Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Taxi Space

by DrCicero - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are a space taxi driver and everyone is waiting for you. Drive passengers from world to world!

How many passengers can you safely connect with their target world? Can you survive until you have $ 2000 !?

Note: You can see the Source via right-click Sourcecode. It is all one file of javascript without libraries :) . No plugins - Yeah! Web, HTML5 and Canvas!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness89%
#34Humor3.84
#158Theme3.79
#163Mood3.51
#184Fun3.54
#249Audio3.26
#263Overall3.51
#583Graphics3.06
#649Innovation3.04

Comments

sbarrio says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 9:53pm

I really like the idea, simple and fun :)

SnapDragon says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:05am

Good game

Alucard J says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:26am

Lots of nice little mechanics make this game enjoyable, dialogue keeps it interesting too. I don't know if you had time (which is fine) to add faces in the speech bubbles. If they are there, I'm using Firefox with adblockPlus just to let you know. Only thing is I personally found it a little too small. This would be more fun in late-game if the view was portrait, I was using the mini-map too much. Still, the way the perspective works and other mechanics are great. Well Done =]

DrCicero says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:48am

Ooops, forgot the faces! :)

Calciumtrice says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:54am

Fun game. Played nicely, was amusing and the story kept it fun to play through to its conclusion.

Think I spent more time looking at the mini-map than the actual world while traveling as it had the most useful info available.

sanojian says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:52am

Nice visuals and controls. Cute and funny story. I am not sure my shield ever worked. My hull went below 0 and I never crashed so I just started ignoring other cabs.

DrCicero says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:43am

? If your hull is below 0, im sure your dead! (Music stops for a second and you have to start from the beginning again.)
Maybe you didn't notice, because you skipped the textbox?

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:38am

Crazy taxi in space!
Love it

Agecaf says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:10am

Very fun dialog! I was confused after the end though, where did my passengers wanted to go?

gardenhead says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:33am

Simple and fun, really enjoyed it! It has a nice feel to it.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:14pm

Funny game, nice little story to go with it. Couldn't really figure out how the shield worked and every time I crashed I wasn't instantly destroyed either, but it was a nice game, space sure is crowded.

grifdail says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:45pm

Great ! I reall liked how the story is set up ! The differents effect are cool. It would be nice if the game was bigger whether in game (the distance between planet) and the game screen !

DrCicero says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:20pm

Thanks for playing, everyone! Maybe 'shield' was the wrong word, the 'shield' just lets you fly around without the warpbubble for a short time, because if two warpbubbles touch, your hull is damaged (by an interdimensional rift). Without your bubble you can safely cross another ships bubble.

jawm says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:42pm

Fun game, but a little easy.

Eli says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:10pm

Scumbag boss!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:57am

This is my favorite so far, I really wish I had put something like this together. Thank you for the vote, with your feedback I put more explainy-text in :)

micahcowan says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:36am

Job well done! All the more impressive for not using any libraries, all one file.

MrTambourine says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:59pm

Nice, but a bit boring.

Inateno says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:27am

Really good job

Sandcrawler says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:26am

This was a fun game, I'm not sure if it was over or not, but after the boss story finished I ended up taxing a few more planets, and then I just warp bubbled into another ship.

I made a video of it as part of my series on Ludum Dare 30 Games: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fqgDVZZ7NYQ

madmaw says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:45pm

The story line kept me playing

CodeNMore says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:33am

This was kind of my idea, just I implemented it WAY differently. This was surprisingly fun to play, I liked how you implemented the story part well.

barryrowe says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:35am

This was very enjoyable. I plan to come back and try to see what that boss did!

psychomonster says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:06am

Nice game with cool game mechanics. Like that zooming out when the taxi is accelerating. Nice Dialog system, but with faces inside the portrait boxes it would feel more atmospheric... I know time was short... It's a cool Game! Good job!

Rage Paint says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:37pm

Best part was the dialog. It was funny and well written. I think that I would have liked the speed transitions to take longer. I could speed up and slow down so quickly, that it seemed like it lost the importance that was pressed in the beginning.

Natman says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:01am

This is pretty great. There are a few typos that don't appear to be intentional, but it's still impressive that you were able to make the music, sounds, and graphics all by yourself and still have somewhat of a story included also.

AmmoreChicks says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 1:03pm

Very good game, technically speaking.

Dissiden7 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 5:26pm

Liked it! Sometimes felt like I didn't had any chance of avoiding the taxis, but didn't mind. It was fun.

Blobby101 says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 12:20am

Very good - nice, simple gameplay. The story was a great addition too, charming and pretty funny. The actually game got a bit repetitive though, especially after the dialogue stopped and there was nothing breaking it up. Great start though!

Moosefly says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 3:58pm

Stopped playing after finishing the storyline and earning 2500 spacebucks. Circling on the outskirts of the system made it pretty easy to achieve. Zoomed the window to about two times the original size, after which it became much more playable. Interesting arcade-style gameplay and a fitting aesthetic too. Only bug I noticed was the minimap going outside of its supposed box :P.

Also thanks for going to such great lengths in order to play our game!

Anssi@MooseflyGames

badlydrawnrod says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 6:37pm

I enjoyed the game. The passengers are a little on the rude side, but that's probably par for the course for taxi drivers. The other taxis are a rather aggressive which made them tricky to avoid. The pixel art worlds are charming.

Kiwiboi says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 11:07am

Nice one, I like the graphics and the gameplay is solid. Not a fan of this taxi driver, he should be happy with many passengers ;) Enjoyed the dialogue though! Well done.

rantt says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 1:03am

Fun game, the story was very entertaining. Really enjoyed it, great job!

Sep 13, 2014 @ 5:53pm

I had fun playing it. I hope you make a post-compo version and if so, I would change the following things. At first: a lot of my time I watched at the small minimap. I would remove this minimap and try to show all the required information within the game, e.g. other taxis as orange arrows at the screen's border and getting thicker the closer they are. Secondly, I recommend to make a kind of map border so the player has to cross the traffic and can't just fly round.

Sep 14, 2014 @ 3:21pm

ETC (from Creative Sectors):
It was a nifty little gem that reminds me the 90s games like Space Taxi, UGH! with the top down view similar to the shoot 'em up style. I found the game screen small on my FullHD monitor, thanks for Firefox's zoom function, so it wasn't a problem longer than 30 sec. Anyway I find the idea interesting with the funny story. Maybe a repair system give this gem a new edge.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]