Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Awe

by Oddly Shaped Pixels - Jam Entry

An interactive experience about colours and sounds.
---------------------------------------------------

"Private" lets you practice offline the concept of the game.

"Connect" will make you the host or the guest of a planet and you'll be playing with other players.

---------------------------------------------------

Controls

Use your mouse to click on the planet and find the patterns of colors to create trees, clouds, mountains. Each newly spawned objects will give you a new color to click onto.

Click outside the planet to reset the ongoing pattern.

When you click on a color, its position on the yet-to-find patterns is shown to you by rotating the small white triangles.

Press "R" to restart the game.

---------------------------------------------------

For Oddly Shaped Pixels, all credits to R3nD (the cats didn't really help on this one)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness78%
#7Innovation(Jam)4.37
#8Audio(Jam)4.40
#22Mood(Jam)4.10
#29Overall(Jam)4.05
#37Graphics(Jam)4.45
#129Fun(Jam)3.53
#372Theme(Jam)3.18
#437Humor(Jam)2.30

Comments

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:38am

Nice game, but I think that the game keeps giving me Always the same colors.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:33am

Thanks for the feedback.

Sadly the game is definitely buggy, I rushed it too much I think... I'd like to know more about your bug cause I haven't experienced it.
Is the color always dark blue?

I know there's a bug between Chrome and Unity WebPlayer that forces you to switch tab or to resize the browser window for the game to work properly...

Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:31am

Beautiful and relaxing. I tried the multiplayer mode but I didn't notice any other player, probably there wasn't many people playing at the same time... I'll try again later cos I want to know what that last line does! :D

Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:05am

This is beautiful. Multiplayer worked for me and was an experimental joy. Brilliant.

Ludipe says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:11am

Great game, the multiplayer experience and the overall gameplay was very interesting and stimulating. Both graphics and sound design were awesome.

What I didn't like about the game is that it was supposed to be stimulating and relaxing but ended up being frustrating. I understood the mechanics and knew what I had to do, but the game requires too much precision to complete the tasks. So there's a conflict there, music and art tell me to take it easy and think camly, while gameplay keeps frustrating me.

¡Te ha quedado genial el juego! :D

Headmade says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:41am

Nice and relaxing. Audio and visuals work very well.

dustyroom says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:04pm

Loved it!

vctr_seleucos says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:45pm

Really beautiful and nice, loved it. The concept the graphics and the feeling. Really nice entry!

leafarz says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:45pm

very beautiful and soothing game. tho i had some issues clicking some parts that gave a wrong color.
even so, the look and the music very much made me stay to play the game a lot more! didn't care about the bugs actually lol. the game still made me want to play more! :D

(Not) Ivano says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:11pm

What a game! Experimental, extraordinary, well executed.

rogueNoodle says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:52pm

Really nice concept - I had a hard time registering certain colours which made the longer patterns very tricky, but the presentation here was incredible. Awesome job.

igoramendola says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:14pm

Really interesting and relaxing. Nice graphics and good music.
It's a promising idea and I want more items to play/create :P haha
Good work ;)

Dohan says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:45pm

Very beautiful and relaxing entry :)

lekochen says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:03am

Very beautiful, I loved it!

Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:23am

Great entry. Clever. took a while to figure out the mechanics but once I did it was fun. Neat idea. Good mood.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:03am

Thank's a lot for all the comments!

Sometimes picking up the right colors may be a bit tricky and I'm still looking for a better color recognition algorithm. What helps is spawning lots of the same objects so that you can have different light exposures and be able to easily pick the color you want.

deepnight says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:00pm

Very good experiment! I totally love the blurry/depth of field effect. It took me a lot of time do get the color-based mechanic. At first, I thought the tone was related to the height of the triangle. Then I noticed the clue you added in the upper-left corner :)

Canyon says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:13pm

5 Stars for everything but humor. One day I will make a game this good. :)

dickpoelen says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:11pm

That's just amazing!

Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:24am

Beautiful sandbox! Love the music and mood!

GreyShock says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:40pm

I've built a lot of semen extractors but the planet never runs empty, what's the matter?

Also, MOUNTAINS http://i.imgur.com/TKUMuRm.png

GreyShock says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:00pm

MOAR: http://i.imgur.com/F9OC7D4.png

INC$D021 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:03pm

WOW!! And then some. :) Almost ran out of stars to give... ;)

yodamaster says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:51pm

Nice concept, but I could get only trees, no other combination of colors worked.

nonetheless says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:34pm

Very nice idea and amazing execution. Great job :)

wdebowicz says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:30pm

I completely agree with Ludipe. Idea is simply great, but it's very hard do place something other then a tree. I ended up with possibility to use red, blue, and dark blue colour, but I can't get the green colour (well I get it 2 times but with completely random clicking 100 times). Anyway, one of the most interesting Idea I saw this LD. If you like fun with colours, you may try my entry.

kaa says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:16am

Very nice game. Sound and graphics are beautiful! Thank you!

Vidd says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:51am

Excellent. The graphics were lovely and the concept was novel.

DragonInstall says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 2:25am

Love the graphics and sfx. Very relaxing game. GG!

RobotFriend says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 2:50am

beautiful.. took me a minute to figure it out

alvivar says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 3:36am

I love it.

tmpxyz says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 3:55am

nice game, hope to have more things to add

Shivur says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:12am

Original and relaxing game.

zazery says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:01am

I spent a long time just playing with it creating music before actually trying to figure out the patterns. It was a bit frustrating with everything rotating to hit the correct colours sometimes. Great job overall!

cobrajs says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:49am

Beautiful and very unique. Nice job!

iSamurai says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 9:36am

Impressive graphics and mood creation! The gameplay is innovative too! Like it!

pa3kc says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:08am

Visually awesome!

BeardaNeerz says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:45am

One of my favorite game ! I love the sound design.

Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:53am

Beautiful graphics, amazing sounds, and incredibly smooth. Very well done! One of the best entries I've seen so far. :)

fil00dl says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:04pm

excellent idea, very good realisation for this relaxing game

Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:22pm

I love the art style.

Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:57pm

Awazing audio-visual masterpiece! Congrats!
5 stars!

hate-marina says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 2:54pm

Quite complicated

stasss says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 3:21pm

Awesome. Great idea, great rendition. And a very interesting technical implementation (if some tutorials, sources) available it would be great to see. I really really like this game, i think it should be at the top

LTyrosine says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 3:32pm

Absolutely amazing. Player actions blends seamless with background music as almost part of it. Beautiful graphics, nice sounds. I can only complain about not so good theme link.

bluemaroo3 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 4:27pm

Beautiful game and fantastic use of sound. Soon have my little world kitted out and wanted to build new things :D A lovely experience :)

Aug 30, 2014 @ 4:59pm

Nice game with beautiful graphics and a great mood.

Scott Baker says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:13pm

Great game. I don't see the theme except the multiplayer, but that's not really a complaint or critique because it's still an awesome and beautiful game.

Saphyre1306 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:50pm

Very poetic, I liked it !

cardboard says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:59pm

This game's atmosphere is grand; the sound effects and ambient music fit very well.

OrangeeZ says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:36pm

Very strong entry, the atmosphere and sound is really impressive. Lag and lack of communication shows though - me and my partner had big troubles playing right notes, while almost at the same time we both realised the way the mechanics worked.

Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:50pm

very cool, i didnt know what to do at first to get new colors, but later on is fun and i like the atmosphere.

Lokarunith says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:55am

Beautiful game.

rfgpfeiffer says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 12:41pm

It's like the next step in the evolution of the genre after "Mountain". In this game, you can make more mountains. Brilliant!

hadesfury says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:02pm

Great ... More pattern needed :D

SteveSalmond says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 8:12am

Well, I was having a bit of a crappy day until now. Your game cheered me up! Thanks :D

OxyOxspring says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 1:17am

An absolutely exquisite experiment experience!

JavadocMD says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 5:07am

A really cool experience! Nicely done.

Sep 2, 2014 @ 7:13am

Thanks for all the nice comments, I' m really pleased to see that people also like calm and relaxing games :)

@Stasss I'd be glad to send you the source, although it's lots of "jam" code, that means not really commented and not really optimized :) Contact me by mail!

@Scott Baker The theme is indeed in the multiplayer aspect and the "connection" that you can establish with a stranger without any words.


@SteveSalmond That's maybe the best and most rewarding comment someone could ever make, thanks!

PixelArtM says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 3:11pm

Good work! ¡Felicidades! ;)

foolmoron says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 2:50am

Incredibly good concept. The way the colors change as the planet rotates is genius. I couldn't get multiplayer to work though...

Literal Games says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 10:12pm

Nicely done! Personally I preferred playing without your description, figuring out the gameplay on my own after being linked to it by Rock Paper Shotgun (congrats!)

eatsleepindie says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 6:33am

Incredible entry. You did an amazing job tying the music and graphics together with the gameplay.

chadiik says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 6:15pm

Amazing, I loved the mood in there! :)

Fanttum says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 9:37pm

Wow, a really cool experience. Took a while to figure out, but once I got it, a lot of fun

local minimum says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 4:08pm

It took me a little while to get started but once I realized it was a twist on mastermind and that the appearing features were usable (the last was the largest obstacle) it was really quite nice. I played solo, and nothing happened once I had solved all the four features possible solving, so if there was more to it, it should probably be made clear and if that was the end, a "Congratulations" would have been nice.

Anyhow, a really great entry and a great start for a larger game.

pythong says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 8:11am

has a nice atmosphere

Sep 11, 2014 @ 4:01pm

Psssst - you are in today's episode of Ludum Dare to Believe! Check it out at - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BiOCPZZx_Fc

Rick Hoppmann says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 12:09pm

Super cool!
Love the art and the gameplay concept!
The audio is just awesome! :)
You had me with creating a world :)

LeafThief says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 7:09am

I had a hard time finding the combinations. Still a nice experience! Good job!

jackyjjc says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 11:20pm

Nice visual and audio! It is relaxing but it is a bit frustrating to try out all different possible combinations.

LeftRight92 says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 2:59pm

Lovely game (well, less 'game' more 'art piece') I really enjoyed it.

mechabit says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 11:05pm

nice experiment, took me a while to realise that the shade of a poly is what mattered and not the position on the planet

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]