Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Spaceway Transportation

by CodeNMore - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Spaceway Transportation Incorporated is a transportation company devoted to transporting aliens safely and happily from planet to planet. But, as a Spaceway pilot, you must be aware of flying objects and enemy ships that don't want you near their planets.

*2 Modes*
-Campaign Mode - **FITS THE THEME MORE**
- Upgrade your ship to travel to planets further away!
- Upgrade your ship's durability
- More fun - just don't crash!
-Endless Mode
- Fly endlessly through the impossible wonders of space.

Controls:
WASD/Arrow Keys to move
SPACE to fire bullets
Don't let your gun overheat, or you'll be in some trouble!

Small asteroids subtract 2 from your hull armor, large asteroids subtract 3, and enemies or projectiles subtract 1.

The grayscale graphics make for a great game feel, and the fast-paced gameplay won't let you off easy!

*Performance fix - added sleep() so not so processor-intensive*

YouTube: http://www.youtube.com/codenmore
Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/codenmore
Site: http://www.codenmore.weebly.com

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#367Humor2.65
#585Fun3.00
#704Graphics2.88
#738Mood2.78
#806Audio2.20
#909Theme2.67
#950Overall2.79
#1119Innovation2.18

Comments

mar3k says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:50am

Awesome! Really nice, but quite hard game.

Endurion says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:59pm

Sorry, no Java here.

TeamQuadratic says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:54pm

The asteroids are very hard! Otherwise, nice game!

theCoder15 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:57pm

nice gray scale graphics its also really hard

Konrad Zegis says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:09pm

Woah, little to fast for me, but I'm really impressed you managed to implement updates in such short time :D

Also I like graphics but - for so much text, I'd really appreciated if you made game window a bit bigger.

tschmitz says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:16pm

Nice shoot-em-up. Graphics are good, and the story is cute.

The initial difficulty (and element of randomness) of the game is too high for my taste. There is no penalty for failure though, which makes it not quite so bad.

It took me several attempts to complete the first mission, and I was unable to complete a second longer mission even after 50 or so attempts. I was unmotivated to "grind" on easier missions to get upgrades to make the second mission easier -- I felt like the second mission should be doable even without upgrades, and I was disappointed in myself to find that I couldn't do it.

The element of randomness is the most especially frustrating part. A fast, large asteroid is nearly unavoidable and is completely beyond the player's control.

Logan says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:02am

A little basic, and a bit unforgiving.
The enemy ships were kind of a pain to deal with, and it felt a little unfair that the asteroids wouldn't affect them at all...

43iscoding says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:42pm

Very hard game, but I liked it very much

jackyjjc says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:19pm

Graphics is nice but man it was so hard. Also one thing I noticed was you probably did not put sleep() in your drawing thread because once I started your game my laptop fan just went wild which shouldn't consider it was not a computation intensive game.

CodeNMore says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:28pm

@jackyjjc I just realized I commented out the sleep()! I'll add it now - thanks for letting me know.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:03pm

Very hard I must say. But simple and fun I guess.

Jake_Cohen says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:09pm

This is kind of neat, but the theme is taken too litearlly...

disease says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:43am

Would have been cool if the asteroids did damage to the enemy.

DrCicero says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:10am

Huh? I only get to hear a beep and see the menu, nothing happens on pressing [r], [e] or [i]...
Im on linux using the IcedTea JavaVM, if that helps.

Sorry :(

AtomicVikings says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:44pm

Awesome game! quite challenging. Would have liked to hear some music to go with though. nice work!

KingBolonzo says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:33pm

all the passengers die awww man that sux lol pretty good my game is holiday nightmare

JavadocMD says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:03pm

I like the art style, and the fact that you included an endless mode. :)

Raphael says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 3:49pm

Unfortunately, I was not able to play. Your game requires a Java installation. The download link it provided me led to the install package of Java 7. When I tried installing Java 7, it prompted me that a newer version is already installed (which is true, since I have Java 8 SDK installed). Reloading the page didn't help even though my Java is up-to-date...

Cheshyr says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 1:26pm

I would have liked to have auto-fire when you hold down space. Dodging required enough effort at times. :-) nice game.

frogcheese says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 7:07pm

This game was pretty fun, though it felt a bit unfair that the enemy ships could ignore the asteroids. Dunno how the company would feel about me getting more passengers killed than the ones I successfully shipped over. ; )

TimtheBo says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 2:06pm

Damn, this is hard and addicting! Nice job!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]