. *nods*

MaddeStudios says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:25pm

Thanks for the great feedback! I'm glad you like it. Anyway, I'm gonna look int o this gamejolt malarky, and see if I can reupload it and get it working again.

MaddeStudios says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:37pm

Fixed the graphics. a recompile was all that was necessary!

DvanderAart says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:46pm

Yups, confirmed it works now.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:34pm

I think increasing the size of the light just slightly would have helped a lot (one of the levels was frustrating because of that). Very nice mood and the music sounds good (a little repetitive, but that's not unexpected w/ 48 hours). The sound effects are good as well. Once I figured out what was going on, I liked that the "dark" guy disappeared when the light hit. Overall, very well done.

Naytron says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:35pm

Had one instance when light didn't kill my shadow self and managed to walk off the screen in a couple of locations, but mostly pretty solid. Managed to get to the end? Good job.

JALgames says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:52pm

Very nice game, I really like the soundtrack. Btw, I fixed my game, you can try it again and it should run fine

KunoNoOni says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:24am

Really liked the mechanic and the way the piano set the mood.

I did find a but though. On the level in your main screenshot above, I was on the symbol and pressed the space bar. Used the dark guy to flip the switch and the white guy was stuck running in place to the left. I restarted the game and was brought back to this level, ran onto the symbol and used the dark guy to flip the switch again this time the white guy wasn't stuck running in place. so I ran towards the left edge and sure enough I got stuck again.

Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:30am

Nice light system! I got a bug in a level where I flipped a switch in the dark world and after sending me back to the light world I got stuck always going left as if the key was hold down :/

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]