Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Ethernet Quest

by MentaL13 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Finished my second Ludum Dare game. The theme was tough and the only thing I came up with was the connection between the boring real world and the world of fun and joy - the Internet. At it's core the game is a simple infinite runner but I'm pretty happy how it turned out. Hope you'll enjoy playing it as much as I enjoyed making it.

A little backstory for the game:
You play as a deity worshiped by many - an ethernet cable. Your sole task is to connect the boring mundane world with the wold of fun and cats - The Internet.
Avoid dangerous obstacles on your journey and collect mysterious energy orbs on your way. And if you'll find yourself in trouble don't hesitate to teleport into the world of Ether were nothing can stop you.

Controls:
w/s or up/down arrows - movement
left shift - accelerate
spacebar - become invulnerable... for a time
left mouse button - close spam windows

Note: I made the game with Unity and I read a lot that Linux doesn't have the Unity Web Player, so I built the game for Linux but unfortunately didn't test it... so sorry about that :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#34Humor3.84
#218Fun3.49
#454Overall3.30
#530Mood3.02
#674Theme3.10
#695Graphics2.89
#704Innovation2.97
#902Audio1.91
#1426Coolness45%

Comments

Bormear says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:36pm

Highest score was 23. Fun game! Very fluid style of movement, I like it. Funny too. Congratulations on a great game man.

nonetheless says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:49pm

"Wow much points" made my day :) funny game, hard, especially with all the spam. Nice job my friend!

QuexD says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:09am

Great Game! I would play longer but I have a lot to get to like trying to fix pop up blocker!

MegaMasterX says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:41am

Creative and interesting. The popups had me rolling.

sfnhmp says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:45am

Awesome job! Very smooth controls and graphics. Nice touch of humor too! I only got as high as 19 points, pretty damn hard. Nice presentation, feels very polished for a jam. Good job

misson20000 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:57am

Great job, and thanks for a Linux build =]
It works just fine on my system

Marcellus says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:48am

+1 internet for you. funny game, great mood, too bad it lacks the nyan cat music.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:06am

Fun concept, I like how the cable moves as you fly. The spam emails are a funny touch. Good work!

PixelFeet says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:55am

Cool game, though I will say that I find it to be a bit better in concept than in execution. The controls are definitely fluid, but I'm not sure the player is given enough time to avoid obstacles (though that could very well just be me being terrible at video games). That aside, I love the pop-up mechanic. All in all, this is a cool game. Good job.

Scott Baker says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:22am

"You just won an expensive thing!" The spam email popups where such a great idea and really made this game fun.

zillix says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:48am

Great idea! I like the combinations of mechanics you've got. I'd love to be able to close the popups by clicking anywhere on them- many a life was lost to misclicking!

Cake&Code says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:03am

Haha, fun game. The popups are especially clever! Love the idea and the execution :)

hazzahazzam says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:06am

I feel like you shouldn't die on the edges, only spikes other than that, it was awesome.

DeathPidgeon says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:43am

The obstacles were varied and interesting. I liked the email obstacles, that gets 5 stars for humor. The game was challenging, I had trouble staying alive for a few seconds.

Kaelaholme says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:37am

The popups are great - one of the few funny games here

shimage says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:57am

Nice game! I love the spam mail idea.

2DemiGods says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:59am

"Enthertaining" indeed, really fun to play. :)

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:17am

Hi there. Interesting idea.. Found it very difficult. Max score 7 ! sorry but my reactions slow. Nice graphics

locknic says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:41am

Haha hilarious. Took awhile to get used to, but when you get into the flow of it you can do pretty well. Awesome.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:03pm

very awesome idea!!!

Slikker says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:06pm

Hey man awesome game, very challenging though :P.

Bozwellox says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:22pm

Really funny idea, some of the spam had me laughing :D Would have liked some music

sprawl says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:43pm

Fun game. Smooth Controls. Nice use of the theme.
The emails were a nice touch, but the game lacks sound effects. Otherwise, good job !

Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:12pm

Popups were a great touch - nice game :)

breadstix says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:15pm

Fantastic game all around. I loved it!

hypp says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:16pm

I enjoyed playing this. Nice touch with the "spam"! Maybe a bit to hard?

Greg Klein says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:17pm

It needs an Ablock power up :)

slakhorn says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:44pm

Love the idea of multitasking, too bad it wasn't used more.

kyyrma says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:01pm

Very difficult! Not exactly on the theme, but teels really smooth and fun to play. I like that this is one of the first entries I've seen to focus more on humor.

imdigitaljim says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:05pm

This game was exceptional! I definitely enjoyed it

Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:01pm

Hahahaha fun game need someone to close the spam xD 2 player game? :P
"buy this amazing stuff only 99" XD make me laugh
Well done

brookman says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:15pm

Good work. This game rocks!

fallingBear says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:32pm

Neat game, pretty hard to control the utp cord. :)

Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:03pm

Haha, it's really funny. But I believe it would be better if player wouldn't die touching floor and ceiling.

Linus123xbb says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:16pm

This was a decent game indeed, I'd like some audio though.

Josh H says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:18pm

Wow, this is tough! Got up to 23. Interesting take on the theme, definitely unique. I enjoyed it, although some music or sound effects would have been nice.

CoderMusgrove says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:00pm

Fun, but I found it to be very sensitive when I hit the keys.

TrickFishPie says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:11pm

Really cool animation :) looks great. I really suck at it though ha

rjhunter says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:43pm

I found the game very hard!

I initially thought the white envelopes were the main thing to pick up and that the grey spikes were instant death. Once I figured it out it got easier, but still too hard for me.

A little sound would have gone a long way -- even a couple of SFXR bleeps.

Good job!

Aumni says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:43pm

Simple but still a game I enjoyed. Good work!! :)

KunoNoOni says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:44am

Very clever and humorous idea. Well done!

Artamus says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:22pm

Nice game, congrats!

fil00dl says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:34pm

the spam obstacles are really funny, very challenging

Will Edwards says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:46am

+humour

simple +fun :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]