Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Labyrinth Challenge

by Green Lightning - 48 Hour Compo Entry

In Labyrinth Challenge you navigate a multi-dimensional maze trying to find the treasure.

Controls: Arrow keys to move, space to use teleporters.

More information: Each maze consists of three worlds, the top one has grass floor, the middle one dirt floor and the bottom one stone floor. The teleporters connect the worlds. Blue teleporters will bring you to the world below the one you are currently in and the orange ones will bring you to the world above.

The mazes are randomly generated. Once you have beaten a maze, the difficulty increases and the next one will be bigger.

For the desktop version: F2 saves a screenshot next to the jar file, F11 toggles fullscreen mode.

Technical notes:

The online version requires WebGL and the desktop version requires Java. The source code is provided as a zip file containing the LibGDX project and git directory. To import the source code, extract the contents of the zip file, open Eclipse and select File - Import... - Gradle - Gradle Project, then select the extracted folder, hit build model, select all projects and click on finish. If this does not sound familiar to you, please google and follow some LibGDX tutorials, because your computer needs to be set up correctly for development with LibGDX.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#562Theme3.25
#747Graphics2.81
#788Overall2.97
#811Fun2.75
#866Audio2.04
#887Innovation2.71
#915Mood2.55

Comments

LostTrainDude says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:51am

A maze game with an interesting twist. If I could change something, I would make the camera zoom less. I think that part of the game is to remember where to go, but still :)

Anyway this is just a simple suggestion, the game is really nice and fun. Congratulations!

modbox says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:09pm

Wow I LOVED the game, much better than mine but simmilar concept.

modbox says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:15pm

Wow I LOVED the game, much better than mine but simmilar concept. Hey could you do me a fovour and see why the rainbow witches go out the walls?

Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:14pm

@LostTrainDude Maybe I should have changed the zoom, but I wanted the view to be rather limited, like in a real maze. I think if you could see everything it would be boring...

@modbox Sure thing, look at your game's page, I left a comment there...

Naytron says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:01pm

The close cropped camera is clever, helps replicate the need to remember your path like when navigating a maze in real life.

Cool idea, but it makes playing the game more trial and error than logic due to having no clue where the goal is. Maybe there could be an indicator which shows the direction of the goal but not the level?

kyyrma says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:26pm

A bit too trial and error for my tastes, but very built very solid. Enjoyed the smooth scrolling and animation though.

MintArcade says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:30pm

Nice game. I like this type of connecting world games, like mine :) Super cool graphics and gameplay is very smooth... Great job.

lkr says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:28pm

Interesting concept with multiple labyrinth dimensions. Easy to get lost though :)
Fun game!

keddelzz says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:28am

Nice game!

cheers ~ keddelzz

snooze82 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:34pm

nice game, but lost in try and error in the 4th or 5th maze

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:14pm

Hi there. The movement seems pretty slow and clunky, not sure why - might be my computer and web browser W8.1/Chrome.

Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:30am

Nice concept

MCGillie says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 1:51pm

Awesome

twintrite says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 12:37pm

Nice little game :)
Just lacks a bit of motivation to find the fastest path. I just ran around and then more accidentally found the treasure/briefcase or whatever that was ^^
maybe put a visual timer in the game. and for the navigation maybe a map to show which "floor/dimension" your on/in.
Oh and the success sound came very late sometimes (after 2-4 sec) when I clicked space too fast after winning.

arhpositive says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 12:37pm

Good entry, the zoom level is ideal imo as it gives the game increased difficulty. I couldn't figure out the way out in the level which comes after the first medium difficulty level.

frogcheese says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 1:03pm

Really polished and smooth graphics! Maze games aren't really my thing, but I can appreciate that this is a pretty good effort for a 48-hour game, considering the mazes are procedurally generated.

dadman says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 3:41pm

Cool little puzzle game! Would be nice if the camera was a bit further out so I could figure out the maze and plot my route without having to stumble around as much. Still good fun though!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]