Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Inverted | Endless Runner

by oranebeast - 48 Hour Compo Entry



Heyo!
It's oranebeast and this is my early entry into Ludum Dare 30
Made with a GameMaker, Inverted is an endless runner about
two entities in separate worlds connected by their ability to switch places.

Controls :
Z - Swap

Game-play :
Make sure you don't die, Red spikes won't hurt red, And blue spikes won't hurt blue. Bombs clear the screen and shields act as invulnerability

Source :
I don't want you to copy my game, But I'm fine with you exploring and learning lazy things from it. All rights reserved to me.

WARNING : If the game is told to be malicious by chrome or browser, its not. I would never harm you guys.

More Games :
I understand its hard to find good games after playing some, So here is a list I compiled.

Jellonator
Yellow Afterlife
True Vahalla
Greaser
Crefossus
bitslap
Jacob123
bfusion
Sheepolution
Majko
PoV
AutumnGuy
tacospice
Jedi
Jeviny
cardboard
NelioGD
awsumpwner27
drnick
Bcadren
BlackBirdPC
Crefossus
managore
RevoluGame
zapaman
JM-DG

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#213Audio3.32
#369Graphics3.40
#407Humor2.55
#443Fun3.17
#475Theme3.36
#555Overall3.21
#667Mood2.86
#801Innovation2.83

Comments

Alx101 says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 6:21am

It's fun, but I think I'm getting a bug. Sometimes there are two blue spikes over each other, sometimes they're red, sometimes the blue spikes don't hurt red and sometimes they hurt blue.

Vallar says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 6:50am

Played the game and I can report the same bug as Alx101 and the random death thing you mentioned in the Readme.

I like the music although I think it is a tad loud.

Good work, if it weren't for the random death bug I wouldn't have stopped playing for some time :D

Geti says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 6:58am

Kinda fun but yeah the "random kill" glitch makes it very frustrating to play. Also had a couple of "maybe technically possible" moments where there was a red spike both sides and a frames window to swap - early on in the game this is pretty annoying :^)

BlueSama says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 8:16am

Very fun, enjoyable game
Mind Blowing

renatopp says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:25am

Brain hurt! (specially because the random kill and the dead ends). It would be really cool without these bugs, good job.

obs. that loud music scared the hell out of me.

oranebeast says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:26am

Sorry about the music, I tried to tone it down... buut......

shatterhand says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:28am

The game is bugged, like it has already been reported (I die for no reason, sometimes two spikes of same color appear at the same time). It's a good game, it just need the bugs ironed out.

NickFrushour says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:31am

Really fun when it works right! Good job!

HuntTheWumpus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:07am

fun little game!

Mr.Cassels says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:18am

nice game, but well... bugs.
that said, it's a rockin' good time until a glitch pops up!

Skills641 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:21am

The randomness makes it so there is no way you can survive

manabreak says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:21am

Heya! I liked it, although it felt a bith glitchy at times, pretty much the same issues others have reported. Other than that, I think this could make a cool little mobile game. :)

Jupitron says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:28am

First of all Ive read your readme file, it worth it! Made 29 points. Please add some leaderboards! Really nice graphics and music!

Crefossus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:08am

So... The bugs are holding it back from getting a 5/5 in fun. It's so close. I like the art style.

cardboard says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:01am

The pixel art is very nice, and everything blends together fairly cohesively. The music is nice and fits the game well. If there were no bugs, I can see myself enjoying this game (even more). The random deaths were quite funny to me, but basically eliminate the competitiveness since it is more "player versus game" than "player versus player". My high score is currently.

cardboard says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:29am

34. My high score is currently 34.

hungyg says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:18am

A little buggy as some before me have said, but a great idea, complete with fitting graphics!

kidando says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:20am

pretty awesome stuff. congrats on finishing the game. I like the music :)

X-0r says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:45pm

Cool stuff! The game was really fun to play, and challenging aswell.

Btw, I also encountered the "random death bug" - maybe you have a second level running in parallel or something?

Chris_E says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:35am

Pretty fun, lots of potential.

varun says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:29am

Actually enjoyed this a lot - was able to take the essence of many split platformers and boil it down to a single button. This needs to be a mobile game.

C_Walden says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:33am

Aside from the die-for-no-reason bug, that's pretty fun! I think it can be a little tricky sometimes to tell what's a power-up and what's an obstacle. The music sounds a little harsh, but the sound effects are nice. Overall, I liked it.

dylanigan says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:59pm

Neat game. Love the music. A tip: When you put your LD entry on dropbox take the URL (https://www.dropbox.com/s/nmmfjnjhocl7x8k/Inverted-LD30.zip) and change the www.dropbox.com to dl.dropbox.com, (http://dl.dropbox.com/s/nmmfjnjhocl7x8k/Inverted-LD30.zip). This will make the game download immediately, without the annoying Dropbox download page.

commodoreKid says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:01pm

Nice little game. The sudden death bug really exist though and I couldn't figure out how to win when both sides have same color of obstacle. Oh also music is good.

Super Hamster says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:34pm

A little confusing to understand at first but once you get in the flow its quite fun. I really liked the idea. Good job! :D

43iscoding says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:41am

You seem to use both this LD theme and previous theme aswell :D
Simple game, simple graphics, but it all seems very organic and lovely!

drnick says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:00pm

testing123

djdduty says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:01pm

testing123

djdduty says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:55am

Umm... I didn't write that comment, really confused by that...?

Teesquared says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:57am

Great take on the theme. Fix those glitches and it will be awesome. One button to rule them all.

ratking says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:22am

A great game, only dragged down by its frustrating glitches. Improve it soon! :)

Menesetsu says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 3:49pm

Very fun runner. But i did not get what items i can pick up and what i can't.

pighead10 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:29pm

Simplistic but fun, although the randomly dying bug really hurts the game. You might want to fix that for the rest of the judging, it was very frequent. Nice music.

liquidminduk says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 3:56am

wish I could survive.
My mind was pretty cluttered playing this, haha
I liked your visual style, and I actually enjoyed the music

Nick Weihs says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 6:27am

The base mechanic is pretty good. You need to make it so that there are no impossible situations. The music was nice and intense. The small spikes were difficult to differentiate especially when they were on the blue side.

Wertle says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 6:29am

Nice work on this, I liked seeing the Ikaruga-style mechanics in a runner, which I don't believe I've seen before. If you continue this I would recommend a method of ensuring you don't get "impossible" spawns or long stretches of spawns where you don't have to interact (you can do this a couple ways, one way is pre-designing segments that work really well and just procedurally generating the segments, or you can figure out the minimum distance needed to swap and make sure things don't spawn under that distance). Since swapping is the only mechanic you could really play up the polish on those characters and have them animating super cute! Playtest with the colorblind :) Overall really nice work!

jellonator says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 7:32pm

Pretty fun and simple. The random death bug is annoying, and sometimes you would get two blue spikes on both the top and bottom. Other than that, nice game.

plash says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 12:40am

A twitch-motion game.. with only one dimension of movement and only one key; not too compelling. Maybe more variability in the game world (powerups, powerdowns, etc.) would make it better. The music isn't my jam, but it fits the game well enough. Spontaneous death is really bothersome.

TobiasW says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 8:29pm

Best (and luckiest) run: 41, and then a glitch killed me. Aww. I really like the pixel graphics!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]