Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Space Explorer

by Rock48 - Jam Entry

Kinda a small game I made, tried to make it as pretty as possible, but ended up losing a whole lot of gameplay in the process, doesn't help that I slept for 18 hours at one time, losing my train of thought when coding but, it happens...

Anyway, the controls are pretty simple

w,s,a,d and use the mouse to move
m opens and closes the starmap, where you can lock on to planets to jump to
You can click and drag the map to navigate it
j activates the warp/jump/hyperdrive sending you to the other planet

Music was created by my buddy Sean, who gave me the rights to use his music in this game, find him here: https://soundcloud.com/skramsax/

Most of the artwork was made by TealDragon, who's tumblr can be found here: http://tealdragon.tumblr.com/

I will be uploading a proper Mac executable in the future, but for now mac and linux users will have to download the love2d framework to run the *.love file -- downloadable at http://love2d.org/

Libraries used

Middleclass - https://github.com/kikito/middleclass
I have LoveFrames and AnAL for windowing and animation, but they are unused -- the windowing is used in an unfinished economy system in the game, hit 'b' near a planet if you want a sneak peek

I MUST REMIND YOU -- THIS PROJECT IS CLOSED SOURCE -- ALL ASSETS AND MUSIC ARE COPYRIGHTED

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#250Audio(Jam)3.35
#398Graphics(Jam)3.35
#532Theme(Jam)2.79
#632Mood(Jam)2.57
#687Innovation(Jam)2.30
#704Overall(Jam)2.63
#740Fun(Jam)2.12
#1364Coolness46%

Comments

Nonameghost says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:50am

Not bad. Considering there's not much in the way of gameplay,I think the elements are polished pretty well. The stars in the background, the thruster particles, and especially that warp effect!

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:52am

I enjoyed the graphics!

ShadowStryker says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:59am

Like the concept of having a market, most people don't add a store because they are too lazy. ;)

Rock48 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:01am

@ShadowStryker

Yeah, too bad I didn't have time to finish it though :/

hamster_mk_4 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:06am

The music is nice, but there is not much to do. I tried to fly between worlds without the jump, but gave up after five minutes not seeing the distance decrease.

commodoreKid says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:25pm

The distance to the planet does not update and there is not much to do in the game. However I liked the warp animation and how similar it is to our game :D

Aomeas says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:28pm

Well, I navigated, navigated, but what could I do else? Nice music, though! :3

Capitals says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:34pm

Graphic: Lovely;
Gameplay: Sadly Lacking;

dancingmad says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:40pm

There's not many things to do in this game... The music is pretty good though (and the graphics are good too).

Chaoseiro says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:11pm

It was calm, almost relaxing, until I hit J and OOOOH YEAH :D

Xanjos says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:15pm

It's a shame you had to omit a lot of features in your game (Sadly, what was left didn't really add much to the gameplay) but I did like the graphics a lot (especially the thruster particles) and that music when you go into warp is actually quite catchy.

ZoneOne2 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:30am

I like the look of the thrusters and ship.

RadioLemon says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:11am

The warp speed effect was cool; the music made it feel all disco and stuff.

frogcheese says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 8:31pm

Not much game, but the graphics were really polished with lots of cool little details, and I liked the music as well.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]