Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Supernova

by Robert - Jam Entry

A Simple Strategy game made in 73 Hours (Jam).



The Goal of this game is to build Thuster Engines to your HomePLanet and escape the Laser "Supernova".

Thrusters costs 500 Wood, 500 Water, 500 Sand to build.Simply click on your Homeplanet to build them !

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#364Theme(Jam)3.20
#512Innovation(Jam)2.80
#520Fun(Jam)2.80
#565Overall(Jam)2.94
#580Audio(Jam)2.26
#602Mood(Jam)2.65
#680Graphics(Jam)2.53

Comments

Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:14pm

Well the UI worked well and I enjoyed the planet's textures. However I wasn't able to discern a goal for the game or anything to do other than assign resource generation to each planet and wait for the red wave of death (the supernova?) to eat my planets.

Robert says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:11am

Did you read the description on the gamejolt page ?

ZYXer says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:56am

This was surprisingly fun! :D I thought I had understood the game when suddenly the red supernova started to rise from the bottom and I started to lose my planets.

I really like the way the supernova makes the planets smaller. it would be nice though, if the player could see how far away the supernova is before it appears on the screen.

I think you should give impatient players a bit more information, like: You need to build the thrusters in three steps (each costing 500/500/500).

The "x/5 sec" format in the top left is a bit confusing. At first I thought if meant "x of 5 per second" and not "x per 5 seconds", so I only built 5 woodcutters, waterfillers and sanddiggers.

But overall, well done!

bushmango says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:00am

What I don't get is why do my resources keep resetting to 99?

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:02am

Solid entry! Graphics are not the best, but who cares? It's all about the game play!At first I was just like ZYXer and was misinterpreting things, but once I figured it out, it was easy. Good luck to you :)

Chaoseiro says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:07am

Nice game :D
I lost and won once yay

Robert says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:24am

When the nova hits you planets it drains your resscourses

TehSkull says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:33am

Took three tries, but I got it! Decent game. Needs a little more warning on the lasers.

CoolIron says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:56am

This was quite fun, but I wasn't able to win :( Each time nove burned my planet my resources droped to 99 and didn't increase for some time.
Loved random window title :D
Great job!

Robert says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:48am

Thank you CoolIron !

Ted Brown says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 3:40am

Good, solid concept: utilizing system worlds for their resources to build stuff. Needs better UI to show long-term (i.e. game winning) goals. Consider making the super nova not flat-shaped, maybe encroaching from the outside, or a giant sun. Or, possibly, putting the sun at the center of the system.... :)

vividhelix says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 4:55pm

Cool take on the theme, managed to get to the end...Good job!

malf says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 5:11pm

Coould not run I suposse it requires Java 7 instead of 6 :?

Lvyn says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 5:30pm

Nice game :)

Robert says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 7:41pm

@malf yes you need Java 7

Tex Killer says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 3:39am

Very nice, but gets boring quickly. There should be other objectives and gameplay possibilities for catching the players attention.

Xanjos says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 4:04pm

Took a while to work out what to actually do in this game but this was a pretty interesting entry to play. I like how each resource is dependent on the other two and how you need to find some sort of balance to maximise production of all three resources.

Sep 6, 2014 @ 9:34pm

Interesting game! I included it in part 17 of my Ludum Dare 30 Compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/02vIiZyi3-c

cstudios says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 8:55am

Its a well made puzzle game with simple mechanics but realy deep requirements on resource management. First i did not understood what to do, so i connected all the planets to my home planet, later on I discovered that i can assign resource gathering, and later on the supernova came... and it was fun. Failing few time in the beginning then i figured it out.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]