Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Gravity: Connected Worlds

by Seraphic Media - Jam Entry

There are 5 different "galaxies" or modes to this game (one which you can unlock)

Keep the planets orbiting while avoiding comets and satellites in this fun and exciting casual game! Choose from several different "galaxies" (modes of playing) and unlock levels once you earn more points. Make sure the planets don't touch or they will explode and watch your time limit on some levels. In some levels, the planets are connected so that you have to move them both at once to avoid space junk. More levels to come so stay tuned!

This game was made for the Ludumdare competition and the theme was "Connected Worlds."

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness81%
#138Audio(Jam)3.60
#281Theme(Jam)3.39
#387Overall(Jam)3.22
#393Innovation(Jam)3.00
#434Graphics(Jam)3.26
#496Mood(Jam)2.88
#530Fun(Jam)2.79
#549Humor(Jam)1.94

Comments

ConciseBit says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:06am

The UI design and the audio are nicely done.
A great game concept with a lot of potential to be expanded!
I really like the fancy comet too :p

Good job!

PapaCheech says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:15am

Loved the music and use of theme. good job!

sharpcoder says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:16am

Nothing like a good clicker game. I could play these types of games forever, and I love the fairly unique way you've implemented the clicker mechanic. Definitely not like cookie clicker, but still just as satisfying! I noticed some of the levels didn't have the +50's falling around. That's half the fun :) as a suggestion, I would consider adding those back in. Nice job!

Josh Riley says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:16am

Love the art and music, and gameplay is unique in both modes. If I had to complain about anything, I wish the control scheme in the comet galaxy was something a little simpler, maybe just left and right arrow keys? But I'm nitpicking, really enjoyed the game(s).

noobay says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:59am

wow I just love the concept, didn't even think about it that way.

fserb says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:00am

interface and audio are amazing and well polished! :)

HuntTheWumpus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:15am

I really liked the explosion animation :) Although keeping planets in orbit requires too much clicking imo. but fun game! And really nice graphcs & audio

kadybat says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:24am

Oh this is fun! I like that there are multiple kinds of games. I'd love to see a touch screen version of this, it kinda reminds me of Eliss Infinity in the best way possible.

Kate Kligman says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:27am

Fun game, I liked the orbital mechanics and concept.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:44am

We made it with touch screens in mind, and are planning to put this on mobile devices soon.

Meganopteryx says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:14am

Beautiful music. Interesting use of the theme. Nice special effects. Wish the click areas had been bigger though.

soyliquid says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:07am

Beautiful particle and good BGM.
Maybe more fun if comets comes more randomized direction or maneuver.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:24am

Music worked really well and could see this working on mobile. Nice use of the theme and the variety was also a great touch.

Snuux says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:32am

Like it. Music is fantastic! Thanks for game!

nonetheless says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:45am

That's a lot of clicking... but pretty easy in general

Druid says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:02pm

Nice idea! But controls are little stiff.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:35pm

The controls felt very sharp, but I liked the idea of the game, it reminded me of a movie where there a twin planets, don't remenber the name now though.

ninjascript says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:51pm

Great graphics and music. That's a lot of clicking!

ittlebit says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:01pm

Nice Art and Music. Game play does beg for expansion. Bonus Points for 2 modes!

arttut02 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:53pm

Very nice music and suited the game really well. Great graphics. Only minus is that my index finger is jammed for clicking those planets!

Overall... good job!

Snicklodocus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:11pm

Wonderful music. It's impressive that you basically created two games here. I would say the difficulty in comet mode should increase faster and the click "radius" could be larger. I enjoyed it!

Ossi says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:17pm

Lots of clicking! Great graphics, good UI, and a great use of the theme, well done!

FXCesinha says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:36pm

Good Job!

arhpositive says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:41pm

All game modes are great fun. :) Gotta say the Comet mode should increase in speed and difficulty over the time and should give more surprising events to the player aswell, but that'll come in time as it's obvious that you're planning to develop this further.

Keep up the good work!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:04pm

Great use of the theme! The graphics and audio are good and work together nicely to create a relaxing atmosphere. Only thing I didn't like were the controls - I'm sure they would be good on a touch screen, but they are a bit awkward with a mouse (second mode especially made my hand cramp up).

IHateATMFees says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:55am

Nice job! I imagine this would work very well as a mobile touch game.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:01am

I'm really partial to space and gravity games. Thank you for the vote, Utopia happens way more than statistically possible.. Maybe that's a sign?

vandriver says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:51pm

great music and ideas. i like the various takes on the same basic mechanic, but am not a fan of that amount of clicking. my favorite was the comets one. i feel like the clicking area should be larger on all the games, however. also this'd be a blast on a touchscreen.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:31pm

Kinda weird controls, but good game! I included it in part 9 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series :) http://youtu.be/LbmZDYffwi8

Rob Glen says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:17pm

I enjoyed the comet galaxy mode the most, it was fun, and the control scheme is interesting. The interacting galaxy mode was pretty good too, but a little to clicky for my tastes. Seems like this game would make a good fit on smart phones/tablets. The art style is nice and the music is really great!

Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:19am

Part 9 take two - Now with sound - http://youtu.be/lmQkJ525PNo

zillix says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:01am

great work! loved the variety of game modes you've got, though it wasn't immediately obvious that there were more than the two on the first screen!

MaesK says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:53pm

Good concept, I'd like to see dual planet systems more often :D Go and launch it on mobile systems! Resolution is already fine for that

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]