Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

AIlocation

by Ping78 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

About the game:
This is my second Ludum Dare game.
You are AI and have the ability to warp between electronics. If you warp wirelessly you immediately get control over it. If you connect to it via Sci-fi USB you "travel" to virtual world and have ability to travel to any connected piece of electronics to that bus.

Controls:
Use Q or left mouse button to switch wirelessly to electronics object, note that not all objects have a wireless module. E or right mouse button to switch to electronics object without wireless module, note you need to be close. Use WASD or arrow keys when in object which has ability to move. Mouse to lock around. Space to jump, hold space to jump higher.

So since I needed to fix that bug where you have ability to click warp button again for a half second after the start of warp, which makes that you dont get the ability to control that object. I decided to put some instructions in the game(that white text in the upper middle of the screen), because they help player to not get lost and confused, also you can always turn them off in the Main Menu.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#32Innovation4.16
#84Graphics4.05
#121Theme3.85
#269Overall3.50
#272Mood3.33
#451Fun3.16
#554Audio2.72
#1626Coolness37%

Comments

diamondgfx says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:32pm

Graphics were pretty neat, although the platforming section is difficult to judge distances and jump appropriately. Also, I kept getting stuck in the robot but not controlling it so I had to restart a lot.

fleegle2000 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:39pm

I liked the connection to the theme, and the ability to take over electronics as a mechanic. I was however unsure what I was supposed to do in cyberspace. I went to the one glowy thing and it didn't do anything. I'm guessing you are supposed to visit both of them, but I went to wrong one first and was too frustrated to try it again, after surviving that gauntlet of jump puzzles. I think some hints or instructions about what you need to do in that section would help immensely and reduce frustration. Also, fewer jump puzzles :). Don't get me wrong, I think this game has some great potential and I really love the atmosphere. The visual effects are very well done too.
Look forward to future developments!

stoz says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:50pm

Definitely like the overall trajectory of this game. Might have been a bit too ambitious for a jam game, but sometimes it's good to take a large bite and see what happens.

Great job!

drakfyre says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:14am

Very nice entry! Brutal platforming near the top there! ;D

liquidminduk says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:34am

very difficult in places (which i liked)
It would be good to tighten up the controls a little
Good entry overall

TeamQuadratic says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:43am

I wanted to like this game. I really did. The concept is amazing and has a ton of potential. Unfortunately, the controls are so floaty that platforming is near impossible. This is exacerbated by the fact that every time you die you have to start completely over. I really want to see this game improved, and I'm certain it could be a success if it was.

Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:11am

Great game! I love the core idea. But jumping sequence is so difficult.

Crosstales says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 9:49pm

Good game with nice graphics!
Well done!

ra4king says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 10:12pm

Excellent game with great potential. This is a very unique idea, and I would love to see it being built on in the future.

TKia_ says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 10:59pm

I loved the graphics while inside the wired connections. Graphics were cool in general, sound was aight, and the platforming was light and easy to control; which made it fun. That's right. You made fun first-person platforming. God bless.

alangamebot says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 4:00am

Cool game. The graphics were really great.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]