Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Through the Mirror

by cleitoneldorn - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My second Ludum Dare entry. I managed to finish it a little ahead of the schedule.

I am pretty satisfied with it, maybe I can expand on this idea after the end of the compo.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#38Theme4.11
#102Overall3.77
#163Mood3.51
#184Fun3.54
#223Audio3.31
#502Graphics3.17
#741Innovation2.91
#897Humor1.73

Comments

Ixeno says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:27am

Good challenge, and nicely polished!
Great job!

Kedume Bits says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:38am

Very sweet game. The concept reminds me to "Ditto". Very nice start with title on the scenario and good variety of levels.

Zoomyzoom says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:39am

A really nice puzzle platformer game :D Nice job!

43iscoding says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:41am

Although that game mechanics are old as the universe, you pretty much nailed it! I loved playing your game a lot. Graphics is simple and neat, and music is soothing and beautiful. Great job on this one :)

yodamaster says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:51am

Very nice. I like the moody piano music. Controls are lagging a bit. Quite challenging.

OFF says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:20pm

Nice...

The start of the game with the title was just perfect...after the idea works well but with the closed space we lack of this freedom that you give use in the first stage.

The idea works fine and is really more intersting than several connected world that i saw until now.

The music is great but the loop makes it annoying, some simple sound design will make audio even better.

A real great game with a (love) story could became a new "Thoams was alone", really!

nikki93 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:23pm

This was awesome! Lots of fun, good level design. Nice idea. Good work!

leafarz says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:01am

great game and great job! i had fun playing with the game. almost raged out while playing :))

but still i liked it. thumbs up for me :D

Crowbeak says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:54am

Nicely brain-bending.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:08pm

Nice mood and some well designed levels, great entry!

okeedokeben says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:02am

Great take on the theme. Loved the intro sequence and the music!

ajayajayaj says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:03am

Amazing Game!! Awesome job!

PapaCheech says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:06am

really fun, and you had a good amount of content too. Good job!

Logan says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:19am

It's not a new concept, but you've pulled it off really well. The whole game had a really mellow feel.

Unfortunately, the music you used doesn't qualify under the Ludum Dare competition rules. All media used in a game must be made by the game's author within the time limit.

aneeslol says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:30am

Really great aesthetic and mood!

zatyka says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:19am

You did a nice job of making simple graphics looks appealing. Smart level design, with a nice building of difficulty. My brain was pretty well trained on the mechanic by the end. The music was lovely. I enjoyed this quite a bit.

tchem says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:57am

nice!!!!

hbocao says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:32am

Cool puzzles! Nice entry, challenging and really fun to play!

Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:05pm

Love the execution of this one. Difficulty curve hits the sweet spot too.

lekochen says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:31am

Finished! Well designed levels, nicely done!

danidre14 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:05pm

I like the mechanics, but the movement was odd, like when you release a key, it'd give an extra push, as if you were on ice. :\ Not bad for box like graphics though

Kyatric says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 1:41am

Nice mood. The music was very soothing.

The first screen with the game title/tutorial works well and nice.

Later on, the challenges you provide gets harder and harder and there is a heavy cognitive charge to them. The player has to handle two "universes" at once in a very challenging/puzzling control scheme.

I disliked that some of the jumps were so "pixel perfect" due to bumping into a scenery block.

But overall a nice game, well made. Congratulation on your entry in the compo.

lekochen says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 1:13pm

Finished! I loved the pattern wallpapers, very beautiful.

cleitoneldorn says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 2:50pm

Thank you very much!

malf says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 10:09pm

Fun game. Well done! :D

NicePenguins says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 10:10pm

Nice game, reminds me of "noitcelfeR". Great job :) !

Erkberg says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 12:20am

This is great. I love the minimalistic style and the music, it really sets a nice mood. The game is very hard though, after failing more than 10 times in a level I gave up. Amazing job though, I enjoyed this very much.

Wertle says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 7:00am

The audio was very slow and pensive and relaxing, but it didn't really fit well with the more intense, hectic platforming segment. I like how you did patterns on the different sides instead of just colors, that was a nice touch. It was a little on the painfully hard side, though. Nice work for the compo!

Nick Weihs says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 7:03am

This game was difficult man! I think the intro and ending segments were really well done and set up the mood very well, but that was pretty quickly lost in how fast it ramped up. I feel like the movement momentum was totally unnecessary and made it very difficult to just where the player would go because a lot of the puzzles involved me holding the direction to push through. By the end, I was very frustrated since I felt like you really went out of your way to kill the player as much as possible. The music was soothing, but didn't really fit in well with the challenge and pacing of the game itself. Overall though, the game was nice and polished and the I felt like the puzzles were the major focus of your development with is the right way to do things for a game jam. Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]