Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Outdoor

by Warboys - 48 Hour Compo Entry

-----
UPDATE: The gamebreaking bug is fixed! The game should no longer crash between Day 26-29
-----

Outdoor is a game where you prepare for the apocalypse, which is just outside your door.

You play as Abbie, a 17 year old girl, who is locked in her family's bunker for 30 days following a mysterious disaster that wipes out most of humanity. You are with your brother, Ethan.

Each day is a turn. You must choose whether to Study, Train, or Play... and which skills you'd like to improve.

When 30 days are over, you step outside and see if you can survive in this brave new world.

-BUGS--
There is no sound! GameMaker Studio had a fatal bug that didn't allow me to add any audio. Sorry for the silence.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#709Overall3.06
#902Graphics2.53
#1796Coolness30%

Comments

modbox says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:37pm

Very, very intresting, i like the concept.

DvanderAart says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:26pm

Game died at day 26 not 28. Retried and made it to 27.. I am thinking it may have to do with a certain amount of actions of one type? Like the concept a lot though so still going to rate it good. Interesting use of the theme too. Would have loved to know what happened after the 30 days.

OrangeeZ says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:51pm

Surprisingly, the game is really well balanced! It was fun and interesting to combine the stats and track the status of the characters. The atmosphere is also perfectly transmitted. I was very curious - what happens on the thirtieth day? But the game crashed twice when I reached 27/29 days. Sadly, because the idea is awesome.

Warboys says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:08am

Hey guys, I've fixed the bug so it should work if you feel like playing through again!

Thank you for the comments and ratings :)

Stepwise says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:49am

That was really an intriguing play, Sam! I tried three attempts at the game:

1st time I couldn't figure out the Brother's happiness was kind of a meta-energy tool for everything else and learned nothing. Got shot by scavengers.

2nd time I trained for a lot of speed and random skills - used first aid. Dodged the first bullet then got shot by scavengers.

3rd time around, there were a lot of radio blasts about bugs. I went for a balanced approach, + went with a bit of flora and fauna (but wasn't sure how much to increase?) and got eggs laid in me by a bug swarm. D: D: D: I got found out by smell even though my speed was pretty high.

I might try a playthrough or two later. Trying to figure out correlations between stats and how high I need to get them - the grisly deaths are a surprisingly effective challenge to lure me back.

SgtGorm says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:14am

Excellent concept, although i absolutely suck at this game. It was an enjoyable playthrough to see what happens :)

ninjascript says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:25am

Great idea! I still lost in the end but it was fun!

OrangeeZ says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:41am

Thanks for fixing!
> The world is no place for children.
A little bit dramatic. :(

Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:27am

Bleak game - good concept though!

RaycoSantana says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 12:53pm

I liked this one a lot, especially the idea.

Kojan says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 3:26pm

The concept is interesting, however I don't understand every options, what does it change to improve your skills ? It seems like only happiness, stress, and stamina matter. And most of the time, when I tried to decrease the stress, it just kept getting higher.
Overall I liked the game, but it lacks a bit of features ;)

davient says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 5:27pm

Loving this Sam, Against the "robots" I can survive a long time. But getting the balance right seems tricky. I cant quite figure out the effect of resolve yet either.

Warboys says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 2:41am

Thanks Dave :) Yeah I didn't have much time to balance and half the stats technically have no effects (Parenting, for example). One piece of advice is to always train sufficiently in Combat, First Aid, and Speed. Hunting, Flora & Fauna are also pretty useful depending on the type of apocalypse that's generated (Insectoids, Apes or Robots).

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]