Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

4in1

by Anti - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Controls:
F1 = Help in-game.
Arrowkeys = Move in the 4 diffrent directions
Space = Other actions
NOTE!!! The "close button" don't work and I know this. This is not a fault but the way game maker works unless you want the escape key to close the game all the time. To exit simply press "escape" when you're on the screen with the restart button. To go back to that screen when in a mini-game simply press "escape" there too.

To choose a game you move off the screen with the black dot.

Up = Space shooter
Down = "Rhythm" game
Left = Pong
Right = Highway game

Notes:
The reason there is one executable file named 4in1(No sound) is because my last entry crashed for alot of people. I suspected it to be the sounds or the anti-virus on their computers. If it crashes for you, try the one without sound and see if that works. Otherwise I can't really do to much. Im still using the same Game Maker version(8.1).

This is my second Ludum dare entry. I wasn't in the mood to create a game but I forced myselft to. The game turned out the way I wanted it. I'm actually really happy with the end result. If I would change anything it would be the graphics(I'm a horrible artist) and the 4 mini-games. I wasn't so creative with thoose. But this game is actually just showcasing the concept and I didn't put so much effort into them. I mostly created this to try something new and something that was relativly easy to make. Even if the 4 mini-games aren't so fun I'm still really happy how it turned out. Hopefully I will be able to use C++ and SDL next time. I didn't use it now because I'm not so experienced with SDL(Only been using it for 2 weeks) and I didn't have a proper engine to write my game in. But anyways, hope you enjoy it!
ANY feedback would be great!

Credits:
Jakob Sinclair

Programs:
Programming - Game Maker 8.1
Sprites and background - Paint.net
Music - http://www.abundant-music.com/
Sound - Bfxr

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#585Fun3.00
#868Overall2.89
#936Innovation2.63
#986Graphics2.38
#1014Theme2.44
#1796Coolness30%

Comments

Aglavra says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:20pm

I am on Windows 8.1, and cannot run both files. The one with sound crashes after I start it. "No sound" version runs, but shows only screen with restart button, and the close button also doestn't work.

Endurion says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:22pm

Both versions work fine here.

It's a bit like Wario Ware, with the addition that you need to remember which games you played and which you didn't. Unfortunately every mini game really is pretty simple.

I guess it would be more fun if the in between mini game part would work faster.

OinkIguana says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:26pm

The minigames are interesting, though it was a bit of a weird setup. Having to restart the whole thing to retry any one of the games confused me. The graphics weren't super great, but they weren't bad (you're not /that/ horrible an artist)
The music was interesting, but it was really loud compared to other programs, and very busy, making it hard to listen to. The sound effects were pretty good though.

Wevel says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:19am

The game doesn't close very easily. I had to go into task manager to close it down.

jprogman says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 9:23pm

The no sound version only worked for me on Windows 8.1. I actually had some fun with this game. :)
I don't see how this fits the theme though. Four mini-games in one game doesn't satisfy the theme.

bluesky says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 3:01pm

Good job!

teamawesome says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 6:38pm

It's quite impressive that you got the four playable mini-games in the two 48 hours! Pong was my favourite

cardboard says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 4:05pm

I managed to get 2175 after a few tries. The rhythm game feels a bit odd since it isn't matched to the music that is playing. The music is rather crazy, but it goes well with the games and is interesting. I like how you only get one try per minigame, per game; it makes the game more about playing all of the games well to get a high score rather than simply trying to get a good score for each level on its own. Nice job!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]