Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Verse

by simplesmiler - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Explore and colonize the Verse!
There are many worlds to conquer. Some of them are connected by series of mysterious ancient gates, which drastically speed up moving through the space.

But beware, you are not the only one who wants to take over the Verse!

---
Controls:
Left and right mouse button will rotate your camera.
When you highlight a world with mouse cursor, you can grab a part of your fleet from there and drop it to other world. Moving through space takes time, but gates between worlds (visualized as lines) will speed up your fleet significantly.

---
Post-compo:
I'm working on post-compo version, with better balance and AI.
Read more: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2014/08/25/the-verse-aftereffects-day-1/
Please, don't take post-compo into consideration when ranking the game.

---
Backup links:
Windows binary: https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B6JJfKNsTguMLTA2YWRwVEpSVk0
Platform agnostic [requires love2d]: https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B6JJfKNsTguMb0pvdFJ2N1NEa0U

---
Love:
You can get love2d at: https://love2d.org/
Game is tested against love2d v0.9.1, and may not work with another version. This doesn't apply to the windows binary, because it's shipped with all the necessary stuff.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness93%
#83Mood3.71
#175Overall3.63
#206Theme3.73
#241Audio3.27
#284Fun3.39
#301Graphics3.50
#463Humor2.47
#479Innovation3.26

Comments

JosephLittle says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:51am

Nice graphics and audio. Interesting take on the resource war type game.

My only problem is that it was a little too much for me to concentrate on. I couldn't quite keep track of what was going on! But that could just be me :P

Fantastic game!

ZirconCode says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:04pm

Loved the theme interpretation and the strategic elements. Was very easy to figure out yet had good amount of depth and fun.

A333 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:07pm

I love the style and gameplay, they are both simple and beautiful, with every piece on its place. You've captured the essence of the control games.

hate-marina says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:03pm

Отличная залипалка :3

hate-marina says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:07pm

I mean nice time-killer :3

recursor says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:16pm

Very cool little game. Nice job on the star chart look of the game and the music is nice too. This one goes in my "play more later " folder.

soerensen3 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:35pm

loved this game! Even if the concept of game is not new the implementation is quite creative and the music really adds to the mood.
In the end it could go a bit faster. I have more than 12000 units in one place figthing against 300 and it is still taking ages to finish them. I would love to see a post compo!

keddelzz says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:42am

Remindet me of Eufloria in 3D with kind of constellations. - Interesting concept and fun to play!

cheers ~ keddelzz

Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:55am

Nice ambient game, very stressful on the higher difficulty, peaceful on the easier grades. I loved it. The only thing is that it is sometimes too hard to control the amount of units you want to send. But I have no clue how I would have done it. The innovation on this method is very interesting. Loved the minimalistic but pleasing colors and shapes!

Stepwise says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:01am

Cool idea, was a little tough for me to figure out what was going on.

Reminds me of some of the old PSN games like Flow. Great mood and feel of the whole game.

LostTrainDude says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:41am

I'm getting a little lost in knowing what to do exactly, but the game has a great atmosphere and everything is very smooth.

I'm definitely looking forward to the post-dare version of this :D

LostTrainDude says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:42am

*a little lost in trying to understand.
Sorry :D

Oana says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:54am

That was fun! Reminds me a bit of Phage Wars and similar games. I conquered everything on Easy, but there didn't seem to be an end state. It took me a while to figure out that you could use the slider thingy to determine what percentage of the ships moved out... I thought you had to do it one by one! But once I figured it out, it got pretty easy and I haven't noticed any bugs, so well done!

RedPanda says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:47pm

Just great! Can't say more. Jelly :P

ryguydavis says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:52pm

Wow. Just wow. Gorgeous, smooth, moody, minimal, and yet extremely complex. I see you have updated the AI, which is good. This version was unbelievably hard but still worth the play. Overall very solid.

AtomicVikings says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:56pm

Really enjoyed this. if only the gameplay could be a little slower. It could be the next mobile device hit! :D

naksrifati says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:20pm

Like the conecpt) The control are very smooth and comfortable, but the graphics, cant understand whats happening some time, the much info.

MJ.Mantis says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:47am

Very immerse. This is one of the best games I'd played this Ludum Dare! However, I have some complaints with the visuals and I would've liked keyboard shortcuts... I find mouse-only a little cumbersome.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:51pm

This game feels awesome! Nice mood

nintendoeats says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:55pm

I think that this is a really beautiful and impressive entry (if difficult to keep track of. However I can't play it because my red/green colourblindness makes managing all of that info impossible. I am correct in saying that universe control is indicated by colour right?

simplesmiler says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:26pm

@nintendoeats, you are absolutely correct. Shame on me, I din't think this through.
I don't think I'm allowed to modify entry now, but here's a link to a version with adjusted colors:
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/36132745/14-08/simplesmiler-ld30-compo-colors.zip.
Other than colors there's no changes. Hope this will be better :)

I'm working on post-compo version, and I will definitely add an option for adjusting colors.

simplesmiler says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:28pm

Link accidentally got extra dot in the end.
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/36132745/14-08/simplesmiler-ld30-compo-colors.zip

goffmog says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:17am

Very nice! Compelling and with a wonderful mood, gets very hectic.

ViliX says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:52am

Interesting moody graphics ;)

RaycoSantana says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:17am

I quite liked this one

xandy says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:11pm

very nice graphics and music matching your game!

Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:18pm

I totally control the Verse. Thought i'd be overhelmed at first but i managed to come back stronger. Good game, vry nice visualisation.

spolsh says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:17am

Quite intuitive. This minimalistic style is magnificent. I wish such graph vis and 3d was available in terminal!

elefantopia says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 6:20pm

Beautiful graphics and controls. It's a compelling game.

plash says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 6:00am

Very, very neat. The music gives this the perfect mood of meditative strategy, and the aesthetic is fantastic. Although this world-to-world colonization system has been done by many (e.g., Eufloria and other Ludum Darians), this puts a nice spin on it.

Extra credit for using SuperCollider! I'd love to be able to make music with it some day.

A few criticisms:

1. The window is too small. This would be more immersive if I could resize the window or go fullscreen. This is a huge factor.

2. The Verse constantly shifting makes it hard to gather and send off precise amounts of a fleet.

Nitpicks:

- I can't press escape at the menu to quit the game, and there is no exit button. Minor.

- There are are multitude of empty lines emitted to stdout. Bothersome and unexpected in a terminal. (This is caused by a strangely placed print("") in your love.update() function.)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]