Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Hello Worlds

by dustyroom - Jam Entry

Two distant worlds need to be connected smoothly.

Controls: Click where you want to place/change a tile.
Post-compo controls: Click and drag where you want to place/change a tile.

Everything was created from scratch for the jam.
Art: Volodymyr Dzitsiuk
Code: Max Dzitsiuk

Comments are welcome, man.

Please follow us on Twitter: @dustyroomgames

Soundtrack: https://soundcloud.com/dstrm/hello-worlds

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#9Audio(Jam)4.33
#19Innovation(Jam)4.20
#19Graphics(Jam)4.55
#25Overall(Jam)4.06
#41Fun(Jam)3.82
#64Mood(Jam)3.86
#148Theme(Jam)3.66
#324Humor(Jam)2.53

Comments

SaintHeiser says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:11am

Idea is cool and good theme interpretation.
BUT TOOOOOOO HARD!!!
Controls are awful. Dumn click-click-click-click-click-click-click-click-click-click-click-click-click-click-click-click-click-click-clicking to cmpelte the level and place needed block.

Visuals and audio are awesome, yeah!

leafarz says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:55am

great idea! also, the textures and the looks are awesome.

have to point out the clicking part. i don't know what type of block will come first sometimes the left diagonal sometimes the right and sometimes the straight.
also it's pretty fast (or maybe that's just me)
but pretty great game you have here! would want to see this game soon if there will be updates! good job!

louis.denizet says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:13am

It's very nice looking, a bit hard indeed! ^^

sol_hsa says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:15am

Like others have stated, the game is way too hard from the start.. I'd slow it down, and have an indicator that shows the four blocks and what will appear next.

polarkac says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:16am

Awesome idea, but as someone pointed out before me. You dont know what blocks will come when you click, there should be some icon which will be next.

oakus says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:16am

really fun and polished game, although quite hard for me, I'd really like to try next levels! make it more accessible! :)

LuisDC says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:17am

The ideal is cool and well implemented, but it is too hard for me. It happens the same as leafarz, I don't know whch block is coming when I click and it's too fast.

I really liked the graphics and music.

Adam Thompson says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:19am

Beautiful graphics :) it is a bit hard though. I wish the 3 different tiles were mapped to buttons and I could just move the mouse over a spot and hit the right one that I wanted. Great work with the audio / visuals / mood / polish! You have great talent!

nataku92 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:20am

Love the execution; very slick.

The blocks placed by clicking seem to be determined arbitrarily, which makes it pretty frustrating to play at times.

Steve says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:21am

The game name is ridiculously good.

The scrolling is probably too fast, and it doesn't help that the tile order doesn't seem to be consistent.. the first tile you place should be reset for each new column. At least one of these two things need to be tweaked to make the game more playable.

Also, the first time I got to world 2, the level was entirely flat and there was nothing to place, and it seemed to go on like that forever. Level loading bug?

The music's nice, starting the game and getting to the actual playing part is very fast, with a simple 1 screen tutorial, so that's good. The graphics are just too beautiful.

ruerob says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:22am

What a great game!!! Very challenging and hard, but everything about this game is great. Thank you very much for this game.

Ryusui says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:23am

It's beautiful and I absolutely love the concept, but I think it'd be much more balanced if there was some kind of Tetris-like "next block" display, or some other sort of clear indicator as to what kind of block we'll get next. As it stands, it's ridiculously hard to the point I can't get past World 2...but believe me, I want to.

Namide says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:23am

Good idea and good execution : fun and beautifull

Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:24am

Great game! The only thing that confusing is that you don't know what block will be next.

Kyoutashan says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:33am

Really nice game, relaxing atmosphere and great graphics.

But as many has pointed out, you don't know which block will come out first, nor which one is next. There should be a consistent order when you click. Something like - empty - full - diagonal right - diagonal left - empty - full - etc... If you could fix this, this game would be extra :)

MercuryLegba says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:40am

Great game!

headchant says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:07am

The art is great and the music is sooo good! Where can I download the ost? :)

dustyroom says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:36am

Thanks guys! About controls - you are right, it should have been consistent order. We fixed one typo, true to false, and now it is.
Will upload OST to soundcloud, just need to make an account :)

Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:33pm

Really well made. Looks very solid very well done!

So i don't really have anything to complain about. If you extend the game further after the jam you try to add a mechanic that helps you a little when you are about to fail.

I wasn't able to play through but it is nice to see challenges here. :)
(Btw. I responded to your comment on how to play my game)

_Rilem says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:21pm

Great mood, it's a very relaxing experience. It get's hard pretty fast though.
The music is great and so are the graphics, all together really polished entry. :)

sephyka says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:44pm

Great art direction and music! It isn't always easy to target well the tiles with the background scrolling.

ninjascript says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:50pm

This is truly great! Fantastic graphics, intuitive controls and a pace that gets challenging without getting frustrating too quickly. I just wish there were some way to place the block you want immediately, instead of having to cycle through them all.

Pinqu says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:52pm

Very good, but needs some work on the controls. Love the visuals :)

Yword says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:58pm

Awesome graphics, music and mood! The gameplay is very innovative and unique. I think it will be very fun to play it on touch screen. Also, I think that the percent of yellow tiles is too many at the beginning of the game. Well done!

Ludipe says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:29pm

Nice concept and lovely art, but the camera makes it hard to control :/

Ofursnati says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:38pm

I wish the controls would involve the keyboard as well:
Select type of block with QWER, place with Left Mouse Button!

Ofursnati says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:39pm

Or by drawing the lines with the mouse!

zdonkeyx says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:48pm

I really loved this entry. It started off as really relaxing and smooth, and then once it started to ramp up it became really difficult. The music and art were on point too.

DragonXVI says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:14pm

Nifty little idea, and obv work well as a mobile game. Found it quite tricky to aim & click accurately enough while it's scrolling, particularly once it speeds up. Visuals & excellent and like the way the world fills up with detail as it goes.

nonetheless says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:27pm

Best looking game I've seen so far, amazing job. Idea is neat as well, sounds are cool. Incredible entry. Get's annoying when I cannot click the right place because everything is moving but I really love it.

BeardoGames says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:27pm

Simply beautiful. I'd be very interested in seeing this game ported to mobile to take advantage of touch controls. Nice mellow mood music, cute and effective graphics, and spot-on gameplay. One of my favorite games of LD30.

Morusque says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:54pm

awesome !
The selected block seems to stay the same as long as you don't move the mouse. I can see how that helps, but on the downside it can be frustrating that the block being changed is not always the one you expected.

jpmit says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:30pm

Good idea, great graphics and sound. Looks very professional. As others have said, too hard. It is easy to make it too hard though when you are playing every level 3000 times while developing though ;) If it were a bit easier, this would be one of my favourite games played so far, well done.

Jishenaz says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:45pm

Beautiful music and fun mechanic! It goes a little fast, but because the levels seem to be randomly generated, some plays were easier than others. My highscore was 39.

ehtd says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:24pm

Wow, great game, just too fast for my taste

KunoNoOni says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:57am

That was a pretty amazing game! Loved the graphics and the music. very nice mechanic too.

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:51am

Really really amazing! Nice graphics! Our problem.. the tutorial but on the entry now explain the mechanics. Great job! ;)

Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:25am

This is really great! By far the best audio I've heard this jam. Love the art style. And it all comes together so nicely.

TehSkull says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:27am

Definitely needs a tweak to the code. If you click somewhere besides a cube, you need to click the cube a second time before it toggles. Hard to explain, better to experience.

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:28am

Such a sweet soundtrack. I'll probably be listening to this at work tomorrow.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:07pm

Thanks you for your comment !

Your approach of the theme is really cool and innovant ! With such an amazing music, it's a real pleasure to play it !

Good job

Simon says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:36pm

Really beautiful and soothing.

Kerdelos says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:46pm

This game is so beatiful and the music match perfectly ! But the level difficulty is not adapted to the unprecise control. too many time I've clicked on a block when I wanted to click on its neighbour, ruining my whole path =/. But great job for everything else guys !

miwuc says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:05pm

Great game! Very simple concept (the best kind of concept), with a solid execution.
I didn't think it was too hard, I only died once of twice. If anything, I think the later levels should be harder for a better sense of progression. It was probably a lot harder before you fixed the block ordering bug (but I'm glad you did, it would have been awful).
As it is, all the levels feel too similar. If you continue developing the game (which you should!), you should add more mechanics at the game progresses.

IAmSpencer says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:06pm

jesus the graphics are so freaking pretty looking. Great job man! This is a really solid idea, nice gameplay, and again, amazing looking. Excellent job! :)

01010111 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:52pm

Really love the art, music, and idea, but I thought the clicking along with the scrolling was pretty rough. Maybe the ability to hold down A, W, D, or S (to erase) and then click to make a block would work? Anyway, great job!

badlydrawnrod says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:44pm

Charming graphics and an excellent idea, well implemented. Very original. Great job!

eatsleepindie says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:02pm

Liked the concept, but something felt very broken about the click mechanic. Fix that and I think you've got a great game on your hands.

udo says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:32pm

Easily one of my favorite entries so far. Very well done, amazing!

AtomicVikings says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:35pm

So pretty, so awesomely sounding, so good. the only thing is that it is a tad bit too difficult, maybe changing the controls might help. :) Great work!

Cryovat says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:36pm

The hit detection is a bit hard, but amazing concept and execution. I love the graphics and music. This is really good. :)

Rage Paint says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:56pm

Pretty cool game. I felt so relaxed the first few levels then I ran into a pit O.o Was fun though. Pretty easy to pick up and play.

suve says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:43am

Very nice and simple idea. The graphics and music are very polished and fit well with the game. The difficulty was okay for me - not too hard, but still posing a challange. Needs more levels! Very fun, ends too quick. :)

TD5 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:10am

Very good art and music! Found it hard to keep up with the camera, but I guess that's the point. Well done :)

lorniebear says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:25pm

AMAZING! You could sell this as a game for the phone, and lots of people would buy it

43iscoding says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:12pm

Very cool game in terms of gameplay/graphics and audio. Theme is very well interpreted! Great job!

Kayelgee says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:04pm

Nice concept, nice visuals, nice audio, nice game overall. I really can't find anything that bothers me :D

DrCicero says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:40pm

It seems as if one click should change nothing to /, then -, then \. But often a single click resulted changing the tile twice...
However, despite the very simple mechanic, the game is very much polished and enjoyable!

DrCicero says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:29am

Oh, and you have to work from left to right, else the game does not notice that you already connected something further right.
Nonetheless, I like it.

Colapsydo says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:37am

Great concept and well executed.

As the others said, maybe the changing action has to be modified to make it easier to change, the tile form, also maybe some erase possibility (right now a miss click is unforgivable).

Could be fun on mobile.

lorniebear says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:30pm

So, after enjoying this game when I originally rated it, I came back the next day to play it again. This time I managed to finish the game!

Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:27pm

Don't know what everyone else is on about difficulty wise, it was fairly simple and I completed it first time through. Could use some variation in the puzzles though.

I also got the bug where if you clicked a block, then changed one before it it didn't update again until you clicked it (as if you're not looking ahead for connections, only behind)

Music was great, graphics were awesome.

ReddogStone says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:44pm

The game-play gets a little boring quite fast. But the visual style, the sounds and the sound-track are superb. All in all: very well done!

local minimum says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:26pm

I think this could be an absolutely great and addictive game, and for most parts it is already fantastic. But the controls, unfortunately the difficulty they add just takes all the joy away. I would opt for other type of control like click to place block, mouse scroll to change what type of block that lastly placed block is or other way around, first select block and then place it.

LTyrosine says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:10pm

Amazing game! Top 10 of LD30 imo.

wdebowicz says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:18am

What a great Idea. You just opened my mind for checking different perspective in already created games.

flatgub says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:47am

Very cool. I didn't didn't find it too easy or too hard, and i like the simlpe controls. The graphics were great and the music was AWESOME!
-Flatgub <3

Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:24am

Sooo polished! You should add some twists in the gameplay to make it even more addictive

SteveSalmond says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:46am

I loove the visual style and the idea is really cool too -well done guys!

pa3kc says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:28am

Played the post-compo, nice level of polish!

JavadocMD says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:51pm

Really unique and lovely concept. Beautiful art and music make for a relaxing experience. However the control scheme definitely does not! The post-compo version resolves some of the control issues, but not all of them. No matter what, triple-clicking a moving target is just hard. And it doesn't take very many setbacks to completely screw you. Maybe if you used keyboard keys to cycle through the parts and then clicked to place it I would feel more in control without removing all of the challenge?

commodoreKid says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 10:49pm

I guess you also noticed that clicking is not the best option for this :) Graphics are awesome, sounds fit very well but mechanic needs some more salt&pepper to be called fun. Very clean entry, a few tiny bugs and that's all :)

dydx says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 5:26am

Really fun game!

Lars Faust says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 10:27am

First of all, the look of this game is outstandingly good.

The first time i played it, i got, as many others, frustrated with the clicking. Some levels i had to restart 6 or 7 times to actually beat, and my hand hurt afterwards. I liked the gameplay, but the control scheme just was not good.

Then i played your post-compo version, and wow, those controls are absolutely perfect. Spot on. Feels intuitive, fast, and convenient. Actually played all levels through again because it was so much fun. If you wouldve submitted that post-compo version in the first place, i wouldve called this a perfect entry.

Without those new controls, it is still a very cool and innovative game, but just doesnt have that playability of the post-compo version.
Great job on actually fixing that one flaw so well though.

Rialgar says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 10:19pm

Easier post compo versions are for pussies. I don't think it is the difficulty or the click-a-lot that gets a bit frustrating, it is when you click on the wrong tile because the world moved under your mouse. (This kind of mistake makes you usally loose the level). Maybe require mouse movement (above a threshold?)to change the selected tile. Great Game nevertheless

mrspeaker says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 1:39pm

I don't know if you changed the link to the web entry or something, but I don't get those comments about "too hard"?! WTF? It's perfectly difficult at the start. Fantastic entry, the way you use the music with the filter (on beat, no less!) is fantastic... great aesthetic, and reallly well done.

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 4:30pm

Wow, very well polished and nice levels progression. The graphics and audio were great, well done!

skiddings says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 3:56pm

A lovely little game. Surprisingly tense!
The controls are a little buggy, but otherwise great. Love the sound track.

vividhelix says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 5:36pm

A bit too hard, having a modifier to decide what kind of block to place would be better, as the terrain moved I found myself clicking on the next tile. But cool take on the theme!

Sep 6, 2014 @ 7:43pm

Pretty original idea and well done. Was a little hard to understand how the tiles worked at first. Too hard, overall. Well done game. Lots of potential here. I would continue with it.

whalebot says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 11:09pm

This is really good. This is really hard. This is super groovy. My poor hand... :(

Snicklodocus says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 3:45am

Loved this game! The art and music was great. I actually did not have much problems with the compo controls. I did get some strange bugs when clicking on stars. The level would garble up towards the end, but always completed. Great game!

Fanttum says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 2:00am

Really great game. A little hard on a laptop but really cool idea. Loved the music and everything felt so fluid.

zatyka says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 1:32am

That was cool. I'd never played anything like it.

mechabit says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 12:24pm

nice relaxing game, clean and simple visuals. maybe add a limit on blocks so you don't just place a long massive path at max height. also noticed a bug once when I passed the village and kept on rolling until I placed another block past the goal.

AdricZero says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 12:48pm

Great idea. Loved the music. Compo version was on the difficult side. One of the my more highly rated games.

LeftRight92 says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 3:13pm

The star really threw me off when it first appeared.
Maybe use LMB, MMB, RMB rather than repetitive LMB?
Overall, lovely entry with very only a few tweaks that need making.

egor-idiot says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 9:12am

This is very cool. Hardness is good, want this on tochscreen. You get my rare 5.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]