Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Shattered Worlds

by BadgerPriest - Jam Entry

Oh no! All of your games have been destroyed and thrown in the trash. Who could have done such a thing? An old high school bully? Your mom??

In the puzzle-platformer, Shattered Worlds, you play as a lost sprite looking for his home game, all while collecting the pieces of other games, "bit" by bit. One day you hope to be able to put them back together again, but in the meantime, you can use this collection of past levels to beat future ones.

Progress through the game by overlaying levels you have completed on top of the current level.

Controls:

Left/Right : move
# keys : overlay the corresponding level (you can only overlay one level at a time)
ESC : remove overlay
R : restart level

Credits:

Alex Nisnevich, Greg Shuflin, Natasha Hull-Richter, Tikhon Jelvis - programming
Beth Marrone, Jordan Arnesen - game design
Jordan Arnesen - graphics
Beth Marrone - words
Aylan Mello - music

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness88%
#46Theme(Jam)3.95
#48Innovation(Jam)3.86
#154Humor(Jam)3.09
#173Fun(Jam)3.42
#248Overall(Jam)3.41
#363Mood(Jam)3.12
#377Audio(Jam)3.07
#509Graphics(Jam)3.05

Comments

mess110 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:24pm

cool idea. hook you right in. the hint system is awesome

blindfox says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:31pm

What a neat little game. I don't think I have ever seen this idea implemented quite like this. Of course many this jam have used the "change level lay out by toggling objects" but using previous levels is kind of inspired. I like it a lot, though the sound and control could use a bit of work. Also, an overlay option for displaying a platform before it is used could help for later levels when you have a lot of options. Wasn't expecting much out of this but was very surprised, honestly. Stick with this idea because it is pretty unique as far as I can tell. Also, well done on the humor. Very well written and not cringe inducing at all like some of what I have seen.

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:32pm

It took me forever to get past the bees! lol. This was a good game. The audio choices were good too. The music made me enjoy the game more. Good luck!

Donar says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:37pm

I like this one a lot. Very cool idea.

hogtrick says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:04pm

Very cool idea. Loved to play your game.

nonetheless says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:20pm

Nice concept, gets quite tricky quick :)

Ramori says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:20pm

Nice game, I really like the idea of overlaying levels. It has potential, very inspirational. Also good music :)

Mnemusyne says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:21pm

Great level design, gratz.

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:32pm

Hi there. Great idea, my skills only got me through 1-4, but I can see the fun here. Nice SFX and visuals, great overall concept!

mramaizng says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:13pm

Great humor. Solid effort!

Danman9914 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:16pm

Interesting use multiple layers of Geo! Became challenging pretty quick the deeper you get into accessible layers

sekaru says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:36pm

I'm pretty inept at puzzle games but from what I saw it seemed like a really solid game with good level design and a unique main mechanic.

lkr says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:45pm

Very unique idea!
Really liked the visuals and audio also.

I enjoyed finding the right world to use to solve the levels, but it seemed like the space levels with low gravity let me solve most of the later levels pretty easily. Not sure if this was intended.

Fun game - would love to see more of it :)

Will Edwards says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:59am

Really exceptionally well thought out and polished little game. Despite it being quite a hard game, the hint system didn't leave you wondering what to do.

Posva says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:11pm

Very impressive. I really like the idea and the hint system

Nooner Bear says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:12pm

I didn't quite understand what I was doing at first, but then it clicked. Neat idea!

LandoSystems says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:52pm

Great game! Humorous, clever puzzles, and cute visual style. Good work!

Noah Ratcliff says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 11:52pm

Very cool and innovative mechanic. Well thought out.

Raphy says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 7:33am

Nice idea! I also love the visual style, well done!

Crefossus says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 7:50am

Movement was a little frustrating for a platformer but I guess it was supposed to be nonstandard.

Great take on the theme.

Some of the sfx (bfxr?) were a little abrasive. I loved the music.

pjimmy says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 11:23am

very nice, well done :)

Njord says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 7:45am

Very nice idea !

TimtheBo says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 3:34pm

Rellay enjoyed the game! The way how the possibilities increase each time you succeed is sweet.

local minimum says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 5:31pm

Really like the game, completed 4 levels but "space 1" I gave up. I needed one hint, but that was because I didn't realize the numbers next to the levels also indicated keys I should press. Maybe the game could track if the player has used the number-trick and if not and died 3 times on "Ice 1" then have a nice little arrow point out that this would be a good time to start using the numbers.

nothke says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 6:23pm

Really cool game, love the concept of merging different levels. Each puzzle is well designed too (although I didn't finish the game)

klianc09 says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 7:29pm

I like the idea, and the music is pretty rad. Took me a while to realize that also gravity is affected by whatever world I overlay...
Jumping was sometimes a little bit buggy at edges, but nothing too critical. I just think the last level is supposed to be a bit lower...

mcapraro says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 5:53pm

neat idea and good execution

Sep 14, 2014 @ 9:25pm

Love the concept! I included it in part 25 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series, if you’d like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/mlEPiXm0ehY

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]