Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Behind the Data

by Laralyn - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is more of a teaser than a complete game--it hints at the larger story. Ultimately it's an incremental game, like Cookie Clicker, although it's only got a few things to purchase right now.

Note that the source will not run, as all paid Unity add-ons have been removed. This includes Playmaker, NGUI, Playmaker NGUI scripts, and SoundManager Pro.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#37Mood3.97
#52Audio3.77
#88Graphics4.03
#116Overall3.75
#198Innovation3.65
#366Fun3.26
#653Humor2.19
#678Theme3.09
#1265Coolness48%

Comments

tiff says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:36am

Super clean! I love the style and the innovation! Great job!

ittlebit says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:20pm

Very Nice! This is one of the more solid games I've played this round. Nice to have the mechanic grow with a nice pace. Everything just melds together so well.
Great work!

Dx724 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:17pm

Fun game. The glyph only disappears after your mouse leaves and is only removed when a new glyph spawns there, so you can keep your mouse on a glyph and click multiple times and then, after your mouse has moved, if the space is still empty, you can still click to fill up the bin of the glyph that was there.

TeamOnBack says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:55pm

Solid work here. Great audio and game play. Simple yet very fun and addicting to play. I like that even though the symbols are different being the same colour on the grid makes it really hard.

holgk says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:56pm

Very nice game.

MintArcade says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:00pm

Really nice game, music are great. Great visuals

yodamaster says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:02pm

Very nice and polished system. Enjoyable!

micahcowan says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:20pm

Very nicely done. The glyph names being similar to Hebrew or some other Semitic language makes it seem like you're looking at the "Spoken Word underlying creation", and the graphics evokes the idea that we're just running in the Matrix.

Surprisingly addictive for what it is. And no losing condition (that I know of?) so, relaxing.

Tomker says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:10pm

Really clean graphics, love it. Awesome job.

43iscoding says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:18pm

I like the concept, however few things irritates me:

* You get no penalty for clicking wrong characters
* You may actually fill entire line with just one character

Those two things make game a bit too easy. However, it's still great!

wobbleboxx says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:21pm

Well done! I like the sounds and graphics :)

kyru says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:22pm

Good style to this, I think you're right in that it would make a great part of something bigger.

Kedume Bits says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:23pm

I like the concept of the game but the animation of transitions of menus are too slow. Nice sounds and graphics.

pusheax says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:28pm

Great concept. Auto mine does not work, I feel bad( Sometimes clicking on symbols from bonus bins does not work.
I feel like this game could have deeper plot and not ironic gameplay.

jpverkamp says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:38pm

Top notch audio and graphics. Bet it gets really intense as you get going. I could see this doing really well as a mobile game.

reheated says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:43pm

Fantastic presentation. I can't buy the auto mine...?

Laralyn says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:44pm

Yes, I ran out of time for auto mine--sorry! :-)

simileinchen says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:21pm

Very good Look and Feel. I was complete focus on this game. Well done!

DustyStylus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:39pm

Exuding quality and high level of finish, well done! Though, haha, wish I'd read about Auto Mine, that was driving me crazy. Intro music put me in the mind of the Deus Ex universe. Really high quality, got a few messages in English on the grid, but missed too many to get a secret message. :D

OFF says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:04pm

The introduction is amazing, the timing, the sound, the fade. The game runs pretty well, but the glyph are maybe too hard to recognize (or i'm too tired too).
The sound effect and the design of the grid are magical, i'm less fan of the part with the upgrade.
The noise flash image could be more frequent or intense, because it create this computer feeling.

I get some word in the grid, that's really a great idea.

A little bug : you can at some point have the same glyph in two slot, not really a problem, but it gives a strange feeling.

Laralyn says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:09am

Thanks for all the comments and feedback--I really appreciate it! :-)

mattperrin says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:42am

Amazing presentation. The tones, fading, interlaced look were really slick! And when English characters appeared, I had a Whoa... moment. Hope you keep working on it!

kewry says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:27am

Really like the way the glyphs sound and it feels like it can grow into a really nice incremental game

Lvyn says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:35pm

Nice game with special mood !

NightShadow0 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:54pm

This is quite interesting, very detailed worldbuilding.
I like how it expands the clicker genre by having "active waiting", but i found looking even for just two symbols at the same time overwhelming, not sure if i'm just tired haha.
Nice work!

Also, there seems to be a bug once you get more than two bins: the third glyph type won't be collected, and once you advance to the fourth, the fourth type will increment the third bin instead.

Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:43am

I really like the idea of this game a lot (being a cookie clicker fan). Love the art and sound effects and overall presentation. I would continue this on the side and finish it. Something like this could make a neat mobile or pad game for sure. Why not?

MrLeePerry says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:09pm

This is really excellent. The intro text totally works for setting the mood and making it feel like more than the sum of its parts. Really really cool!

dunin says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 6:25pm

nice directing game.
(two bugs(?) for me:
- hard clicking on one sign
- the 4th "bin" fill my 3th 'bin' and so never change his sign
with this two bugs, we can make a LOT of credits)

And I waited a 4th email... waited... waited...

Meganopteryx says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 9:15pm

Beautiful game. Very cool idea, very meta.

Laralyn says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 10:12pm

Sadly, no email beyond the third. I ran out of time! Glad you wanted to see it though, because the full version will have lots more story. And thanks for the positive feedback! :-)

01010111 says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 8:33am

Cool idea! I'm new to clicker type games, but I loved the aesthetic, the underlining story, and especially the audio! Good work!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]