Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Rubber Slimes

by JangoBrick - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The game I made for the Ludum Dare compo #30 is called "Rubber Slimes". You control two slimes, each in its own "world", so-to-speak.
There's no connection - except for a rubber band that's keeping the slimes together. You have to be careful though, as the rubber band tends to break easily on every occasion it gets.
This is a really hard game.

By the way, this entry is my second one. And the first time that I EVER made any music (like, in my whole life)! So I'm pretty happy about the way that went.

These are the tools which I used:
- Language: Java
- IDE: Eclipse
- Engine/Framework: JangoDare (http://github.com/JangoBrick/JangoDare)
- Graphics: GIMP
- Sound effects: Bfxr
- Sound editing: Audacity
- Music: FL Studio 11
- My brain

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#144Theme3.81
#236Innovation3.58
#247Humor2.90
#324Overall3.44
#344Fun3.29
#446Audio2.86
#534Mood3.00
#806Graphics2.71

Comments

Martoon says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 11:10pm

Clever idea, and executed well. Considering the difficulty, though, it'd be useful to have a quick "restart the level" key, instead of having to click a button each time.

JangoBrick says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 11:56pm

@Martoon I agree. Since the 48 hours aren't over yet, I think I'm still allowed to fix this. So, there you go, press [R] to restart the level ;-)

sftrabbit says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:12pm

Cool idea. The intro text wasn't wrong - it did get a bit infuriating at times! Checkpoints would have made this a little bit better. Overall, pretty enjoyable though!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:18pm

Good idea and well made :)

Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:42pm

Nice concept and execution. The graphics are a bit... "Missmatchesed".

CogentInvalid says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:49pm

Really cool concept, and it was fun to play. Getting stuck was a hassle, though; I feel like it would have been easier to avoid if you put some kind of spike or other hazard in the alcoves so a player could easily see it ahead of time and avoid it.

Chaoseiro says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:20pm

Nice game, and really hard! I got stuck many times xD
Checkpoints would definitely be a good addition :)

Peping says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:27pm

Great idea, nicely done, as the other guy said, checkpoints, or a limited amount of "undo"s would make this less frustrating. Great job!

frogcheese says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:31pm

Really cool idea, but a bit too hard for me. And for your first shot at music, the track wasn't that bad!

eemmbbeerr says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:45pm

Good game, it is much harder than it seems. The 'Keep calm and avoid places that you cannot escape' strategy failed me on the second level.

AmmoreChicks says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:57pm

Great game! Good concept and very entertaining!

someone says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:33pm

Cool idea, though it crashed a lot for me.

Shivur says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:16pm

Very good concept!

Ted Brown says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:28am

You bastard. I do have a nut allergy! :D

Seriously, this is a good idea, executed well. The only issue I had was not being able to hold up and down at the same time.

ra4king says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 11:02pm

Wow, this is such a clever idea, I'm very impressed. Excellent job!

Cake&Code says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 5:41am

Haha, "This is a really hard game" is quite the understatement! That or I'm just terrible at games. Still, it was a lot of fun.

Love that you listen your brain as a tool you used, it sucks when you forget to bring it to a competition! ;D

Sep 9, 2014 @ 2:10pm

Cool game! Very difficult, but fun!

jprogman says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 6:40pm

Definitely hard. Those damn dead ends are an instant killer. I could only play it when I'm in a good mood, heh.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]