Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Jane Austen Versus Slug Lord

by hexagore - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I decided to go a bit meta with the theme, connecting the worlds of Jane Austen to the worlds of computer game cliches like Giant Slug Lords and tripods. Because funny.

Controls are.. mouse buttons. Space. Escape. Left click or Right click when Jane Austen tells you to in order to stay ahead of the Slug Lord's evil tripod minion. 30 would be a good score, 50 would be an amazing score.

Works best in Chrome. Lag/frame skipping issues in Firefox. If you do have FPS issues try reducing your window size and reloading - this game makes extensive use of post-processing shaders and so is quite intensive. Less pixels, less work!

Made with Three.JS. Really regretting it this time. A day learning how to make animated 3d models and another half a day just figuring out how to make Three.JS display them and animate them... painful. Didn't have time to do audio either.

Updates: Added a 'low quality' version that removes all the post-processing effects which may be less stressful. I'm afraid that WebGL can be a little troublesome with certain graphics cards.. sorry about that!

Updates: Have fixed a bug that prevented the game working in Firefox (I consider this 'porting'). Also fixed some typos that make the game basically unplayable!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness74%
#150Humor3.17
#196Graphics3.74
#568Mood2.97
#699Innovation2.98
#877Theme2.73
#950Overall2.79
#957Fun2.57
#1005Audio1.27

Comments

Lizzip says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:41am

I am not good at Jane Austen lefty righty! And I can't rate until I submit my entry tonight, but this is some pretty looking (and pretty weird) stuff

Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:37pm

This is brilliant! Love using the Victorian Era setting, contrasts nicely with "Slug Lord" :D

psychomonster says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:39pm

cool game artwork... very unique... Nice idea. Creepy monster hunting cute princess... look nice... very playable... enjoyed it

JetL33t says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:28am

crashes firefox and chrome for me :(

parahunter says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:42am

Had a bug where the monster ran past me once without triggering the end. Looks pretty though

KigurumiDevs says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:36pm

You catched me from the start with your description of the game. Jane Austen and Tripods - awesome combination! Sadly my firefox crashed while starting the game. I would love to play it.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:33pm

24. The whole idea is quite adorable. Best use of the theme. :)

guimonpa says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:35pm

A very simple mechanic but still manages to be fun, nice work!

liquidminduk says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:49pm

very bizarre, in a good way. I couldn't hear any audio though.
It would be nice to throw in some extra gameplay mechanics, you could even do a "typing of the dead" kind of thing, where you have to quickly type sentences.

Great stuff

RFMTeam says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:39pm

now this is how you connect two worlds, very funny

Ramori says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:41pm

Don't say you regret it, it's still a fun game, and you've learned something new ;)

snooze82 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:41pm

beautiful game assets :)

naksrifati says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:43pm

Cool theme and graphics, but the controls..., not quite get it, but overall cool idea))

OrangeeZ says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:52pm

Haha I still trying to get more than 42. Pretty good, srsly.

Z.B.G.E. says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:28am

Made it to 32!

The gameplay, setting and animations all at once make this game funny and weird at the same time, congratulations for finding a way to put together your assets and shaders into something that (almost) make sense ;)

Literal Games says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:46am

Ooh, manages to be more fun once you realise the severity of the punishment for clicking incorrectly, since you have to get every click correct

hexagore says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:51pm

Yes it's super harsh and unforgiving in that respect. There are situations where it'll let you off for one or two mistakes...

Oli says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:53pm

Haha funny :'D ! well done

obskyr says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:41pm

"You scored a paltry 56."

C'mon, man, that's not paltry. C'moooonnnnn.

hexagore says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:49pm

No, 56 is not paltry at all. But I ran out of time to add more encouraging messages :P

BuffaloPhil says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:19pm

Great setting and very funny :)

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:50pm

Hi there. Well that is a WEIRD game. Runs fine, albeit it is very difficult to succeed, sir... on Chrome/W8.1 combination. Good job!

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 11:30pm

Very nice astethics, good job.

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 9:13am

The art was very good but I couldn't get past a paltry 3. It would be nice to see a walkthrough to figure out what as I doing wrong. Nice job!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]