Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Waterworld

by Tesrym - Jam Entry

This is not a complete/finished game, but more of a concept.
You are given a driveable ferry, and an ocean with some kind of weather logic.

Me and Unit158 had tons of fun making this, and We had a wonderful weekend.

WASD to move, E to use, Right mouseclick to "un-use".

Steering console controls:
W/S - Power forward/backward
A/D - Turn
Q/E - Thruster strafe
F - All power to zero. (Necessary for dock to be able to detach)

There are two control consoles on the bridge, along with a radio and a dock release button.

Have a go at it ^<^

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#202Innovation(Jam)3.38
#367Mood(Jam)3.11
#469Overall(Jam)3.10
#471Humor(Jam)2.19
#484Graphics(Jam)3.12
#520Fun(Jam)2.80
#598Audio(Jam)2.14
#606Theme(Jam)2.54

Comments

JNyknn says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:49am

Controls are a bit slow and audio would be nice, but otherwise the game is good.

Techblogogy says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:06pm

Really cool game.

villhest says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:08pm

Love the ship controls!

jsmars says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:10pm

Really cool project! I couldn't get away from the dock tho. I tried the dock release and the controls but I was stuck.

Boberro says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:48pm

I love it. During last LD I tried to do a sea travel game myself, so I was waiting for you to upload this one.
It's not complete, yes, but the way the ferry bounces on the waves makes it very cool.

Boberro says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:58pm

I forgot about one thing.
There's a hilarious bug: when you go under the deck, and try to go up the yellow ramp, whole ship rockets into the sky. I once flew up to another island.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:09pm

I (Unit158) will be continuing development on this game. We have a bitbucket repo and stuff, so if you want to look at the source, I might be willing to give you credentials :-)

Tesrym says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:40am

Good to see you RawringPenguin :D
We sure had fun on this one.

And thanks for the comment everyone <3

@ jsmars, all the power has to be zero (press f while using either console) for the dock to be able to lift.

ponk says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:33pm

Wow! Cool!
Funny physics!

MintArcade says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:44pm

Map, we need map. Ship navigation require map of some sort. Other than that - the game is cool, controls are smooth, see are, well, like normal see. Really cool game, feels like I'm really in!

DJWizardCop says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:46pm

Amazing mood. The feeling of navigating the boat is incredible.
I would love to play this as a full game.

Zoomyzoom says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:30pm

Wow a 3D boat simulator! did not expect :D

zkenshin says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:47pm

Really neat proof of concept. Could definitely see it as a fun game. Good job. :)

LabOne says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:09pm

One of the best game here, thank you guys.

Tanser says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:11am

Interesting game, good job.

Eigen says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:19am

Great concept and feels pretty solid. I'd love to experience this with the Oculus Rift. And as others have said, some sounds would help immensely. Keep at it, I see a bright future for this.

chipcaramel says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:10pm

Neat!

kikito says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:14pm

It was nice walking around the island and upgrading my ship for free in the shop. I could not release the ship from the dock. Nice game.

gnx says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:54pm

I climbed the mountain range! I had a fair bit of fun with this game, many things to do and explore. I really love how the sea and weather look in this. I think this has high potential to become something more!

leafarz says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 11:13am

was hard to get the game at first tho but cool game!
i liked the ship model and the color lol. also the music was catchy :D think this would be a great game!
great game and good job!

Kojan says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 5:23pm

Great concept, I really like it. A little music would have made it even better I think !
I saw in comments that you want to keep developping this game, and I would be really pleased to see where it goes !
Good job !

bluesky says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 8:23am

this game is awesome. Really nice done !

TKia_ says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 1:30pm

Boat looks and feels fantastic. Very open yet cozy-feeling game; I would have loved to navigate around the seas even more. A map, though, would definitely have been nice :P

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]