Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Connection Lost

by Enzo42 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is my second Ludum Dare entry. I unfortunately did not have enough time to make some decent sound or add some music.

You're stuck on a very far and dangerous planet because your radio has been heavily damaged. It is your goal to fix the connection and ask for help. You will have to collect materials and craft items to fix the radio.

Controls:
Walk: Arrow keys
Use / attack: Space
Open inventory: E

Crafting:
Click an item in your inventory, then click a crafting slot to put it on the crafting interface.

In the game crafting recipes are described in numbers.
slot 1 = upper-left slot
slot 2 = upper-middle slot
slot 9 = lower-right slot
etc.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#606Humor2.25
#806Audio2.20
#944Mood2.50
#945Innovation2.60
#1023Fun2.46
#1065Theme2.31
#1084Overall2.56
#1117Graphics2.11

Comments

ViliX says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:10am

You should mention that those links are Windows version.

sapermysz says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:32am

This game has some bugs but its OK but enemys can be more difficulty

Enzo42 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:39pm

Ported it to a jar, it should now work for every OS.

psydack says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:06pm

I can't play on MacOsX. Just open and go to "grey screen". Need some specific version of Java?

FGM says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:13pm

Interesting idea. You need to keep the recipes somewhere though. I can't remember all that stoof.

Enzo42 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:54pm

I thought I did my best to keep the recipes simple, when you take your second gold the recipes will be told so you don't have to mess around trying to find the recipes

Tomker says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:54pm

Nice work, has potential.

theCoder15 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:45pm

Ok game u guess

bvanschooten says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:09pm

Looks promising. However the biggest challenge was getting the recipies, as the text box in which they appear tends to disappear before I could read it. The game works in Linux OpenJDK except for the sound.

eemmbbeerr says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:54am

It took me a while to find out how to use the key, and without your screenshot I wouldn't have been able to craft a hammer. But good game afterall

Piscythe says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:06am

The grid crafting is cool, though it could do with stacking and item movement/removal. The core top-down gameplay was fine for the most part, but the fight with the green enemy was rather confusing. Also, only mentioning the recipes in one dialogue each was not enough for me to memorize them - I'd recommend giving the player a reference sheet for recipes they've found. Still, not bad at all, and it has the potential for interesting expansion later if you can find ways to make it unique.

SK16Games says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 3:07pm

Nice little game :) But I forgot the last recipe, so I couldn't finish it... It would be nice to be able to look up the recipes you've learned or something ;)

ShadowStryker says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 9:34pm

Really the only difficulty I could find with it was getting the recipes. Other than that everything else seemed to work alright.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]