Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

IRIDESCENCE

by Pharm - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Iridescence is an endless runner type game. After a huge cataclysm the World is shattered into pieces. You, a square with eyes, have to jump between realities as you can only collide with fragments in the same color as you. And you don't want to know what's waiting below.

Made in Javascript with Phaser.io (works in Chrome and Firefox).

CONTROLS:
SPACEBAR - jump/double jump (hold for a longer flight)
A - switch to the red reality
S - switch to the green reality
D - switch to the blue reality

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness68%
#204Audio3.34
#247Graphics3.63
#387Fun3.24
#543Overall3.22
#619Mood2.90
#653Humor2.19
#669Theme3.11
#879Innovation2.74

Comments

Artamus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:37am

Nice game, congrats! I especially enjoyed the sound.

ahmedmohi says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:22am

Nice game , kinda hard .
And not sure about this effect (don't know it's name :D but the strips like it's TV) i could play long as it keep making my red :D

KeyMaster says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:30am

Very nice entry, interesting to see another take on the "worlds as colours" approach that I took as well! It's quite difficult, but in a good way. I don't know if the scanline effect isn't a bit too much, but otherwise it was great!

BitOfGold says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:21pm

A bit hard, but much fun! :) I thought "whoa, nice scanline+noise shader", but it turns out a trick with sprites, i like it!!!

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:31pm

Hey. Good solid idea, shame my endless runner skills are so bad. Loved the presentation as old-TV with visible scan lines and valve crunched sound.

kyyrma says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:43pm

Neat scanlines / noise, a pretty tricky game! I had trouble remembering which button gives me which color, so maybe an on screen indicator could make it easier.

Posva says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:30am

Simple and Nice. Well polished game

Glaydur says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:17pm

Nice game! I love the art style!

Druid says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:19pm

Funny game! But too easy :)

Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:36pm

A good solid game and nice graphics and sound. It's pretty tricky/frustrating, but in a good way.

Sanguine says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:24pm

Solid game, too difficult for me though.

43iscoding says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:42pm

Interesting game. Quite hard

dook says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:48pm

Very nice! With a little tuning this could be a really addictive little game :) (and custom controls, for some reason i found myself preferring to jump with the left hand and change colors with the right)

Hippolyta says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:08pm

A hard but nice game! I like the retro-art ;-)
Good job!

jpmit says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 2:51pm

nice game - good fun and good graphics and music!

micahcowan says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 3:22pm

Very nicely done. Simple and minimalist, but fun, complete, and polished.

hbocao says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 11:59pm

I'm not a fan of endless runners, but I liked how you use the theme on it. I really dig the art style. Very polished entry! Congrats!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 2:34am

Pretty fun game. Liked the concept but the graphics hurt my eyes.

Larzan says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 7:29am

Hehe, another filter fan, love the visuals, good idea, veeeeery hard though.
Great music, fits well, a bit too loud though.
Overall: Well done! :)

whalebot says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 11:47pm

52160 BAM! Nice work :)

chadiik says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 6:09pm

Cool! :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]