Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Defend the Planets!

by alhvi - Jam Entry

This planets are connected. They share energy. The energy is used to shoot and destroy enemy invaders. Transfer the energy between planets to support the one that's under heavy attack.

Created by Cavi and Alhvi using ImpactJS engine. We hope you like it :D

Music: "Rocket" by Kevin MacLeod (incompetech.com)
Licensed under Creative Commons: By Attribution 3.0
http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#37Theme(Jam)4.00
#47Fun(Jam)3.80
#84Overall(Jam)3.75
#113Innovation(Jam)3.60
#215Mood(Jam)3.40
#260Audio(Jam)3.33
#295Graphics(Jam)3.58
#1265Coolness48%

Comments

riktothepast says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:31pm

Fun and very well done. Congratulations!.

Vidsneeze says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:52pm

There's soo much strategy that goes on playing this game he he

foobraco says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:37pm

Great strategy game, I really like how it handles the distribution of resources and the way it makes you choose between upgrades each wave.

inakrinat says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:21am

Nice one! Very good!

Mapboy says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:45am

Neat little game. Enjoyed it!

Chaoslab says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:06am

That was some fun, Like the music. Well done! :-)

radmars says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:16pm

Nice! Clever mechanic that fit perfectly with the theme! Really fun.

elkiwydev says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:24pm

Looks good, good job

leafarz says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:43pm

very simple, very micro-y but very fun game!
would be useful i think if you add shortcuts for transferring energies.
nice game and great job!

fauge says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 12:49am

great little game, could be other planetary upgrades as well

Miziziziz says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 12:52am

Very solid game and nice music.
Would like to see more strategy options and more enemies, but otherwise it's a unique defense game

villhest says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 7:57am

Nice defense!

tiff says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 12:06am

Really fun and very well done! I also loved the music!

Riley Adams says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 6:41pm

Nice work, fun mechanic!

Dry Tree says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 6:51am

Very good game, and well fitted to the theme. Just a thought: It would be nice if I didn't have to click to transfer energy and instead it tracked my mouse position and distributed energy automatically based on how close my pointer was to each of the three planets - I think that would make the game more dynamic and I'd feel more powerful playing it.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]