Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Teleporter Escape!

by kyru - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Teleporter Escape! is a simple game where you are a robot running around on an alien world killing monsters to get the pieces of your teleporter back. Once you collect 5 pieces you can travel to the next world to do it all over again. After 4 worlds you will win and make it back home.

The game controls using the Arrow Keys to move and the X key to wait in place. Monsters only move when you press a key, either moving or waiting. To attack a monster you have to be next to it and move into the monster. A new monster will appear every 8 moves and deadlier monsters appear as you collect more teleporter pieces.

Since it's Java based I'm distributing it in a runnable JAR file. In theory it should work cross-platform, but I only tested on Windows, let me know if there are any issues on other systems. The Source is a zip of the LibGDX generated Eclipse projects.

I used Java, LibGDX, Paint.NET, sfxr, and autotracker to make the game.

The game is very hard right now, if I do any more with the game one of the first priorities would be to tweak the difficulty.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness80%
#367Audio3.03
#419Humor2.53
#623Fun2.97
#700Mood2.82
#891Theme2.71
#912Overall2.83
#973Innovation2.54
#1020Graphics2.31

Comments

Endurion says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:02am

Sorry, no Java here.

pighead10 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:17pm

Nice idea and gun gameplay. Ranged guys are such a pain.

uprightpath says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:53pm

Oh, dear lord, the movement! The movement was rather hard on the eyes.

modbox says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:00pm

I really liked the cartoony graphics and the turned based mechanics!

fcpfoof says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:29pm

Very cool game ;D. Was it inspired by ET for Atari2k6 (because of the teleporter vs phone reference) ;p?

elemel says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:35pm

Well done, I enjoyed it! Wasn't able to complete it, though.

Alucard J says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:47pm

Was hard to manage energy with the random drops (more chance of ranged enemies dropping energy perhaps?). Camera needs to be smoother when moving, but I liked the turn-based control. I liked the graphic style and the robot, and the music is excellent. Good Job.

erdnuss says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:47pm

Interesting game, nice graphics. I enjoyed playing it!

ericdpitts says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:06am

Fun little rogue-like game, I liked the music! The camera movement was a bit jarring, and the ranged enemies felt a little unfair.

Hempuli says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:44pm

Easy and fun to play! The gameplay is surprisingly tactical, although I couldn't figure out how to approach the shooting enemies without getting hit. Nice!

Tifu says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:01pm

Very hard indeed! Regening health between levels might have been fairer. I got as far as level two :P

fleegle2000 says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 7:12pm

I like the turn-based mechanic. The graphics and sound need some polish, but you managed to produce a lot of content in 48 hours. Are the levels procedurally generated?

Mach60KAS says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 12:26am

Pretty fun, although most of the ranged enemies are a little too strong!

whalebot says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 4:48pm

Those ranged guys owned my face so hard... Nice work :)

Riley Adams says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 6:45pm

Interesting mechanics. A bit hard for me, but nicely done!

frogcheese says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 6:52pm

Got really hard once those ranged guys got started. Pretty cool rogue-like-ish game, but probably a bit too difficult for me. : )

Natrium729 says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 12:41am

A really nice game, with interesting mechanics. The camera need to be smoother, though. Also, the enemies are too strong, I could not pass the first level!
Could become a good game with some more balancing and mechanics.

klianc09 says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 7:51pm

Simple but effective gameplay. The camera movement was a bit wonky. Also sometimes not all key presses would register.
I wouldn't say it's hard, I would say it's impossible. The ranged enemies are simply too strong and one can do nothing against them. Either give them less range or a slower rate of fire.
But I really enjoyed the music.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]