Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Planetshaker for Android

by Maek - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Here it is, my LD30 game. This time, my second LD, I had only 1 day time. But I think the game is pretty cool.

In Planetshaker you have to connect the worlds/planets by tilting your Android device to the left or to the right.

Enjoy the game!!!

Made in Java with LibGdx by an 16 years old boy.

Please check also out:
https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=de.markus.kaeppeler.android

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#266Theme3.65
#477Fun3.13
#538Innovation3.18
#587Humor2.27
#596Overall3.17
#771Graphics2.77
#783Audio2.24
#864Mood2.63

Comments

Aug 24, 2014 @ 11:41pm

Great work dude!

caranha says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:02am

Nice work, fellow android developer :-) The application worked without any problems on my Fujitsu phone. The idea is rather original. Here is some suggestions:

* Add a QR code with your download address in the screenshots. In this way if I am browsing on the computer I can use this image to download it directly to my phone.

* Your game lacks some "choice" - right now it is just about shaking the phone as fast as possible. How about if sometimes there were TWO planets that you could connect to, with different point values? This would make the game much more intense.

Cheers!

Zoomyzoom says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:16am

nicely done on getting an android game in such little time!! High Score 146! Come at me bros!

mess110 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:23am

good job

hirsch says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:21pm

Thats a nice casual android game. Small and simple and does not need extra permissions. A (local) highscore list not bound to Google Play Games would be nice :)

Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:29pm

Simple and pretty fun little game. I like how you have a little window of opportunity to make a comeback after you've left the screen!

Alaxe says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:33pm

Although It doesn't have really complex mechanics, the fact that you made such a polished game(I mean it has online Leader boards for god sake) for android is really impressive. I also use libgdx but my game relies heavily on keyboard controls so I can't join the android club ;)

slowfrog says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:39pm

Nice Android entry with Play achievement integration. With the current trends towards mobile gaming, it's a good idea.
The game mechanic is simple but well implemented and fits the theme quite well indeed.

pighead10 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:58pm

Hmm. Any way to play on PC? I don't have an adroid.

JackDegree says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:06pm

Yeah, same here, I don't have Android, so I can't play. Though I get that given that it uses tilting there's no real point in porting it...

Bozwellox says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:50pm

Nice and simple which is good for a mobile game, and the graphics are nice. But it's a little bit too basic and gets boring after a while

madmaw says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:00am

OMG! Achievements! XP!

Endurion says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:24am

Sorry, no Android.

gnuwind says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:05pm

Could you port to iOS or other OS, no Android, sorry.

dook says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:43pm

Very neat little game! Keep up the good work :)

TBSHRichard says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:41pm

Simplicity

(Negative) - The game is a little bit too simplistic. More depth could be added by provided, like perhaps making the planets move around or by having planets that you should avoid connecting to or you lose points; things like that.
(Positive) + On the flip side, simplicity is great for mobile games as often times they aren't played in long sessions, just in periods of down time during the day. So it's good that you are thinking simple, perhaps just a little more complex would create improvements.

Graphics

(Negative) - The graphics aren't anything extraordinary.
(Positive) + The graphics are consistent across the entire game and each one looks like it fits in with the rest.
(Positive) + The randomness in planet color is a great touch; I prefer the use of the random number generator for aesthetics as opposed to gameplay elements.

Overall, this is a nice game, especially for only one day's time! Keep on improving and keep up the good work!

Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:01am

I would love to see an iOS port!

buckslice says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:02am

Nice game, and pretty original! Kind of annoying that the planets won't connect if you are tilting too fast, but it makes sense why, otherwise you could just shake your phone around and win. Fun one!

Pierrec says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:35am

Works on My Wiko Highway. This game is WAY more interesting and addictive than it looks. I'm impressed so simple mechanics could eventually become so fun.
Innovative AND fun ? That's a great entry!

dcampos says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 1:55pm

Simple and nice game. Good to see Android games here.

Maek says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 12:57pm

Thank you for your great Feedback! :) :) :) It's fantastic!

Soory that I can't port it to IOS, I don't have a Mac and I don't want to pay hundreds of dollars for the Developer Account and the software. When someone would port the LibGdx game to IOS he can write me at: markus.kaeppeler@yahoo.de

cstudios says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 9:14am

it was nice. casual, first i thought its to easy, but later on i realised you can fail... and i did.

Teesquared says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 3:47pm

Very innovative. I like the use of device movement for input. Great take on the theme too. A very complete and fun game. Hopefully you get more downloads!

fizzd says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 9:39pm

This was fun! I really think it's a great idea - scored 132 first time.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]