Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Ghostnet

by Lacaranian - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You're a hacker sitting peacefully at your desk, but then you are dead. So now you're a ghost. Cross over from the other side to hack the world!

Features:
- You are a ghost
- Spooky scary soundtrack
- Sunglasses
- 550w PSu, I5-3570k CPU, 1tb 7200rpm sata3 3.5h HDD, 8GB RAM
- Room and board
- 1337 hax$
- What more do you want!?

How to play:

Haunting: WASD, E to interact

Hacking: Click on traces while selecting the script of the same color to kill them. Don't let traces go over the load limit, or you'll fail the wave!

Made using Construct 2, Audacity, sfxr, msPaint, notepad++, and GIMP.

Note: After repeated queries, YES, there are endings to the game, and it just takes time to reach them is all. You have to really sit down and give it a while if you want to get there though!

Note 2: On further examination, I realized some people aren't getting the music. Which is like super important for the game. Some browsers don't support HTML5/javascript audio, and those that do have to be able to play either oggs or aac/m4a formats. Live and learn, I guess.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#47Humor3.70
#60Audio3.74
#331Mood3.26
#546Innovation3.17
#555Overall3.21
#657Graphics2.95
#699Fun2.88
#870Theme2.74

Comments

BlueSama says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 8:09am

Mind Blowing

DrCicero says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 11:36am

The link is missing?

DupeMaster says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 2:46pm

wait where's the link? i wanna play it!

Lacaranian says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 9:10pm

Ah, sorry- here it is.

Miziziziz says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 9:48pm

took me a while to figure out I had to press enter when in front of the computer; was clicking all over.
it looks cool, the computer screen is nice.
I couldn't figure out was I was supposed to do though. I clicked on yellow dots, then switched to blue and clicked blue dots, but nothing ever really seemed to happen beyond that

Lacaranian says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 10:37pm

Thanks for playing. There is definitely nothing more to the game. ;)

kenrickrilee says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:39am

Reminds me of "Windows Really Good" and other silly Flash animations from a decade ago :D

MJamesShort says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:41am

5/5 Incredible

varun says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:42am

Interesting narrative - could use some more instruction on the hacking.

BloodJohn says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:45am

Interesting intro: dialog adn graphics. Really nice.
But unclear "trace game". :(

rlangewi says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:55am

Pretty cool concept and style man, the music was perfect. I was confused as to if I had any control in the hacking section, not sure if there was any gameplay past that point. The only suggestion I thought of was to maybe have the full dialogue message appear first when a button is pressed and then skip it if it is pressed again, rather than having it skip right away. I found myself naturally wanting to press a button to see the whole text so I could read it faster than the typing speed. Great job on this though!

Graydom says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:26am

Someone is tracing me from the middle of the ocean. Sounds Great!
Great Game

Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:28pm

I HAVE NO IDEA WHAT'S HAPPENING!

Cool game - love the music :)

Troy Atkinson says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:19am

I didn't really understand it, but I think that's because it's 3am here in England. The art is simple but really effective, the sound is great and humor is a 5/5! Great work!

TomTheG says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:23am

Ah, now that I know nothing was supposed to happen, I like it even more in a meta way. Nice piano music.

Lacaranian says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:40am

Well, I mean, there is an ending. It takes some time to reach though.

idovingx says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:45am

Enjoyed this.. Especially liked the little intro bit. Wave 1 just kept going and going though. Is there a way to beat it? (and, nice hackers poster)

Super Hamster says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:29am

Interesting game! Never seen a game like this

GAFBlizzard says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:33am

Nice piano improv! The clicking, especially combined with tiny squares (and not knowing whether I was doing the right thing by clicking on them) got frustrating though.

C_Walden says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:54am

Hi! I played all the way through. That was some great music! I especially liked the guitar tune. It was easy to just zen out and before I knew it I was finished. It's good for what it is; if it were a bigger game, it would definitely need something else to do. But I enjoyed my time with your game. Thank you.

DragonXVI says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:57pm

Retrieve arms from bin.

ponk says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:55pm

Funny !

Lacaranian says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:50pm

@DragonXVI - You've already got arms, numbnuts!

someone says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:48pm

That was pretty cool. The ghost part and the music were great, but the click on dots forever stage gets a bit tedious. There really needs to be some indication of progress and perhaps some other mechanic there to engage with.

pansapiens says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:33am

Great concept and quite funny. I think the first hacking wave should be easier and shorter, just to introduce the player into how it's done and what is going on. I didn't hear the music (latest Firefox on Windows), which probably added to the confusion (it seemed like that first wave would never end).

Dohan says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:44pm

I liked the haunting part, but in the hacking part, the waves are a bit too long for my taste. By the time I finished the fifth wave, my wrist was aching...

Sunflower says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:30pm

Nope, I'm definitely NOT going to waste my time trying to complete that first wave, even if apparently there is *some* end to it; it was just waaay too long, and the targets were so small. You *really* need to work on game balance, or else FOT coefficient (Fun Over Time) will be decreasing rapidly.

The adventurey, haunting part was moderately fun, though. Also, nice voices in the team screen and circuits in the title screen.

Lacaranian says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:55pm

Yeah... the first wave actually goes on forever if the music doesn't play, if I remember correctly. Big bug to fix post compo for sure.

Sep 1, 2014 @ 12:33am

Interesting game! I included it in part 13 of my Ludum Dare 30 Compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/RYkx3DRuabw

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 4:29pm

Good take on the theme and nice mechanics. Well done!

Scott Baker says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 9:41pm

Weird, great scores on humor.

hyouko says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 12:47am

Made it to wave 2 and almost got carpal tunnel syndrome in the process, I think. Simple and neat! Could do with a wee bit more explanation of what you're supposed to do.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]