Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

AtomicBomberCats

by gwa - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Atomic Bomber Cats: Multiplayer
Best Browser: Chrome
Best Expirience: With a friend

Atomic Bomber Cats is a Multiplayer Game. Pleas take a little time to explore the game and enjoy the intro. Best take a friend to play with (just send him the link). I try to hang around in my game as often as possible but not always. If you have any kind of question or the game is not working send me a mail (gwa.h@gmx.de).
Hope you have as much fun with my game like I had to build it.

Looking forward to see you online.

Greetings
Max

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness83%
#50Humor3.67
#207Fun3.50
#436Audio2.88
#536Overall3.23
#613Mood2.92
#669Innovation3.02
#982Graphics2.39
#1045Theme2.36

Comments

josh1billion says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 10:16pm

Cool stuff, man. Nice choice with socket.io too.

juakob says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:33am

Always love to play multiplayer online games. The graphicsa area a little too simples, but they do there job.

dvdking says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:35am

It was kind of dull, but quite fun. It's not quite clear what each bonus does. The explosion visual radius is slighly smaller then its death radius, which is quite annoying.

rasmusrn says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:17am

Haha, that was fun. Kudos to the creator for being online to play against me. I call it a tie, 5-5! Very fun game. Most attempts at creating network multiplayer experiences during game jams fail because of the intrinsic complexity involved. But this one actually works pretty well. Well done!

Also, great job on the primitive sound effects. While not perfect, they do add a very personal feel to the product :)

gwa says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:25am

Thanks for playing my game.

@rasmusrn yes this match was fun :)
@dvdking you are right about the explosion radius i will fix this post compo

jthistle says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:52am

:D

SkyWolf says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:55am

Bonus points for cats! XD

mess110 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:32pm

dunno if max was a bot, but I got you max. I got you :D

gwa says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:36pm

haha no its me the game makes a sound if someone join so if i have time i try to join because a multimplayer game alone dont make fun :)

TD5 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:22pm

Cool that I can play with so many other people, but I couldn't tell what a lot of the power ups did.

owyoow says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:24pm

Fun game. Graphics aren't the greatest. The other players were invisible to me most of the time, but that might have been my system

Donar says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:24pm

Very nice ... I like to see an online game.

The explosions take hours to go away and their hitbox is bigger than the visual area, which is annoying ... but it's fine, I like it.

gwa says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:26pm

@TD5 the powerups are explained if you click on help
@owyoww its a mix a little your computer and a litte the very uneficiant multiplayer code with two max three players it runs smoth with four the flickering starts i will fix this in a post ld version

dhargan says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:45pm

whaaat the... ok then, good job :D

Jupitron says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:49pm

Haha nice intro!
One of the best game that ive played so far!

Tanner says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:21pm

Great game! Humor 5/5

recursor says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:20pm

This is hilarious! Great sounds too.

gwa says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:44pm

thx @all for this great comments :)

Hippolyta says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:42pm

Funny game, miau! I like, miau! :-)

rd127p77 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:53pm

This is too funny.

Retl says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:23pm

I wasn't able to get a friend to play with me, though I found the general idea of something of a 2D platformer bomber-style game to be pretty neat. I had fun dashing and jumping and bouncing around and collecting powerups and trying to bomb the crates as fast as I could! And I liked that the sound effects fit the cat theme.

That said, I had a number of odd collission detection errors. Cats passing through the inner walls of the middle area, and crates falling through floors at least once a minute.

Finally, the connected worlds theme of it seemed to have no relation to the gameplay. Like if the mario and sonic stuff were replaced with that of a futuristic post-apocolyptic petshop, it'd... probably be even more cohesive.

Still I had some fun with it and played for about 10 minutes even alone. Neat stuff!

pjimmy says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:19pm

meow :D

bytegrove says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:29pm

I think I was the only one online when playing it? So I'm not sure I got the whole experience. I like the platforming controls, I think you got them working quite well. The interpretation of the theme is a little so-so, but I like how you spun it off to just include some fun cat platforming action in the two most familiar platforming settings! ;) The cat sounds were a bit creepy though, hehe.

Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:18pm

Man, I love the idea of cats pooping bombs and blowing other cats up!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]