Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Planet Rescuers

by lion123 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

To Break a block CLICK AND HOLD left mouse button when near the block!!! Update notes:
25.08) Fixed crafting number typo, gave player 10 times more energy.

Other notes:
Biogenerator not working, had no time for it.
No sounds, sorry for that. Really was running out of time.
Required crafting components shown only when you have all required materials for the crafting.

FULL WALKTHROUGH: (SPOILER ALERT!!!)
Path 1) destroy three metal blocks, craft a water canister. Go to the past, pick up water, break grass until you get a sapling. Plant it on a grass block near water block. Place metal block near water too. Go to the future where the tree has already grown. Break leaves with red dots until you get 4 strange fruits. Break rusty block to get rust. Craft fruits and rust into mutagen. Place it somewhere near water. Place a sapling near mutagen. DONE.
Path 2) Gather a lot of wood and metal. (You get two metal per ore) Craft a lot of traps (1 stick and 1 metal, sticks crafted from wood). Place them everywhere. DONE.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1001Theme2.48
#1054Innovation2.38
#1063Mood2.18
#1150Graphics2.00
#1188Fun1.86
#1199Overall2.18
#1659Coolness36%

Comments

Endurion says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:04pm

I fail to do anything, I can travel through time but fail to exit from my time travel box. Crafting shows a list of things but I can select none.

Can you describe the first few steps?

Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:06pm

Unsure what I'm supposed to be doing. I've gone to the time periods mentioned in the briefing but I cannot seem to interact with anything but the time machine. I've clicked on the blocks but there's no indication that I'm doing anything. I've tried going to other time periods, again, nothing really changes and I don't seem to be able to break the white blocks. I've tried single clicking, I've tried spam clicking, I've tried holding down on them. I can't seem to get out of the box.

I'm not going to rate this one as it doesn't seem to be working properly.

WesleyJohnson says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:54pm

You can break blocks by walking next to them, highlighting them with your mouse and then holding the left mouse button. The blocks to your right when you first start can't be broken down, it appears. Try moving left to the other side of the "cage" and break down the white breaks. Then, starting breaking down the various colored bricks to gather resources. It took me a while to figure this out as well. Definitely needs to be clearer or have some type of tutorial to guide you to do that.

Josh H says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:04pm

I was a bit confused about what I was supposed to do, but I love crafting games, so I was intrigued.

hirsch says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:06pm

Seems like it is not completely finished yet, but i like the initial idea about changing the past. What i also like is that the terrain in the future is based on the action in the past :)

Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:41pm

Okay, after someones comments below I managed to get out of the white box. The game itself seems to have been going for a Terraria feel.
The lack of indication that you're doing anything, either visibly or audibly when trying to do things is the games biggest weakness. Figuring out how to interact with it in any meaningful way is quite difficult.

The game appears to be a combination of a Crafting game and the puzzles from an old point and click, but without any of the excitement of discovery of the former, or the charm of the latter.

If I were to start making improvements, I'd start with making the things you do (breaking blocks, placing things, using things) have some feedback. I'd then fix the controls to give you more in-air acceleration. I'd then let you place the same block more than once in a row (ie, to 'tower' your way out of a hole, as in Minecraft or Terraria).

If the aim was to keep as much of it a mystery, then I'd refrain from putting any kind of guide to things in the crafting. Though I would if I were doing it myself. At the very least I'd put a short descriptive tooltip on things to give you a hint.

Themewise, it kind of fit. It's the same world, connected through time and, at the very least, that works very well. It's a solid concept let down by a lack of feedback and an unsure goal.

Tanner says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:11pm

Nice crafting game.

klianc09 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:03pm

My world exploded from too many paradoxes... :( Although I didn't understand when my actions caused paradoxes and when they didn't.

It has a great promise and actually a lot of content but it fails to deliver in usability aspects. But I can understand that one doesn't have time in 48 hours for usability AND content, and you just went the direction of more content.

Without your walkthrough I just wouldn't have had a clue what to do and even with it I gave up because the drop chance on saplings and special fruits just seemed so low.

stvr says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 7:02pm

Ambitious concept, but a bit rough in execution.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]