Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

State of Mind

by Nylonica - Jam Entry

Awards:

- PC Gamer Top 10 2014
- Beyonce Tribute of the Year 2014
- Louis Vutton Award for Design 2014
- Nobel Physics Award for Physics Engine

Immerse yourself in a *FABULOUS* and cinematic experience.

Indulge your senses as "State of MInd" gently takes your hand and guides you through the realms of your very own soul. It should be noted that this work of art is not to be taken lightly as some of the most utterly profound and pressing issues of out time are unravelled before your awe-struck eyes.

"Tear Jerking" - Edgar Allan Poe
"Confucious say must play! ^.^" - Confucious
"Creative I say! In every way!" - Dr. Seuss


CONTROLS:
Arrow keys to move your bodacious body and navigate menus
Space to pwn sum headz and select inside menus

There are 3 levels and make sure that you get to the last level for a fab surprise :3

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#140Humor(Jam)3.18
#523Audio(Jam)2.62
#642Fun(Jam)2.52
#695Mood(Jam)2.14
#697Graphics(Jam)2.42
#738Theme(Jam)1.87
#747Overall(Jam)2.48
#757Innovation(Jam)1.81

Comments

ShadowStryker says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:26am

Menu controls are rather odd, but all well. It was a pretty entertaining game, although difficult to shoot the enemies at times. It seems to me like you have an obsession with Beyonce though. :p

Cad says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:28am

Oh....Ooooohhhhh.

plash says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:33am

Hey! Nice music. Always appreciate something that's not completely annoying and repetitive. Wacky enemies, shooting yin-yang symbols, got it, sombrero? Beyoncé? This is crazy.

Nitpicks:

- I wish I could shoot diagonally.
- I can't tell when something has hit me, and the health isn't always readable. It should have a backdrop and a bound for the range of the health value.
- Damn, I skipped the end screen by accident because I was pummeling Beyoncé with bullets.

Scipio Xaos says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:45am

Well that was... fun. :P Don't really see the relation to the theme, but I did see the special effects! :P

Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:23am

I really respect your degree of commitment to this idea! Next time it would be nice to see more gameplay stuff in general. I felt like I was playing Binding of Isaac minus all of the Binding of Isaac thingamabobs.

mess110 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:22pm

gj

Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:06am

If there were a "best hat" award, this would win it, for sure.

chadiik says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 2:46pm

If I started having fun before even playing!... IMHO you have succeeded with your game :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]